The Colour of Life – Pigeons by Geoff Cronin

Over the coming weeks I will be serialising my father-in-law’s books that are out of print. The first being The Colour of Life which is a memoir and a raconteur’s recollections of life in Southern Ireland during the 1920s onwards.

colour of life

The Colour of Life – Pigeons

In my early childhood, my family and I lived over our Bakery Shop at number 12 John Street, Waterford, which my father owned. Being the beginning of the city’s main street, it was a busy place, and one of the features of it was the Apple Market. This took place in a large open area, bordered by small shops, where the apple farmers who were mostly from the Kilkenny side of the river Suir, assembled every Saturday morning.

Their horses would be tethered around the Fountain Clock, at the north end of the area, and their carts, full of apples, would be “shafts down” along the edge of the street and around in a long oval shape to face the shops on the far side. The carts would be divided internally into boxes where the apples would be displayed – Honeyballs, Pippins, Woodcocks and Ladies Fingers for eating, and cookers like Bramleys, hard, green and sour, all shining in their nests of clean hay and presenting a truly Technicolor picture of a market place.

Local children, including myself, delighted with this cornucopia of deliciousness would wander in and out between the carts “admiring” the displays and buying the odd pennyworth of those deep red Honeyballs which oozed the nectar of red ripeness – they sold for ten a penny – and many a feast would ensue as groups of us gathered in the archway which led off the market and into Hartrey’s sweet factory.

02_pigeons_walking

Street Pigeons

The conversations on these occasions were not at all like those that children of today would have, for many of these children would be in bare feet, as indeed were some of their parents, and they lived in the lanes and tenements which surrounded the area at that time. At age six, I knew all these places and I played and chatted with kids from The Model Lane, The Back Lane, Newports Lane, Spring Garden Alley, Little Mickle Street, The Tanyard Arch, and New Street Tenements, which were four-storey Georgian houses, where families of six to ten people lived in each room, with no running water and no electricity and one outside toilet. On the stairways there were neither banisters nor handrails because the tenants would have used these as firewood. There was no class distinction among the kids, who were “just kids” after all.

Topics of conversation at the apple feasts would be about cage birds, finches and linnets, dogs, ferrets and the favourite was Pigeons. There were thirteen corn stores in the city at that time, and the men employed there had access to the screenings and sweepings of the store and this meant they could keep a few pairs of pigeons for very little money, and the children learned all about pigeons quite naturally.

In addition, there was a magazine “Pigeons and Pigeon World” price threepence, which came in from England and had about forty pages of nothing else but pigeons – Homers, Tumblers, Tipplers, Rollers, Nuns, Turbits, Fantails, Pouters, Booted, Bare Legs, and of course the Feral Pigeons, called locally “Rogs”, which were good for nothing but scavenging.

The more I learned the more fascinated I became with the whole pigeon scene – and the descriptions of how the birds were coloured enthralled me. I very quickly learned the jargon, and could describe any bird I saw. There were Blue Barred, Blue Check, Red Mottled, Black Badged, Blue Baldhead, Snow White, Jet Black, Red Check and top of my list, the one that really fired my imagination, was Silver Dun.

By the time I was eight, I had acquired many a Rog, because that was all the local kids had to sell for three or four pennies. Mind you, I never managed to get a Silver Dun, but by then I knew that the colour of a bird did not make him truly bred to a particular breed. I had watched every pigeon I could see, and I knew a racer from a tumbler or a roller, but then other things were happening in my life at this point.

My family was moving to live in Woodstown, a seaside location eight miles from the city, and while it was quite a change from John Street and the apple market, the freedom of actually living on a beach was truly wonderful. A further bonus was that I now had a shed in which I could keep pigeons properly.

03_pigeons_outside_shed

My own pigeons outside their shed

I wasted no time in acquiring a pair of Blue Barred racing (Homing) pigeons, which I installed in my shed. It was ill appointed for the purpose of accommodating a pair of breeding birds, and I was flat broke having spent my entire savings buying them.
When I noticed the hen collecting straws and carrying them to a corner of the floor I realized that she was nesting. I ran to tell my mother the news, and to ask her to advance me five shillings to buy a nest box I saw advertised in my pigeon magazine.

“No,” she said, “Make one yourself, there’s wood and tools in the garage.”

“But Mother,” I said, “I don’t know how.”

“Come on boy,” she answered. “I’ll show you how” and she did just that.

The measurements were taken from the magazine, and the wood marked out, and then I was left to get on with it. The job was slow and painful, and I had two black and bruised fingernails at the end – my aim with the hammer was unpractised – but after a day and a half I had succeeded and I took my handiwork to show my mother.

“Well done,” she said, “now paint it,” and before I could protest, she took my arm and said

“Come on boy, I’ll show you,” and she did.

When the paint had dried, I took the box to show her, and after examining it she said “Very well done boy, it’s just as good as the one in the magazine and you must see if the hen will take to it.”

I turned to take it to the shed when she called me back and put five shillings into my hand saying “That’s what you earned by doing the job yourself. Never forget that anything you can do with your two hands is money.”

Well, the hen took to the box and nested in it and in eighteen days her two downy chicks arrived and grew into fine strong birds, and thus began a life-long passion for all kinds of pigeons.

And I never forgot the lesson my mother taught me.

04_claire_spencer-cronin

Claire Spencer-Cronin circa 1918

©Geoff Cronin 2002

gmc_headshot-madrid-2000

About Geoff Cronin – 1923 – 2017

There were few jobs that Geoff could not turn his hands to, and over the years he mastered an impressive number of professional undertakings. Master baker and confectioner, mobile cinema operator, salesman, band leader, senior executive and master wood turner, storyteller and writer.

Geoff Cronin published his first book in 2005 at age 82. The Colour of Life is a collection of stories of life in Waterford during his childhood and early adulthood in the 1920s, 30s and 40s. This was followed by two further books that related tales of further adventures in Waterford and Dublin.

I hope you have enjoyed this story and over the next few weeks I will be sharing the rest of The Colour of Life on Saturday and Sunday mornings. Thanks Sally

64 thoughts on “The Colour of Life – Pigeons by Geoff Cronin

  1. Oh, wonderful, Sally. I could smell those apples at the market – and what fantastic names they had. I wonder how many of those still exist? I hope we’ll hear more about Claire in future stories. And the pigeons.

    Liked by 1 person

    • His family had obviously listened to his stories for much longer but when we started our publishing company it was an ideal opportunity to capture them for a much wider audience. His hardbacks and print copies sold out here in Ireland and we did do a reprint of paperbacks a few years ago but now all gone. We do have the three books in ebooks but to be honest by serialising the stories it is as if he is sitting there saying ‘have I told you the one about..’ xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As I’m old enough to indulge in nostalgia myself I also enjoy the nostalgia of times before me (just to prove there were some ). These stories are very pleasant and evocative of a less frenetic time.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved this story, Sally. It is very good for modern children to learn about the past so that they can contextualise the present. Your Father-in-law sounds like a man I would really like and admire. My Dad can also turn his hand to many things.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Colour of Life – Pigeons by Geoff Cronin | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  5. How wonderful to be able to take a walk back in history and visit what life was like across the pond in that era. I look forward to reading more and I know I will enjoy every story. Loving Claire already passing her wisdom on to her son, teaching him lessons that he would never forget.
    Thank you Sally and looking forward to reading more. ☺☺☺

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great vignette, beautifully described and rendered (I could almost taste the apples) and a deserved memorial to your father-in-law. I love his mother’s lesson, although if it had been me, poor pigeon!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: The Colour of Life – Pigeons by Geoff Cronin | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life | Just Olga

  8. Geoff was a wonderful writer Sally. I was there both physically and emotionally… the bond between mother and son was palpable. She reminded me of my Mum’s mum.. silly I know with only a walk on part like that but the whole piece was so vivid.

    Somewhere I had come across tumblers and rollers before, types of pigeon behaviour… Never thought of them for years until Geoff mentioned them and now I’m trying to remember where I heard about them. Love reading stuff that… it gets me pondering and reflecting!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I can’t help thinking Geoff is reading this and madly writing a sequel. I’m amazed by his myriad talents. I love the photo you chose, Sally. David looks so much like his father 💕

    Like

  10. Pingback: Smorgasbord Round Up | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  11. Pingback: Smorgasbord Round Up – Loss, Memories, Blog Sitters and The Colour of Life | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  12. This was fascinating, Sally! He must have been a wonderful storyteller to listen to. I never thought that pigeons could all be so different. He learned a valuable lesson from his mother about working. More parents today should teach their children that way. Thanks for sharing this lovely story. ❤ hugs xx

    Liked by 1 person

  13. A fascinating glimpse into a bygone age, Sally. The reference to barefoot children reminds me of my now (sadly departed) aunt who told me similar stories about barefoot children, growing up in Liverpool in the 1930’s. There is, of course poverty today and one should not minimise the problems faced by those who have little (or no) money. But, in the UK most people living in what is labelled as poverty today are not in the same boat as the children described in this post. Kevin

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Kevin.. you are so right and I was only reading a newspaper article the other day about a woman who was fined for dropping a cigarette butt on the ground and she claimed she could not pay as she was on benefits and could not afford to feed her children.. Obviously paying £10 for a packet of cigarettes was a priority. When I read my father-in-laws memoir, most of the men had two jobs, barely saw their children and had amazing wives who did a great deal with very little including no welfare. Sally

      Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

