Smorgasbord Open House – Author Linda Bradley

smorgasbord open house twoMy guest today is Linda Bradley author of Maggie’s Way – Montana Bound Series – Book 1, a Booksellers Best Award Finalist. Today she is going to share her secret talent, who she would have to dinner and her interesting discoveries about her family history.

About Linda Bradley.

9147fxuyjJL._UX250_Linda’s inspiration comes from her favorite authors and life itself. Her women’s fiction highlights characters that peel away outer layers of life to discover the heart of their dreams with some unexpected twists and turns along the way. Her writing integrates humor found in everyday situations, as well as touching moments that make readers connect with her characters. Maggie’s Way is her debut novel, in her Montana Bound Series. She is currently working on Maggie’s Fork in the Road and Maggie’s Montana.

Linda has an Associates Degree in Interior Design and a Master’s Degree in Reading and Language Arts with undergraduate work in Elementary Education and Fine Arts. She wrote and illustrated a children’s book titled, The Hunter for her Master’s Degree. Linda is a member of RWA, as well as the Greater Detroit Chapter of RWA.

Linda has two grown sons, lives with her husband, and rescue dog in Royal Oak, Michigan.

Maggie’s Way – Montana Bound Series – Book 1

LB_MaggiesWay_400x6002016BBAfinalist

About the book.

Middle-aged, Maggie Abernathy just wants to recuperate from cancer during the solitude of summer vacation after a tiresome year of teaching second grade.

Maggie’s plans are foiled when precocious seven-year-old Chloe McIntyre moves in next door with her dad, John. Maggie’s life changes in a way she could never imagine when the pesky new neighbors steal her heart. With Maggie’s grown son away, her ex-husband in the shadows, her meddling mother’s unannounced visits, and Chloe McIntyre on her heels, somehow Maggie’s empty house becomes home again.

A selection of reviews for Maggie’s Way.

5.0 out of 5 starsExcellent Read! By JB on February 18, 2016
We loved this book! Bradley writes crisp, authentic dialogue that resonates with women and men. We can identify with her characters which span the entire life-cycle, from small child, to mother (and father) in her/his mid-life, to grandmother in her seventies. Bradley’s issues touch on the true grit of life’s situations – the difficulties and tender moments of single-parent child-rearing, the bitter-sweet disappointment of divorce, the fright and exhilaration of starting anew, and the tricky dynamics of dealing with the former spouse of a new love interest.
A Wonderful Read By Debbie Haston on March 28, 2016

I loved Maggie’s story. She is an elementary school teacher who is off for summer break is going through chemo and radiation for breast cancer and has just went through a divorce. Between her new neighbors who have moved in next door, her meddling mom and an ex husband who feels guilty and wants to help she is getting no peace. The neighbor has a little girl named Chloe who is seven and a real card. She keeps turning up like a bad penny and finally steals Maggie’s heart. The exchanges between Chloe and Maggie are such fun to read.
This book was so well written and I loved all the characters. I highly recommend this book and author and will be looking for the next one in the series.

Now it is time to hand over to Linda to tell us more about her family history, her guests for dinner and her future projects.

Welcome Linda..

If you’ve looked into your family history have you found any surprises that you can talk about?

When my dad passed away, my family was sharing old photos and I found a faded, typed document. The history excited me as I’d never seen it before. It dated back to the 1700’s. In this account, the contents told about a man named John Burkhardt and his dedication to the Revolutionary War, as he was a bodyguard to George Washington. I Googled John Burkhardt and this is what popped up, the sword he carried during the Revolutionary War. I’m in awe of this part of my family history. I’d like to meet the relatives who have kept this gem over the years.

The following inscription is on John’s monument:
” John Burkhardt, St, died January 2, 1847 aged 93 years, 4 months, 12 days. A soldier of the Revolution and a member of Washington’s Life Guard.”

Which author would you have to dinner, why and what questions would you ask them?

51GxAgnDqVL._UY250_

I would invite Ernest Hemingway, not only because he is an icon; but he roomed across the street from my grandparents’ home in Petoskey, Michigan. I’d like to ask him his account of the time he spent in that area. I’d ask him why he chose that area and what inspiration he drew from the experience.

Do you have a secret talent?
I’m an artist. My father was an instructor at the local community college. He enrolled me into my first life drawing class at age fourteen. My friends played on Saturday mornings and I attended art class with my mentor, Imy Klett.

Picture2

Dad Charcoal Thirty-second sketch – Age 13

I’ve always been drawn to people. Collecting photographs from magazines was a hobby while attending college. I’d use them for quick sketches.

Picture1

Colored Pencil on Newsprint

I have a degree in Interior Design and Art was my major in undergrad with a concentration in printmaking. For my Master’s Degree I wrote and illustrated a children’s book titled, The Hunter.

Picture4

The Hunter Colored Pencil

I still enjoy drawing, photography, and the world of art! Some of my favorite artists include Vincent van Gogh, Pablo Picasso, Mary Cassatt, Edgar Degas, Henri Matisse, and Amedeo Modigliani. My favorite museum is Musee d’Orsay in Paris.

Picture5

Whimsy Colored Pencil

Which four famous guests would you ask to a dinner party and why?

This is tough, but today, I’d have to go with Julianne Moore, Sam Elliot, Robert Redford, and Nicholas Sparks.

julianne moore

Julianne Moore because I’ve had people tell me that I look like her, even ask me if I was her, although I believe she is much more elegant than I am. I have this crazy idea to write a book in which the main character, me, spends a day in her shoes. It has comedy written all over it. (Yes, I can definitely see the resemblance – the link to buy this excellent film is at the end of the post)

sam elliott

Sam Elliot because I’ve always been intrigued by him and if someday, one of my Montana Bound books should find its way on a big screen, he’d be a perfect Winston Ludlow McIntyre.

robert redford

Robert Redford, well because he’s Robert Redford.

51J02DT6ULL._UY250_

And my fourth guest would be Nicholas Sparks because I’ve read many of his books and I’m intrigued by how his writing fuels the big screen.

What are your works in Progress?
Final edits for Maggie’s Fork in the Road, Montana Bound Series: Book 2
Editing Maggie’s Montana, Montana Bound Series: Book 3
Writing book three for new Montana Series
Blogging: No big plans at the moment, but am thinking I should marry my writing with some art that I have stashed away. Hmmm…

Events:
Maggie’s Fork in the Road, Montana Bound Series: Book 2 release, June 29th
Tulip Author Event, Holland Michigan, July 9th
Oak Burr, Michigan Heritage Festival Signing, July 30th
Rust City Book Con, Troy, Michigan, August 12-14
Maggie’s Montana, Montana Bound Series: Book 3 release, September 28th

Next Project Plan:
This summer I am traveling to Ithaca, New York with my son. I’m hoping to do some research for a Women’s Fiction manuscript I’m working on.

Maggie’s Fork in the Road BlurbRelease date: June 29th

LB_MaggiesForkInTheRoad (5)

Maggie Abernathy learns that pesky neighbors, John and Chloe McIntyre are moving to Montana. The only problem is…she can’t fathom living without them now that they’ve stolen her heart. While trying to digest the news and accept John’s decision to leave Michigan, Maggie ventures to Chicago with Chloe to see Chloe’s Hollywood mother in a photo shoot, where the three kindle a quirky bond making it even harder to say goodbye. With the support of Maggie’s meddling mother, best friend Judy, and a surprise visit from Montana rancher, Winston Ludlow McIntyre, Maggie begins to wonder which fork in the road leads home.

Looks like another terrific book on its way and looking forward to promoting here when it is released.

Buy Linda’s book: http://www.amazon.com/Linda-Bradley/e/B00JUIS2FS

Connect to Linda
Website: http://www.lindabradleyauthor.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/LBradleyAuthor
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Linda-Bradley/389688594534105

You can buy the movies and book featured in the post at http://www.amazon.com

My thanks to Linda for sharing some of her life behind the scenes and we would of course be delighted if you would both comment and share.

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday.. Sally

48 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Open House – Author Linda Bradley

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Open House – Author Linda Bradley | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Open House – Author Linda Bradley | Annette Rochelle Aben

  3. Great interview, and I loved the sketches! And as for Sam Elliot, you’ve made a great choice. He lives near me in Malibu and is the nicest , most humble man you’d ever want to meet. He goes about his business in town as if he weren’t a “star,” but an actor, and he will take all the time in the world talking with anybody at the grocery store, or the gas station. He’s absolutely present, accessible and puts a good name on his profession. My husband and I recently discovered Sam is in a Netflix sit-com called “The Ranch” with Debra Winger and Ashton Kutcher as his co-stars. It is beyond great, and I’m not one to like sit-com’s, but this one is so good, it’ll rope you right in! Cheers to Linda. I enjoyed this interview. You have a compelling book series, and I wish you huge success!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Claire! “The Ranch” is on my list of things to watch this summer. I’ve heard great things about it. School will be over in a week, (I teach 2nd grade) and my next book will be turned in, so I’m hoping for a little more free time. Thank you for stopping by today and leaving such an interactive post, so nice! Glad you enjoyed the interview, thanks for the happy wishes, and who knows…maybe some day our paths will cross. All my best! Linda ❤

      Liked by 2 people

    • I am published through Soul Mate Publishing. It is a small house in New York. I have not self-published anything, but it’s on my list of things to do. As far as festivals, I have found events in my area on Facebook and by word of mouth. If something pops up, I investigate to see if it’s something I might be a good fit. I also inquire about signings when I visit local libraries to see what programs they offer. Maggie’s Way was my debut and Maggie’s Fork in the Road will be my second book. I still feel like a newbie and am learning as I go. Thanks for stopping by today! ❤

      Liked by 3 people

  4. It’s a pleasure to meet you, Linda, and learn about your books. They sound fascinating, Best wishes for much success! 😃 Thanks for sharing this talented author with us, Sally! Hugs ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Wow, terrific interview and lovely drawings and art. For sure my dinner would be with Ernest Hemingway, preferably on Safari in Africa. I see Sam Elliot all of the time in Malibu, and have a funny story about him. He’s the nicest, friendliest guy. Redford I nearly knocked out in Big Sur when I opened a door and he was coming into the Ventana Inn, too funny. Nearly ended up in his arms, too bad I didn’t.
    Thanks,
    Tema Merback
    Writing as Belle Ami

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Pingback: The Saturday Round Up – Montana Adventure, Mel Torme, Summer Reading and Shania Twain | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

