Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 13th February 2017 – Love, Haitian Healing, 50 words, Reviews

Smorgasbord Blogger DailyWelcome to the first of the blog promotion posts this week..I hope you will enjoy the varied articles from around our community and that you will pop over and introduce yourselves.

Wendy MacDonald

Meet Wendy MacDonald who is a writer, poet and nature lover.. who also enjoys expressing herself through some wonderful photography of her home Comox Valley on Vancouver Island, Canada… as she says.. Creation has a lot to say. In this post Wendy explores the belief that is evident across most faiths, that we should ‘love one another’.

Step Into His Will for You: Love One Another

I don’t know if you ever find the “love one another” command difficult to step into–I know I do sometimes. It’s not that I don’t want to, but it’s tricky when the ones I know I’m struggling to love are not exactly as easy to love as #naturephotography on Instagram or Twitter. And I do wish it was as easy to love everyone as I love watching the trumpeter swans that visit our Comox Valley each winter. 

Read the rest of the post: https://greenlightlady.wordpress.com/

51tzw2aaql-_uy250_

I spend a great deal of time reading other people’s blogs and also comments on facebook and other social media and there is no doubt that there are a huge number of people who have suffered deep hurt of one kind or another in their lifes. It is also clear that there is a postive effect to writing about that pain through blog posts and memoirs. I think that this post by author Mira Prabhu sheds a very healing light on our pain, and with the help of a Haitian Healer she discovered a very simple but effective strategy to overcome it.

HAITIAN HEALER DESTROYS MY STORY

As for India, after enjoying the exuberant frenzy of life in Manhattan, I was finding it difficult to re-adapt, especially since my beautiful new home was located in the suburbs and it was a real chore to drive all the way to the city on a regular basis where I could engage in new activities. I had reached a mental and emotional stalemate and panic about the future was driving me pretty crazy.

I guess this woman she felt sorry for me. One sunny morning she led me to the terrace and handed me an empty notebook. “I want you to write down all that is bothering you, and please don’t ask why,” she ordered peremptorily.

Read the rest of this fascinating post: https://miraprabhu.wordpress.com/2017/02/03/8537/

The Eternals books series by Richard M. Ankers

I know that I can be long-winded.. nay.. I hear you cry.. Oh yeah.. I reply. One of the reasons that I began to write Haiku was to curb my inclinations to wordiness (see what I mean!) Anyway here is a very skilled writer of short (50 words) stories Richard Ankers to show us how it is done..

We heard the geese flying high in the sky long before we saw them…

Read the other 36 words…https://richardankers.com/2017/02/12/50-word-stories-hollow/

rosies-book-review-team-1

From the Rosie Amber Review team, this look at Turn of the Tide by Margaret Skea.. reviewed by  Cathy Ryan who  blogs at http://betweenthelinesbookblog.com

20423656

Initially, I wasn’t too sure about this book. There are a lot of characters, and their allegiances, to keep track of, which I found it a little confusing at first. Writing them down as a quick reference helped as it’s not so easy to keep referring back on a kindle. The more I read, the easier it became and the story took hold. Set in Ayrshire in the sixteenth century it tells of a notorious feud that lasted almost two centuries, between the Montgomeries and the Cunninghames. In the middle of these two warring clans is Munro and his family. Munro owes his loyalty to the Cunninghames, even as he is ever more uncomfortable with their actions and behaviour, and his understandable failure to comprehend the reasoning behind the feud.

Read the rest of the review: https://rosieamber.wordpress.com/2017/02/08/rosies-bookreview-team-rbrt-turn-of-the-tide-by-margaretskea1-histfic-wwwblogs/?wref=tp

omb_small

And to finish this short selection of blogs that I enjoyed over the weekend here is another book review.. this time from Marina of Minds Wanderlust

Warning: This one in a million boy broke my heart in a million pieces.

If you haven’t read this book yet, get out of here and just run to your nearest bookshop, cause I think it’s better not knowing anything about its plot.
Well, for those of you still here, we are going to talk about Monica’s Wood novel. She’s telling the story of an 11-year-old boy who is obsessed with lists and world records, and his unusual friendship with Ona Vitkus, an 104 years old amazing lady.

Read the rest of the review: https://mindswanderlust.wordpress.com/2017/02/10/book-review-the-one-in-a-million-boy/

I hope that you have enjoyed today’s selection of posts and will head over to meet their authors.. Thanks Sally..

15 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 13th February 2017 – Love, Haitian Healing, 50 words, Reviews

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Rum Cocktails, Blog Sitters and all that Jazz | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

