Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 30th January 2017 – Castle Douglas, WordPress, Addiction, Change and Author Interview

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Welcome to the Monday edition of Blogger Daily with some of the posts I have enjoyed over the weekend.. Now that I am taking most of Saturday and Sunday off from blogging (well I schedule a couple of posts and then sneak in from time to time).. It has given me more time to read books and blogs. I would love it if you would let me have the link to your most recent post in the comments. You will notice that some bloggers have become regulars with their weekly posts.  I can always up the number of posts to six a day if I need to.

Bloggers featured in the post – Mary Smith, Hugh Roberts, Andrew Joyce, Terri Herman-Ponce and Don Massenzio.

no_more_mulberries_front_cover_v2-450

To start us off today, author Mary Smith is updating us on her news on the site that she contributes to.. Five Authors.. exciting new book being released in March and of course there will be more about that when it is available in a Bookstore Update.. Here is a snippet from the post and I recommend you head over and read the rest of the post..

castledouglasthroughtime

I can’t believe the first month of 2017 has almost gone. It’s scary, isn’t it?

So far, this month I have corrected the proofs for , which comes out on March 15. It is already available for pre-order on Amazon. It’s a photo-led local history book in a ‘then and now’ format in collaboration with photographer Allan Devlin. This is the second book, published by Amberley Publishing we have worked on together. Dumfries Through Time came out in 2015.

They are fun to do, although collecting the 90 old images we need is more than a bit daunting. Allan then has to take photos of the same places as they are today and I do the research and write the introduction and captions. The research part I love; writing captions which have an upper word limit of 80 words, not so much. Our town has a rich history and it is really difficult to convey that in so few words. Of course, we cheat a bit and have several photos of Carlingwark Loch, for example, so I can tell a bit more of the story through a series of images.

Read the rest of the post: https://takefiveauthors.wordpress.com/2017/01/28/take-five-authors-a-round-up-of-this-years-news/

glimpses-kdp-cover

If you have been experiencing problems accessing wordpress blogs that you follow then Hugh Roberts has been on the case on your behalf.. With a great deal of patience and tenacity he has received a response from WordPress and a resolution…

Last week, I reported some problems I was experiencing with my WordPress account. You can read the details by clicking here:  https://hughsviewsandnews.com/2017/01/22/are-you-experiencing-these-problems-with-wordpress/.

I’m pleased to report that after several emails with WordPress, they were finally able to sort out the problems for me and my blogging experience is now how it should always be.
It didn’t help that WordPress tried blaming the issues on British Telecom, my internet service provider. However, after asking them to read the post I had published about the problems, they were able to pinpoint what was going on and it was not long before everything was working how it should be.

I asked WordPress for details of what had caused the problems and they kindly sent me the details below.

Read the response from WordPress: https://hughsviewsandnews.com/2017/01/28/the-reasons-behind-my-recent-problems-with-wordpress/

andrew-joyce-3d-books-for-wp-postsWe all have a story but not all of us have the courage to tell it…. especially when it involves addiction. Do head over and read Andrew Joyce’s post today.. it will make you think about the choices you might have made over the years and perhap give thanks that you are where you are today. I know that I am.

Compared to some, I’ve lived an exciting life. At least parts of it were. However, compared to others, my life has been humdrum. The only thing I’m satisfied about is that all the drama took place when I was young and able to handle it. That would not be the reality today for I have grown old.

It’s confession time. I’m not looking for absolution. My only intent is to show some of you out there that there is hope. Nothing is forever. Perhaps my story might help you get to the next stage of your life. Maybe not, but I had help getting there, and I’ll tell you about it in a minute. First, a little background. And please, feel free to judge me. You cannot condemn me any more than I have already condemned myself.

Read the rest of the post: https://andrewjoyce.wordpress.com/2017/01/29/thirty-years-a-junkie/

51fkclrncal-_uy250_As regulars to the blog will have noticed there has been a short series on the dynamics of change in our lives and I was very interested to read this post by author Terri Herman-Ponce on the subject. When one door closes… A windmill can often be found.

There’s been a lot going on lately. For me personally, but also for many others on a national and global level. But this is the thing about life: change is inevitable and it’s something you can’t avoid. Sometimes change is uncomfortable. Other times it’s downright scary. And often it can make you feel as if you have no control.

Lately, I’ve been thinking more about private life changes of my own, and the public life changes many others around me are experiencing. Often, change is viewed as a personal affront, an attack on one’s beliefs or way of life, or a sense of being picked on or singled out. It can also feel like you’re not being heard or, worse, don’t matter.

Barring extreme circumstances, change usually isn’t personal. It’s how you view it that makes it personal.

Read more of this thought provoking post: https://terriponce.com/2017/01/29/when-one-door-closes-a-windmill-can-often-be-found/

51wyg00opil-_uy250_Delighted to see Jo Robinson on Lit World Interviews in the last week as I have missed her very useful posts on writing and publishing. Today talking about writers and their process and how to remember to write down every good idea before it vanishes into thin air.

Every writer has his or her own process. Ideas come, sometimes in the form of virtual Mack trucks that appear out of nowhere, usually at the most inopportune of times, creating the need for you to stop whatever it is that you’re doing and run away to write all that good stuff down before it disappears back to wherever it was that it came from. Kind of thing that gets us scribblers labeled as odd, at the very least. The inspiration for new stories is the easy part of writing—I have PILES of fabulous story outlines that are unlikely to ever see the light of day. Getting them going is what’s needed for them ever to become real books. Just those few first paragraphs are often all that we need to give us the push to write on through to the end.

Read the rest of the article: https://litworldinterviews.com/2017/01/26/a-little-hook/

Thanks for dropping by and I hope you have enjoyed the selection of posts as much as I did.. please remember to leave a link to your latest post in the comments section..thanks Sally

27 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 30th January 2017 – Castle Douglas, WordPress, Addiction, Change and Author Interview

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 30th January 2017 – Castle Douglas, WordPress, Addiction, Change and Author Interview | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – New promotions, Leontyne Price, Myths and awesome talent. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

