Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 6th March 2017 – Skin cancer, Bullies, Local History, Book Marketing, Book Reviewing

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Welcome to a selection of blog posts that I read over the weekend. To begin with a very important message from author Taylor Evan Fulks about skin cancer. Some of the photos are very graphic but that just intensifies this very important message.

51zd9b0uhfl-_sy346_

Here is an extract from the post and I do urge you to head over and read it all.

I guess you could say I’m going for the shock factor…In my writing and in life, I believe that’s all this society understands. We’ve become so desensitized about everything, so, unless it’s in your face (no pun intended) people don’t get it.

Anyway, this post encompasses valuable information that may in fact, save your life or the life of someone you love. So I urge you to take a moment to read this, look at the pictures, then go and inspect your own body and/or the body of someone you care about.

Read the rest of this important message: http://taylorfulks.com/the-naked-truththis-post-could-save-your-life/

Thomas the Rhymer

If you are regular reader of the blog you will have seen that Paul Andruss is contributing exclusive articles that are proving very popular. In his spare time!!!  He also has a terrific blog of his own and today he shares another extract from his book Thomas the Rhymer that I am currently reading. This is a chapter that is also graced by one of Donata Zawadzka’s stunning illustrations.

Extract from Thomas the Rhymer – Chapter 6: Yesterday upon the Stair

Reaching the park Jack began to feel nervous in case the beautiful lady appeared, or worse, the tramp. Sensing his discomfort, Catherine was sympathetic, “Jack, we do not have to go this way.”

“What do you mean?” he asked defensively.

“Nobody would go all the way to Smithdown Road unless there was good reason. Sometimes they call me names. Once or twice they chased me. I know where they hang around now and avoid them.”

“It’s nothing like that!” he protested.

When she looked unconvinced, Jack kept his mouth shut. Not feeling up to persuading her otherwise, he let her take him through the park. It was not long before he heard some shouting, and wondering what it was all about looked back before she could stop him. Recognising a gang of older lads from school, he realised they were probably the very ones Catherine meant.

Read the rest of the extract and links to Download Thomas the Rhymer for FREE: http://www.paul-andruss.com/bullies/

51fdzqyaqdl-_sx341_bo1204203200_

Read the reviews and buy the book: https://www.amazon.com/Woodlake-Images-America-Marsha-Ingrao/dp/1467133191

Marsha Ingrao was approached to write a non-fiction book about her hometown Woodlake in California. Sceptical at first, little did she realise that it would turn into such a wonderful community project and successful publishing venture. Definitely worth reading if you are planning on writing a local history book. Recommended to me by Tina Frisco – http://tinafrisco.com

What Would You Do with an Email about a Possible Nonfiction Book Contract?

Who knows why I didn’t delete Ginny’s email on Wednesday, May 28, 2014. She asked me if I wanted a nonfiction book contract to write a book about Woodlake, CA. It sounded like a spam email. Did I want to write a nonfiction book? Did I want a successful blog? Did I want 1,000 more readers each month? Did I want to make $100,000 a year with my blog the first year?  Come on! Really?

Read the rest of this very interesting post: http://marshajustwrites.com/non-fiction-book-contract/

519rt20sybl-_uy250_

Lucinda E. Clarke with a request for your opinion about book marketing. As she notes in this post today, we are inundated by expert opinion on how to market our books and also improve our blogging experience. But are we flogging a dead horse!

I have come to the following conclusion.

Not all books that hit the charts are good.

A lot of excellent books never sell.

You can become a NYT bestseller by targeting carefully and working the system.

What is the difference?

Marketing – which equals getting your book/s out there and VISIBLE, really VISIBLE.

Now before you read any further don’t think for a moment that I am whining. I applaud and admire those people who have the marketing skill. I may or may not write good books, depending on your point of view (you can see them below!) but I ain’t got the marketing skill, nor do I have the money to pay some person or organisation to do it for me. I cannot even railroad DH into doing any of it either. (you may say aaaah here)

I receive dozens of blogs each week telling me how only Facebook ads work, no, wait, it’s Amazon adds that do the trick.

Read the rest of this thought provoking post and add your views: https://lucindaeclarke.wordpress.com/2017/03/06/am-i-wasting-my-time/

rosies-book-review-team-1

My TBR is leaning agains my bookshelves currently. Entirely my own fault as a bookshop both real and virtual is like a sweet shop to a chocoholic.. (I am one of those as well but for another day).. I have had to turn down several requests to review books recently. I hate to offend but I have chosen to promote authors in a different way by showcasing them and their books in my various blog series. I have made a commitment to read those books currently on my TBR albeit a little slowly and they will appear from time to time.

Rosie Amber tackles the issue of requests for book reviews in her post. Much of what Rosie highlights also applies to those requesting book promotions.

Do you keep submitting your books to bloggers, but are yet to have them reply with a ‘yes, I’d be happy to review it?’. Book bloggers do get snowed under, and sometimes state on their blogs that they’re currently closed for submissions. What if this is not the case, though, but you still keep getting a ‘thanks, but no thanks’, or no reply at all?

Find out what those ten reasons might be: https://rosieamber.wordpress.com/2017/03/06/10-reasons-your-book-is-not-getting-reviewed-by-bookbloggers-mondayblogs-writertip/

I hope that you have enjoyed the first Blogger Daily of the week and please feel free to include the link to your latest post in the comments section. Thanks Sally

21 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 6th March 2017 – Skin cancer, Bullies, Local History, Book Marketing, Book Reviewing

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 6th March 2017 – Skin cancer, Bullies, Local History, Book Marketing, Book Reviewing | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Gratitude and blessings to you, dear sister! Your gracious share of my skin cancer post may save a life. You’re such a love and I can’t thank you enough.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I know how Lucinda feels and I liked your comment on her post. I know I should be doing more to promote existing books – but I need to write others and procrastination is my middle name as I blogged about https://takefiveauthors.wordpress.com/2017/03/04/procrastination/comment-page-1/#comment-2033 this weekend. If any of your readers have other tips to help the procrastinators amongst us do share them! We need all the help we can get.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Pingback: Smorgasbord Round up – Bruce Springsteen, Book Readings, Creative Artists and Top to Toe. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

