Stuck Writing Your Author Bio? Try The (Totally Not Serious) Author Bio Generator

D.G. Kaye reblogged this today and so pleased she did as you will find Helen Jones has set a very interesting challenge for you. The post was published at the end of last year but is definitely worth circulating again.  A bio generator (no not a yogurt maker) but the thingy you put on the back of your book or Amazon.. Do you think I might sell more books with my version of Helen’s bio generator?

Sally Cronin was born in a wigwam in Boggy Bottom in 1953 and grew up in the village of Scratchy Bottom learning to make soap bubbles. They left England for Sri Lanka where they learnt to avoid leopards in the jungle at night. Sally now lives in Katmandu with her husband David and several pack rats. When not writing best-selling novels, Sally likes to crochet swimsuits.

Head over and add your own… hilarious and might just make a few changes to my bio on Amazon!

Journey To Ambeth

Aren't I fabulous and interesting? I’m so fabulous and interesting.

So I’ve been noticing a trend recently of, shall we say, somewhat overwrought author bios, in which every detail is teased into something magnificent, a picture of a life fabulously lived. I realise that there are, in fact, authors who do live wonderfully exciting lives but I also seem to remember a time when it wasn’t really important to know about it. A time when an author bio was a few lines at the end of a book, photograph optional, and usually read something like: ‘Author X was born in Wiltshire, and still lives there with her husband and three sons.’ Then, if Author X had written other books/and or won awards, these would also be listed. And that was about it. (I’m basing this on the very scientific research of spending time perusing my own bookcase and reading famous author bios, so you know…

View original post 482 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

16 thoughts on “Stuck Writing Your Author Bio? Try The (Totally Not Serious) Author Bio Generator

  1. Loved the post and your hilarious bio. Here’s mine (longer, which will surprise no one) – intended to replace all those dreadfully dull ones in various conference materials:

    Madelyn Griffith-Haynie was born many years ago in the army hospital of beautiful Fort Ord, California. She grew up on various top-secret off-planet bases where her rocket scientist father was subsequently stationed, learning Russian at her father’s knee like all good little cold war soldiers. They left California for Area 51 where they studied with several aliens before leaving for Mars. Madelyn now lives in an alternate universe with a Shih Tzu who talks as well as blogs. When not writing books that she never publishes, Madelyn and her supposed Shih Tzu like to visit bars around America, drinking for free as various bartenders lose their bets on what the creature who looks like a dog will order.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Lol Sal, glad you had fun with this, I thought it was brilliant. I often ‘press this’ posts for future reblogging in draft and every so often go through the many resting there that I didn’t have a chance to reblog. Glad I dug out Helen’s post to share. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

