Triple Layer Pavlova

I don’t normally think of dessert before I have eaten breakfast but who could resist this fabulous pavlova created by Brigid Gallagher for her birthday.. Will be over shortly …

Watching the Daisies

IMG_6057In 2015, my pavlova style changed forever after witnessing Welsh actor Michael Sheen’s winning triple layer pavlova  on “Great British Comic Relief Bake Off. ” Michael used passion fruit and lemon curd for his filling – a beautiful combination.

I have used Michael’s winning filling in the past, but this week I could not find any passion fruit for my celebratory birthday pavlova.  Instead, I used fresh raspberries and blueberries which created a colourful display.

I promised my dear friend and inspirational cook Rhonda Sittig at The Thankful Heart blog a post on my creation, so I have included my recipe below:

Preheat oven to 150 C/ 140 for fan assisted oven.

Prepare 3 sheets of baking parchment, and draw 3 circles around tea plates of different sizes.  Place parchment on baking trays.

Ingredients

6 large eggs,

12 ounces of castor sugar,

Dessert spoon of cornflour,

Dessert spoon of white wine vinegar,

1/2 pint of whipping or…

View original post 241 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

8 thoughts on “Triple Layer Pavlova

  1. I used to manage a restaurant in Stratford, Ontario where they made the most fabulous Pavlova – named, as I am sure you all know, after the Russian ballerina. In my mind, just the mention of the word, would have me salivating like one of Ivan Pavlov’s dogs. As I become older, but not necessarily wiser, I try to limit my sugar intake – sometimes not successfully. However, I can live vicariously and drink up your recipe with fond memories. Thanks for the suggestion of what to do with the yolks – Crème brûlée – my second most favourite dessert. How long can I hold out?

    Liked by 3 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

