Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 1st February 2017 – Medieval horses, Fashion Savvy, Bloggers Bash, Caboodle and New Words.

Smorgasbord Blogger DailyWelcome to today’s blogger daily with a very small selection of posts from the amazingly talented bloggers I am delighted to follow.  To start the proceedings off… a post about those wonderful creatures .. horses and their vital role in the lives of millions during the medieval era.  And a reminder that if you would like to give your most recent post a boost you just have to leave the link in the comments section.

book-1

Allison D. Reid was born in Cincinnati, Ohio. Her love for medieval fantasy was sparked by the Narnia Chronicles by C.S. Lewis, which fed both her imagination and her spiritual development. When at the age of thirteen her family moved to Germany, her passion for medieval history and legend only increased, and she found herself captivated by the ancient towns and castles of Europe.

Horses were extremely important to medieval society. Generally they were smaller than modern day horses, and were of different builds and kinds—some no longer in existence today. The concept of “breed” had not yet come about, but horses were classified by “type” depending on what sort of work they would be used for. The three main types were chargers, palfreys, and sumpters, with specific sub-classifications under each.

Read more about the types of horses in Medieval society: https://allisondreid.com/2017/01/30/medieval-monday-horses/

jodie6

My next update is from Jodie’s Touch of Style whose blog is a great resource for fashion and styling across the age groups. The older I get the more I disappear into clothes that are built for comfort not for speed… I probably would spend my day writing in my pajamas given half the chance and certainly there are days when I have to give myself a talking to about what I am wearing to the supermarket.

However there is something about getting glammed up and seeing the results in the mirror.. My next guest has some great ideas about fashion for those of us who are enjoying the life and freedom to do and wear what we like.. over 50…

Join my mother, Charlotte, (the 70’s model), my step mom, Nancy, (the 60’s model) and myself, Jodie, (the 50’s model) in having fun with the clothes already in our closets! I believe all women are beautiful and smart, and how we dress echoes our visual voice!

Winter Whites for All Ages: The Monochromatic Version

Even though the calendar says winter and many days are cold & snowy, I personally am super glad that the rules have changed in regards to wearing white. For some reason, I’ve always been a huge sucker for white items (except lab coats—I abhor those!).

Two years ago the 3 of us styled outfits for a winter white series here, here & here. At that time I had a monochromatic look, a partial white look and an accessory in white for each of the posts. Now I’m switching it up and starting with each of us wearing all white. Except for the shoes & accessories—I had to add in color somewhere and somehow!

Read more about how to make white the perfect colour for winter: http://www.jtouchofstyle.com/how-to-wear-all-white-in-the-winter/

d-g-kaye

It is the Annual Blogger’s Bash in London in June and I am delighted to say that I will be going for the first time.. Really looking forward to meeting online friends for the first time and especially those making the effort to travel thousands of miles.  One of those is my lovely friend Debby Gies.. and today she has expressed her feelings about the prospect of catching up with all her pals.

Not sure London will know what will hit it.. 100s of bloggers meeting their online friends for the first time.. there will be tears.. and laughter.

Oh yes, it’s coming back, The Annual Blogger’s Bash will be held this June 10th in London, England! Are you going? Although I live ‘across the pond’ a fair distance away from here in Toronto, you bet your sweet bippy I’m doing everything in my power to get there!

I must get there! Why? I’m overdue to expand my horizons and step out of my writerly perimeters and go where many of my friends reside behind my computer screen, the friends who often keep me sane.

Writers need hugs too! Blogging friends are the ones who can identify with a writer’s struggles, the friends we can turn to when we need a dose of inspiration, or a smiley face and a heart to remind us they get what we do, what we go through as writers.

Read the rest of the post...https://dgkayewriter.com/writers-need-hugs-too-the-big-blogger-bash-competition-2017/

day-2-kevin-cooper-and-caboodle1

Kevin Cooper shares some of the intimate moments of his life in his book Kit and the Whole Caboodle.. with a very emotive poem that will take your breath away…

Hey, how’s it going?  Can I get you a coffee or anything?  Cappuccino? Got it; be right back!  …There you go.

I love this place, The Coffee Plantation here in Phoenix is far nicer than the coffee shop I used to frequent back in Bowling Green. You don’t have to worry about the weather so much as it’s almost always hot and you can sit out in the fresh air (when there’s a table available) shaded from the sun under the parasols. They sometimes let a local band play live in the afternoons… it’s really pleasant.

Guess What?  I finally got my book published. You know, the one I’ve been banging on about forever!

Read more about Kevin’s book: https://kcbooksandmusic.wordpress.com/2017/01/28/book-talk-caboodle-the-whole-kit/

51q0egxtwjl-_uy250_My mother would inadvertently make up new words from time to time.. they were mostly malapropisms..sometimes with outstandingly hilarious results… not for publication here.  John Herres spends a great deal of time when writing looking for alternatives to some words to prevent repetition or to express in a clearer way.. He also takes a look at some words that have been recently added to the dictionary due to their link to modern technology.. Have you ever invented a word?

Have you ever been writing, be it in a story or blog post or even a simple status update on your social media, and type something that gets that annoying little red squiggly line under it?

I do all the time. Mainly, this is attributed to my funky fingers hitting the right keys in the wrong order, the dyslexia in my head that makes me see things in the incorrect order, or just plain not pushing the keys down hard enough. That, or hitting the key next to the one I wanted.

I’m referring to typing here, not writing with a pen.

Read the rest of the post and let John know if you have invented a new word..https://johntmherres.wordpress.com/2017/02/01/finding-new-words/

Thank you for dropping by and please don’t forget to leave the link to your latest post in the comments section. Sally

 

This entry was posted in blogging, It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

20 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 1st February 2017 – Medieval horses, Fashion Savvy, Bloggers Bash, Caboodle and New Words.

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 1st February 2017 – Medieval horses, Fashion Savvy, Bloggers Bash, Caboodle and New Words. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Hi Sally! I would be honored by your mention on one of your blogs. After over a decade on the road and the water with my husband, we are currently house and pet sitting as a break from travel and to shower wonderful dogs with love, without having one ourselves at the moment. Also, we are “living” on land now to focus on our freelance careers a bit more – and in an easier manner – and I am writing a memoir about our eight years aboard our boat in the Caribbean and the South Pacific. My last post has to do with the monthly IWSG blog post and with my memoir, for which I can use some input from readers. 🙂

    http://www.roamingabout.com/iwsg-writing-update-february-2017/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – New promotions, Leontyne Price, Myths and awesome talent. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

