Smorgasbord 2016 in Review -A challenge! A desert Island and a choice of which four items?

This challenge proved to be very popular and I wonder if  those of you who answered with your choices in May of 2016 might have changed your mind……

The question is:  Which of these four items would you take with you and why?

11233557_764244727030611_6657017741913361344_n

This entry was posted in blogging and tagged , by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

37 thoughts on “Smorgasbord 2016 in Review -A challenge! A desert Island and a choice of which four items?

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord 2016 in Review -A challenge! A desert Island and a choice of which four items? | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. I would go with the compass, so that you know which direction to travel in, matches, as it is really difficult to start a fire without them, medical aid kit, for medical emergencies and water purifier, as dirty water is very dangerous. You can usually make a plan for food and shelter and I could never kill an animal myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is a tough one Robbie.. I think when it comes down to it you are certainly right about water as we only live around 6 days. We can survive just about for six weeks without food (after this Christmas I could probably go three months!) Fire too is necessary because even if you are finding edible roots etc they need to be cooked.. Medical kit is good. I would probably go for a knife for chopping wood and cutting up food. It does make you think tough…xxx

      Like

  3. Knife (preparing food & kindling), matches (starting a fire), first aid kit (wouldn’t want to die from an insect bite or wound), rope (escaping up a tree, climbing up & down an escarpment, etc.). The 5 oz. of weed was very tempting, and I notice wine and chocolate didn’t make the list 🙂 ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Knife, fishing rod,tent, pot. Flashlight would run out of batteries, and iPod, seriously?, water purifier was on the list, but wasn’t sure if it was electric. a volley ball? I guess you get the point. A knife to scale fish etc. Fishing rod for food, flashlight for night time needs to see, a pot to cook food. As far as the rest of the items, they are either unnecessary (stupid), or could be fashioned. There are other ways to make fire, a necessity to keep insects at bay (as well as some animals), and for cooking the food and purify water. No need for entertainment, because who will have time for that? BTW, there are other ways to make a raft. Oddly enough, I have a little experience to some extent, so I know what I am talking about. I have to have a tent, the tarp is great to keep rain from seeping in, but there are other ways to keep out the water etc. Anyway, I’m sure you have the point by now. LOL

    Like

  5. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Roundup – A look back at 2016 and a look forward to 2017. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

