Oh my life! – Third birthday party Columbo, Sri Lanka 1956 – Even then I made the boys cry

Back in 2014 I began sorting through the family photographs that I had collected over the years and also those that my mother had in a large chocolate box. I began posting a few with memories that I had about the occasion and it eventually led to the series Memories are made of this.  I notice that when I began this look back at my life most of you were only a twinkle in my eye!  So for those of you who might wonder how I ended up in Ireland as an addictive blogger…. I am repeating the series under the new title of Oh my Life!

Starting with my very first memories…..at age three and living in Ceylon where my father was based in the Royal Navy.  I was there with my parents and two elder sisters Sonia and Diana.

Image

I am not sure if it was the heat of the sun, the scents from the surrounding jungle or the intensity of events that trigger first memories but I clearly remember being three years old.  I remember monkeys getting into the house from the surrounding jungle and finding them on my mother’s dressing table sampling the lipstick to see if edible and wearing her bling… I remember the taste of curry and the aroma today always takes me back.

This was my third birthday party and whilst the actual events are lost in the mist of time – I obviously had already developed the knack of making boys cry!!  I am not sure if my amah is standing behind me to keep me safe or under control!  But I was also wearing my smocked party dress that my eldest sister Sonia had made for me.  A talented seamstress even at 14.  All my dresses were hand made and very detailed – goodness knows what you would have to pay for them now. My sister also made accessories to match the dress.

Apparently, my party piece when complimented on the dress was to lift the hem and reply “And I have knickers to match”.   Something I try to avoid doing today.  I believe that my sisters had previously developed this little eccentricity and had passed it along to me to upstage and annoy my mother at drinks parties!

Another creation by Sonia – red and white – shoes handmade in the Pettah.  Posh eat your heart out.

Image

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. and tagged by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

One thought on “Oh my life! – Third birthday party Columbo, Sri Lanka 1956 – Even then I made the boys cry

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

