Smorgasbord Christmas Reading – Memories of my Childhood by Kathryn Meyer-Griffith

christmas-reading-3

Today the featured book is the recent release by Kathryn Meyer- Griffith who is celebrating over 45 years as an author. Kathryn also has an impressive 24 books published as well as novellas and short stories. Memories of my Childhood contains four stories about her childhood and family in the 1950s and 1960s.

memoriesofmychildhood_sm

About the book

Have you ever wondered what a writer’s childhood was like?

Well, wonder no longer. These stories are about my childhood. I began writing when I was twenty-one in the year 1971 and have since seen not only the world change dramatically but the publishing world as well. When I published my first novel, a horror yarn titled Evil Stalks the Night in 1984 with Leisure mass market paperbacks, I was a loyal worker bee of the big publishing houses with a stingy boiler contract and a whopping 4 percent of the royalties…now thirty-two years later I am self-publishing and am finally making a living at my craft for the first time in forty-five years of writing; with 24 novels, 2 novellas and many short stories to my name.

Three of the four short stories in this collection were the VERY FIRST stories I ever had published and they were printed in my local newspaper between 1977 and 1979 after the one titled Michael, a tale about my youngest brother who was murdered in 1971, won their short story contest over two hundred other submissions. I illustrated all the stories for the newspaper then and have included those original drawings in this book. The fourth short story was just recently written and is a composite of some of my childhood Christmases. All four are loosely based on my childhood in the 1950’s and 1960’s.

After my musician/singer/songwriter brother Jim passed away last year from cancer I felt the intense need to revive these old stories and memories and put them out there for all to read as a tribute to him and my family. These are my stories, my childhood and some of my fondest memories.

BUY Memories of my Childhood on all bookstores: https://books2read.com/u/bpGwWz

And if you were looking for another gift for Christmas, then Kathryn has a short story, published in November, that would delight any book lover.

memoriesofmychildhood_christmas_kindle1

About the story.

This story is about one of my most cherished childhood Christmases…in 1959 when I was nine years old. After my beloved musician/singer/songwriter brother Jim passed away in 2015 from cancer I felt an intense need to write this short story about that special Christmas Eve I shared with him, my other siblings, mother, father and grandparents, and put it out there for everyone to read as a tribute to him and my family.

This is my story, part of my childhood, and some of my fondest memories. Note: in the late 1970’s I did a series of illustrated (by me, because I’m an artist, too) short stories for my local newspaper and I’ve used one of my old article drawings from that newspaper from 1977 for the first page of this short story.

A review for Christmas Magic 1959

Filled me with smiles By laurathomas61 on November 29, 2016

I’ve read many of Kathryn’s books. She writes horror, thrillers, and suspense, often adding a paranormal or supernatural element to them.

This book is quite different. There’s no horror. No evil beings stalking the characters. It’s a true story of Kathryn’s life as a young girl and a special Christmas.

The title intrigued me. And the cover enchanted me. It looks just like our back yard where I grew up. Christmas was a magical time for me too.

Kathryn leaves nothing out in her telling of life as a young girl. I come from a large family too, and while our circumstances were better that Kathryn’s, I related to so much from her life. Back then there weren’t computer’s and video games. You found your own way to entertain yourself. And, being a large family, you had to give and take in order to get along.

This was a step into the past for me. Memories sprang forth, so vivid and emotional. Many were bittersweet. Some so wonderful I teared up.

This is a beautiful story and one you should add to your Christmas reading list. Perhaps you’ll step into the past and long forgotten memories of a special Christmas will come forth.  

BUY Christmas Magic 1959 on all bookstores: https://books2read.com/u/mqzEJ2

Also by Kathryn Meyer-Griffith

allbooksbanner

There are so many books to choose from that I have selected just one, Egyptian Heart with a review, but I do suggest that you visit Kathryn’s author page on Amazon and spend some time with each title.

61y7w0aagzl-_uy250_

One of the excellent reviews for Egyptian Heart.

I asked Kathryn Meyer Griffith if she would permit me to review Egyptian Heart because I like time travel romances. I also loved her book cover. Although every story I’ve read involving a character going back in time and falling in love ends the same, I still enjoy seeing how the author brings the character to the point of decision, “Do I stay … or do I return.”

Egyptian Heart was especially intriguing because, instead of the character going back to a time of greater moral righteousness, the heroine/Egyptologist, Maggie Owen, was swept away to a time of brutality and immoral behavior. Maggie brought her personal code of conduct with her, and the courage and conviction to live by it. She was honorable. She stood up for others as well as herself. She demanded reasonable treatment. Rather than adapt to the time in which she found herself, she required the people of that time adapt to her. That was a twist I enjoy finding in novels I read – high standards and moral behavior. The heroine is a strong character. She is also quite beautiful and extremely lucky. Were it not for a benevolent benefactor, she would have been killed outright.

The historical references throughout the story added considerable depth. Many of the events in the novel were recently chronicled on the History Channel; however, Kathryn added her own view of everyday life around 1350 B.C. The descriptions of homes, slaves, palaces and even the river Nile, as those things might have been at the time, could well have been written by an eye-witness. That made Egyptian Heart an even more enjoyable read. I also liked the way the heroine walked a thin line to keep her true identity hidden and information about the future concealed, else she be declared an evil “jinn.” Her Western appearance already being a problem, any hint of capability beyond the norm could have meant a death sentence.

Beyond the time travel and the interesting incorporation of Pharos, Queen Nefertiti, first and second wives, and court drama, Egyptian Heart is a solid romance novel. The heroine falls deeply in love in an impossible situation and must, in the end, decide for herself if love can indeed conquer all. The book was clearly written for women; however, as a guy, I can honestly say I enjoyed it very much. If all women were like Maggie Owen, this would be a fascinating world indeed.

Discover all the books, reviews and BUY the books:https://www.amazon.com/author/kgriffith

About Kathryn Meyer-Griffith

91w0rckwy2l-_ux250_

Since childhood I’ve been an artist and worked as a graphic designer in the corporate world and for newspapers for twenty-three years before I quit to write full time. But I’d already begun writing novels at 21, over forty-four years ago now, and have had twenty-four (romantic horror, horror, romantic SF horror, suspense, time travel, historical romance, thrillers, and murder mysteries) previous novels, two novellas and twelve short stories published from Zebra Books, Leisure Books, Avalon Books, The Wild Rose Press, Damnation Books/Eternal Press. But I’ve gone into self-publishing in a big way since 2012; and upon getting all my 24 books’ full rights back for the first time in 33 years, have self-published all of them. My Dinosaur Lake novels and Spookie Town Mysteries (Scraps of Paper, All Things Slip Away and Ghosts Beneath Us) are my best-sellers.

I’ve been married to Russell for thirty-eight years; have a son and two grandchildren and I live in a small quaint town in Illinois. We have a quirky cat, Sasha, and the three of us live happily in an old house in the heart of town. Though I’ve been an artist, and a folk/classic rock singer in my youth with my brother Jim, writing has always been my greatest passion, my butterfly stage, and I’ll probably write stories until the day I die…or until my memory goes.

2012 EPIC EBOOK AWARDS *Finalist* for her horror novel The Last Vampire ~ 2014 EPIC EBOOK AWARDS * Finalist * for her thriller novel Dinosaur Lake.

*All Kathryn Meyer Griffith’s books can be found here:

http://tinyurl.com/ld4jlow

*All her Audible.com audio books here:

http://tinyurl.com/oz7c4or

 Connect to Kathryn

Thank you for dropping in today and as always your feedback is very welcome.. and if you could spread the news about Kathryn’s latest book that would be wonderful.. thanks Sally

31 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Christmas Reading – Memories of my Childhood by Kathryn Meyer-Griffith

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Christmas Reading – Memories of my Childhood by Kathryn Meyer-Griffith | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up. Baring it all, blog milestone and Christmas Party | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

