Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 7th March 2017 – Mary Smith, John Fioravanti, Ana’s Lair, Fiona McVie, Linda Bethea

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Welcome to today’s selection of blog posts. We kick off with one from author Mary Smith who writes for the blog Take Five Authors and her post over the weekend was on the subject of a state of mind that seems to grasp hold of us and not let go without some lengthy and protracted negotiation and often bribery!

Procrastination

My name is Mary and I am a procrastinator.

Procrastinate: vi to defer action; to put off what should be done immediately. n procrastination.

The way it goes is as follows. I sit at my desk to write. I check my emails, reply to anything urgent. I take a quick look at some of the blogs I follow. I leave a comment, like and share. It seems rude not to like and share and it only adds a few seconds to the time already spent reading and commenting. After another quick check of my emails I resolutely close down the programme.

I open the WIP file, realise I’ve finished my coffee and nip downstairs to make a fresh one. I notice the kitchen floor needs sweeping so do that while waiting for the kettle to boil – then realise it really needs to be properly mopped. And the load of washing is finished, which I should hang out.

 Read the rest of the post and offer your opinions : https://takefiveauthors.wordpress.com/2017/03/04/procrastination/

John Fioravanti shares some of the events of this day across the centuries.. Tuesday’s sound quite benign but if you are superstitious about Friday the thirteenth…in Spain it is Tuesday 13th!  After that little piece of trivia I will hand you over to John and his far more interesting historical update.

It’s Tantalising Tuesday! Did you know…

* 1719 – Michel-Philippe Isabeau starts to build the Fortress of Louisbourg on Cape Breton Island. (Philippe Isabeau starts to build Louisbourg on Cape Breton Island to protect the entrance to the Gulf of St. Lawrence River; under director of fortifications Jean-François de Verville, who recommended the site in 1716; will have five troop garrisons, over one hundred artillery pieces, a 4 km protective wall and a 15 km barrier reef outside the harbour; takes 25 years to build at a cost of 30 million livres [$3+ Billion USD today]. Destroyed by the British in 1760, Louisbourg will be rebuilt as a National Historical Site in the 1950s. Louisbourg, Nova Scotia. 

Find out what else happened on this date across the centuries: https://wordpress585519.wordpress.com/2017/03/07/johns-believe-it-or-not-march-7th/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

I actually have the film Fences on my list to watch when I can get to the cinema to see it. I have been looking out for some reviews and here is one that finds the film a little average. Ana from Ana’s Lair reviews both books and movies.. A useful blog to follow.

Rating: 3/5 – Blurb IMDB:
A working-class African-American father tries to raise his family in the 1950s, while coming to terms with the events of his life.

Review:

I actually watched this movie a couple weeks ago but I have had trouble putting my thoughts about it on ‘paper’.

It’s not that I think the movie was bad… It actually surprised me quite a lot on more than one occasion.

However, even the performances were not very satisfying and I can’t even say why. Everyone was amazing, as was expected. But it’s almost as if some scenes were made to make the authors shine, especially Washington and Davis. 

Read the rest of the interesting review: https://anaslair.wordpress.com/2017/03/07/fences/

Fiona McVie has an impressive list of author interviews and as I catch up from my week offline I have found an interview that she posted with Angie Dokos.  Angie is author of MacKenzies Distraction and has another book in the pipeline.

Name: Angie Dokos

Age: Hmm, should I tell my true age, or the age I wish I still was? Nah, I’m thankful for all my years. I am 36 years old.

Where are you from? I am from a small town in the North Georgia mountains. I now live in the Atlanta area.

A little about yourself, your education, family life, etc

I am married. We have five children. I work full time in an office of a manufacturing company.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have finished my first draft of my second book. It is with the beta readers now. I’ll make some changes from their reports, then send it off to the editor. After I make the changes from the editor, I’ll publish. My goal is to have it published sometime in the Spring. 

Read the rest of Angie’s interview: https://authorsinterviews.wordpress.com/2017/02/24/here-is-my-interview-with-angie-dokos/

And to end on a high note.. Linda Bethea has been entertaining her regulars with her long running serial. A tale of ordinary folk who have to make ends meet creatively in a time when everyone had so little. Here is the finale of Just Folks Getting By.

Ben brought Uncle Amos home to supper that night, just like he always did on Thursdays. Lucille did herself proud with fried chicken. Jenny made mashed potatoes, English Pea Salad, and sliced fresh garden tomatoes.

“Ladies, I haven’t had a meal this good since I don’t know when. Lucille, I been thinking about asking you to marry me, and your fried chicken just made up my mind.” He said.

“Well, I hope it don’t break yore heart, but I already been married plenty. I like to do things my way. I don’t want to have to take care of nobody no more. I don’t mind cooking you up some fried chicken once in a while, though.” She laughed.

“Well, that’s a relief. I really ain’t partial to gittin’ married again either, but I sure admire your fried chicken.” Everybody got a laugh out of that.

Read the rest of the story and if you missed the previous episodes follow the link: https://nutsrok.wordpress.com/2017/03/06/just-folks-getting-by-finale/

If I have missed your most recent post I am sorry.. but please feel free to leave a link to it in the comments. thanks Sally

29 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 7th March 2017 – Mary Smith, John Fioravanti, Ana’s Lair, Fiona McVie, Linda Bethea

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 7th March 2017 – Mary Smith, John Fioravanti, Ana’s Lair, Fiona McVie, Linda Bethea | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Round up – Bruce Springsteen, Book Readings, Creative Artists and Top to Toe. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

