Bloggers around the Christmas Tree – Icelandic trolls and horses, parties and Spice

bloggers-around-the-christmas-treeWelcome to this week’s selectiono of bloggers who have entertained me this week. A snapshot because if I was to share every post I have enjoyed we would be here until next Christmas.  There are a number of blog parties going on at the moment and I have included two for you later in the post.. These are an excellent way to broaden your blogging horizons, especially if you are newish to blogging.. Introduce yourselves and leave a link to your latest blog post, then follow others in the comment section who have done likewise.  This is a great place to meet like-minded writers and they are always welcoming and supportive.

Anyway… on with the posts from this week.

bloggers-around-the-christmas-tree

My first guest is Carol of Blondieaka – Retired No One Told Me who has featured in the series pet of the week with her rescue dog Saangchai who Carol rescued from the Soi Rescue in Thailand. https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/2016/08/11/pet-of-the-week-saangchai-a-soi-rescue-dog-in-thailand/

Carol lives amongst the rubber trees and plantations of Thailand and is following her dream of writing, blogging and trying new recipes originating in this exotic place. She has a wonderful blog and I suggest you head over and catch up with life in this paradise. Today Carol takes a look at how Icelandic parents persuade (okay blackmail) their children into behaving themselves before Christmas.

Carol Taylor Blondieaka

What fun..We all love to regale our children and grandchildren with tales from Christmas past…most real, some imagined and we all…Come On…Admit it!

We have all stooped to bribery, corruption or just plain tall tales to make the kiddiwinks BEHAVE!

Forget boring advent calendars….Icelandic parents enthrall their children (and scare) them into being good with tales of the Ogress living in the Icelandic mountains.

She is one scary mumma, described as half troll/animal and the mother of 13 naughty boys known as the “Yule Lads”. Grýla lives in the mountains with her husband, her thirteen children and a black cat.”

Read on..https://blondieaka.wordpress.com/2016/12/14/blogmas-2016-the-13-trolls-of-christmas/

bloggers-around-the-christmas-tree

My next post is of absolutely stunning images of horses shared by Alk3 .. Taken by photographer Brin who has been capturing these images since he was a child. Here is just one but please head over to the post to see all of them.. You won’t regret it.

Alk3R

A queue of horses. One looks at the camera and laughs. The horses have been spotted smiling and cuddling in remote locations across the nation. Bragi J. Ingibergsson, who goes by the name of Brin, captured the images and has been taking pictures of horses since he was a kid.

Brin said: “I love taking pictures of horses, they are very playful. I dont get them to smile, It is a question of luck and patience to get horses smiling in pictures.”

See the rest of the photographs. https://alk3r.wordpress.com/2016/12/15/beautiful-images-of-wild-horses-gleefully-playing-in-iceland-mountain-ranges/

bloggers-around-the-christmas-tree

Guide to some London Shows to enjoy over Christmas meet Jess of Enjoy The Adventure.

elephant-thailand

“My favourite thing to do in London is to see a show and there are so many fantastic shows out at the moment. For Christmas this year I want to have experiences and days out rather than items so theatre tickets are an excellent choice. Buying theatre tickets is a great way to treat family and friends and you can always buy yourself a ticket too and join in on the fun. In this guide I will feature all the shows that are on my wishlist this year. Theatre Tickets UK is a great website for finding great shows. The website is easy to use to find the seats and price that you want”

Read on...https://enjoytheadventure.co.uk/2016/12/13/theatre-christmas-gift-guide/.

bloggers-around-the-christmas-tree

Now for a great place to introduce yourselves and to meet new people at the best blog parties this side of blogland.

1christmas1631Donna Parker of Yadadarcyyada has a party going on until possibly the New Year where you can leave up to 12 links of your posts.. Great way to get to know people and get some exposure (in the best possible taste!).. Do read the post first as there is much to enjoy and it is visually stunning too.. Donna gets the best gifs…

Get your glad rags on:  https://yadadarcyyada.com/2016/12/15/the-cats-pajamas-birthday/

bloggers-around-the-christmas-tree

The Christmas parties are a great way to meet new bloggers and old friends at this time of year and Teagan Geneviene is holding one to beat the band..Mentioning many of the guests with their links throughout the post including myself and others you may be familiar with, but not in their 1920s attire.. my infamous red shoes are even mentioned!

red-shoes

And the post culminates with an excerpt from Teagan’s recently published The Three Things Serial Story

3-things-cover_3-2016

Do head over and leave your links and introduce yourself to the crowd.  https://teagansbooks.com/2016/12/16/1920s-party-three-things-serial-story/

bloggers-around-the-christmas-tree

And as I have been featuring Christmas foods that we will all be enjoying in the run up to the day.. Here is a wonderful recipe for spiced pumpkin pecan loaf from Suzanne and her sous chefs of Pug in the Kitchen.

pug-in-the-kitchen

This is a different loaf than the one I made before, although I liked that loaf it was quite heavy and more bread like than I wanted. I try different recipes and although they turn out good there is something about it that just doesn’t sit right with me, I almost always end up going back to my old stand by’s, the tried and true always good recipes that I use over over.

The banana bread recipe is one of those, I substitute other fruits like apples and pears for the banana and in this case I used pumpkin. The change I made was adding spice, cinnamon, ginger and allspice along with pecans. These loaves are sweeter than the other but I am ok with that, they have the lighter texture and moist crumb that I wanted. I like the other recipe but my favorite way to serve is making mini muffins dipped in melted butter and rolled in a spice sugar mixture. For a loaf I like this recipe though, they are very light, moist and delicious.”

Read on: https://apuginthekitchen.com/2016/12/16/spiced-pumpkin-pecan-loaf-part-ii-and-stollen/

bloggers-around-the-christmas-tree

I will leave you with a serial short story by Patricia Salamone, Author of The Italian Thing, that has been running for the last week.. This is the link for part one and you can access the other episodes at the bottom of the post.. There are currently six in all with the romance and mystery heating up.

cover2

Read the whole story: https://the-italian-thing.com/2016/12/07/mrs-hardworths-david/

bloggers-around-the-christmas-tree

The Christmas trees are courtesy of author, poet and broadcaster, Annette Rochelle Aben

Annette 3D Promo Oct plus B

Read all the reviews and BUY Annette’s books: https://www.amazon.com/Annette-Rochelle-Aben/e/B00MSQTGUY

Connect to Annette through her website: www.annetterochelleaben.wordpress.com

37 thoughts on “Bloggers around the Christmas Tree – Icelandic trolls and horses, parties and Spice

  1. Pingback: Bloggers around the Christmas Tree – Icelandic trolls and horses, parties and Spice | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Pingback: Bloggers around the Christmas Tree – Icelandic trolls and horses, parties and Spice | The Writers Desk

  3. I’ll have to leave this tab open for a few days to have time to visit each of them – but I LOVE Christmas posts, so I will find a way to work them in, despite everything going on! Thanks for sharing, and Merry Christmas to you, your loved ones, and all your readers.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear Sally, this is an amazing post and not just because your kind words about my blog and adding my blog link, but because it is a blogging goldmine! Wow, I’m in terrific company here, thank you. Off to visit and share. Happy Holidays, all the best to you and yours and to a wonder-filled 2017!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Pingback: Bloggers around the Christmas Tree – Icelandic trolls and horses, parties and Spice — Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life | Retired? No one told me!

  6. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up -Great books, music and food for Christmas | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  7. Reblogged this on Teagan's Books and commented:
    Let me be perfectly honest… I was too tired to do a post this week. It seems like that is not a “PC” way to be, but there you have it.
    However that treasure-trove of blogging generosity, Sally Cronin included me in a post last week. It includes a collection of writers and bloggers to whom I pale in comparison. (Okay… not a good choice of words, since I’ve always been paler than everyone else, pale as a ghost, but my tired brain couldn’t come up with better.) So be sure to click over and read Sally’s post.

    Wishing each and every one of you a wonderful holiday, filled with magic, happiness, and… mega hugs!
    Teagan

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sally a very Merry Christmas to you and I love your Smorgasbord of talented people and then to my surprise I was included. I am honored and humbled thank you so much. Such a delightful line up and thank you for introducing me to some that I did not know until today. Wishing you a joyous holiday and hoping 2017 is a a year that brings you joy, peace, love and much success. Cheers!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Bloggers around the Christmas Tree – Icelandic trolls and horses, parties and Spice – Kate McClelland

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

