Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 7th February 2017 – Share buttons, reviews, Crime Settings, Poetry and Octopus!

Smorgasbord Blogger DailyWelcome to today’s round up of blog posts that I have enjoyed. By no means all of them, but I have shared all those that I could not fit in to the post on social media.

I don’t have email notifications for blogs as I follow too many and I would not be able to spend time promoting authors and bloggers. I have a couple of strategies to make sure that I don’t miss posts but social media and the WordPress reader are two platforms where I  find blog posts that have slipped by. Whilst Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn may not be everyone’s cup of tea there are some benefits to both establishing an account and putting share buttons on your posts.

Firstly, just because you do not have accounts with the main social networking sites does not mean that your readers don’t either. I find it frustrating when I go into an excellent post to find that there is perhaps only one or two sharing buttons, perhaps for Pinterest and Facebook. Most people who are reading a blog post have several thousand followers between their blog and social media and by not putting a share button you are preventing them from sharing with them, thus reducing your potential readers.

Secondly, from my perspective it makes it more difficult to promote books effectively across the networks if the author I am featuring does not have accounts on at least Facebook or Twitter. I do suggest that if you do not want to have a personal account on FB that you have an author’s page, which will give you a platform to promote your books and news and also promote other authors. Building a reciprocal network of supportive writers is an effective way to market your books. It also provides me a useful tool to promote your books more effectively.

I am not going to give you a tutorial on adding share buttons to your blog but rather hand you over to Hugh Roberts who has a terrific blogging ‘how to’ directory that I recommend.  https://hughsviewsandnews.com/category/blogging-2/

So on with today’s small selection of interesting, informative and entertaining posts.

railiThe first post today is from Raili of Soul Gifts. There is no doubt that the first few weeks of 2017 have been a rollercoaster of division, outrage, protest and fear. One of the largest countries in the world has gone through a dynamic change that has impacted all of us.  This has also perhaps made us relect on our own goals for the coming year and how we can make a difference. Raili’s post is about Giving Peace a Chance.

There has been a lot of talk on the blogosphere about goals recently. I guess that’s to be expected given that it’s not long since we leapt into the New Year.

People are posing questions:

What is your goal/s for 2017?
What do you want to achieve with your blog?
What does success actually mean to you ?
Is it wealth, happiness, love, a new job ?
How will you know you have achieved what you set out to do ?

Read the rest of the post: https://soulgifts.com.au/2017/02/06/give-peace-a-chance/

Sue Vincent

The guest today on Sue Vincent’s blog is the poet and author Kevin Morris who shares his work and the impact that his sight impairment might have.

Kevin Morris

At approximately 18-months-old, I lost the majority of my eyesight due to a blood clot on the brain. While I can distinguish light and dark and discern the outline of objects, I am unable to see detail. So, for example, if a friend were to pass by me I would see an outline and only be aware that it was a friend when they spoke.

I began writing poetry in 2012 and at that time the idea that my visual impairment might impact on the kind of poems I wrote never occurred to me. However, given that several people have commented on my poor vision and how this may impact on my writing, I thought it would form an interesting basis for a post and I am grateful to Sue for agreeing to publish my article.

Read the rest of Kevin’s post: https://scvincent.com/2017/02/06/guest-author-kevin-morris-visual-impact/

Judith Barrow

The next recommended post is for Judith Barrow with a review for Blackwater by Alison Williams – Set in 17th century rural England it follows the story of Lizzie as she tries to find happiness in a world of intolerance and hate.

41r1ipdp3fl

How will you protect her from lies? From superstition? How will you protect her when your father comes calling, with threats and accusations? When a mob comes to our door?’In a time when death is common, life is cheap and superstition rife, anyone can find their world torn apart by gossip and accusations. Can one lonely girl find the love and companionship she craves? Or will her heart lead her into more danger than she can imagine?

Read Judith’s review: https://judithbarrowblog.com/2017/02/07/my-review-of-blackwater-by-alison-williams-tuesdaybookblog/

screen-shot-2016-08-08-at-11-44-08-am

Author Paul Butler puts Susan M. Toy in the hot seat with a Q & A about settings for crime novels.  Susan is an excellent choice for this particular interview as her mystery crime novels have a very exotic setting. Both the Bequia books are excellent and I have enjoyed both.

onewomanisland-cover-draft-3

Setting is often one of the most fascinating aspects of a crime novel. Sherlock Holmes would not have been the same without London, its hansom cabs, its street gangs, and its sharp division between the capital’s east and west ends. More recently, Ian Rankin’s Rebus novels shoulder the history of Edinburgh, with its pubs, its narrow streets, and its seedy antiquity living on into the 21st century.

Anne Cleeves’s Jimmy Perez novels exemplify another kind of place-based crime fiction. Most of us in the English-speaking world have heard of Shetland, but very few people have set foot on the northern Scottish Isle. Placing a story in a location that is real yet quite remote has both advantages and challenges for the author.

This issue is the natural starting point for a Q & A with Canadian-born author Susan M. Toy, whose racy and compelling novel, Island in the Clouds, I’ve recently had the immense pleasure to read.

Read the Q & A: https://paulbutlernovelist.wordpress.com/2017/02/06/placed-based-crime-q-a-with-susan-m-toy/

When we lived in Madrid and ate out, I would often choose a starter of pulpo a la gallega which is delicious. However octopus was not something I was particularly keen on preparing myself.. usually because it came our rubbery!  Anyway here is a recipe that is both easy to follow and sound delicious courtesy of P & N.. a couple from Malaysia and Japan who love food and are very happy to share that love with us.

octpus10

Read the recipe: https://panandnell.wordpress.com/2017/02/05/homemade-octopus-salad/

That is it for today but please do leave the link to your most recent post in the comments section.. thanks for dropping by.  Sally

 

 

This entry was posted in Smorgasbord Blogger Daily by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

17 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 7th February 2017 – Share buttons, reviews, Crime Settings, Poetry and Octopus!

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 7th February 2017 – Share buttons, reviews, Crime Settings, Poetry and Octopus! | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Thank you for including Kevin’s post, Sally. I wholeheartedly agree about the sharing buttons…and I do wish the Twitter buttons were properly linked to peple’s blogs… and gravatar links checked… It makes it so much easier to help promote people and their work!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Many thanks for mentioning my guest post on Sue’s blog Sally. I endorse your comment on sharing buttons. You can, of course copy a link into Twitter or Facebook. It is, however so much easier to have the sharing buttons and in their absence the risk is that one ends up losing potential shares. I must confess that whenever I read or hear about octipus James Bond always comes to mind as there are so many stories in which he does battle with them …! Kevin

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Thanks Sally for a super-informative post. I so agree with you about people having more sharing options on their blogs. For me it would have to be Twitter to share with my followers and it’s so easy to have an account that isn’t intrusive.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Thanks for the mention, Sally. Can I also promote that Chris, the Story Reading Ape, also has a fantastic array of ‘how to’ posts on his blog? He’s recently added the feature to the menu bar on his blog. It’s a treasure-trove for all bloggers. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Smorgasbord Round up – Eagles, Irish Fairies, Opera and thrills and spills. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

