Smorgasbord Health 2017 – Top to Toe – The Heart and the Stress link

Smorgasbord Health 2017

One of the leading causes of heart attacks in men and increasingly in women is stress. It is a silent killer that lies in wait and pounces when you least expect it.  It is not helpful that the stress that we experience is as unique as our own bodies.

What is Stress

You need stress in your life, does that surprise you? Perhaps so, but it is quite true. Without stress, life would be dull and unexciting. Stress adds flavour, challenge and opportunity to life. Too much stress, however, can seriously affect your physical and mental well-being. In recent years several high profile personalities have died suddenly and we recognise that most of them lived highly stressful lives, which finally took its toll. But how many times have we been surprised by the premature death of someone we know, a friend or family member, who on the outside seemed to be healthy and active with a good diet. Unfortunately, what is going on with major organs inside the body tell a different story. Stress is silent and can be deadly.

What causes a stress reaction?

Stress is the modern day equivalent of our ancestral ‘flight or fight’ mechanism that was necessary in the highly competi­tive and predatory world throughout our evolution. There may no longer be sabre-toothed tigers or mammoths in our world but the modern day alternatives can be just as daunting.

A threatening or tense situation triggers this stress response demanding that we take physical action. Unfortunately most modern day stress involves situations that we cannot run away from; such as relationship issues, a demanding job and boss and not forgetting the traffic jams on the way home.

There are two types of stress, Acute Stress and Chronic Stress, and both have very distinctive patterns.

radio stress

Acute Stress is a short-term response by the body’s sympa­thetic nervous system and the response may only last for a few minutes or a few weeks. How many times have you said that your heart stopped or your stomach lurched during a moment of intense stress such as an accident? We have all heard stories of mothers and fathers who have been suddenly infused with superhuman strength and able to lift cars and other heavy objects off their trapped children. They are empowered to do this by the actions of their body in a moment of crisis.

Blood sugar levels rise and additional red blood cells are released to carry strength giving oxygen levels a boost. The pulse quickens, blood pressure rises and the digestive process stops to enable the focus to be entirely on regaining safety.

stress three

Chronic Stress is when this acute stress response is repeated on a continuous basis. Whilst the body, after a hundred thousand years, is well able to handle the occasional stress response and in fact uses it positively, if the response becomes a normal way of life, other parts of the brain and body become involved leading to long term damage.

For example, ongoing stress causes the hypothalamus and the pituitary gland, which are the master controllers for the body, to release a chemical called ACTH  (adrenocorticotropic hormone) which stimulates the adrenal gland to produce and release cortisol which disrupts sleep patterns leading to increased levels of stress.

Our bodies are simply not designed to live at high alert for sustained periods of time; it just wears it down leading to illness.

How can we manage this modern day stress that is going to be a part of our lives in one way or another?

A major challenge in this stress filled world today is to make the stress in your life work for you instead of against you. Stress is with us all the time. It comes from mental, emotional and physical activity. It is unique and personal to each of us because we all handle it in a different way. So personal in fact that what may be relaxing for one person may be extremely stressful to another. For example, my husband loves the challenge and rush of downhill skiing on the most difficult of runs. When I tried skiing I created so much stress and fear for myself that I lasted about two days. I was terrified and it made me feel physically sick.

Another example might be a busy high level executive who can find ‘taking it easy’ at the beach on a beautiful day extremely frustrating, non-productive and upsetting. You can be stressed simply doing nothing.

Too much emotional or mental stress can cause physical illnesses such as high blood pressure, ulcers and heart disease, whereas physical stress from work or exercise is not likely to cause these problems. The truth is that physical exercise can help you relax and to handle your emotional and mental stress. Following a healthy diet that provides you with all the essential nutrients to help your body manage stress is even more important.

Symptoms of stress can be subtle such as fatigue, insomnia, depression, headaches, back or neck pain, irritability and sudden weight loss or gain. The less common but more damaging are heart palpitations, shortness of breath, diarrhoea, nausea, panic attacks, inability to concentrate and chronic fear.

Many people resort to stimulants such as smoking, alcohol or even drugs in the efforts to calm themselves down but in fact they are merely stoking the fires and increasing the levels of stress on the body, which can lead to disease.

Others create stress for themselves and those around them. They love the drama it creates and they rarely know how damaging this behaviour is for all concerned. We have all had drama queens in our lives and knowing how to handle them to prevent a knock on effect on your own health is essential.

©sallycronin Just Food For Health 1998 – 2017

Next time some strategies to combat stress and some nutritional support from foods that you eat regularly.

Please feel free to comment and to share. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to ask. thanks Sally

 

49 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Health 2017 – Top to Toe – The Heart and the Stress link

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Health – Stress – Drama, drama, drama – how is your body coping? | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. I don’t grind my teeth like Ritu but I clench my jaws – which, of course, leads to pain in my neck! I’ve been feeling stressed lately because I can’t break the cycle of spending so much time each day reading and commenting on blogs BEFORE I try to get on with my own writing. I think maybe I need time management strategies rather than strategies to combat stress. I certainly need Help!!

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Boy, I needed to read this, Sally. Thanks for sharing. I cut down on most of my emails and blogs I follow to push back some of the stress. As for other issues, I am doing my 10k steps most days and reading to relax. Corresponding with good friends like you always help. Bless you! ❤️

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Great summation. I know all about emotional stress! If there weren’t any stray greys lurking underneath my red hair before, I’m sure they’ve multiplied.
    Much truth here and so informative as always.
    Now I shall await Thursday’s stress relieving post. xoxo ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Smorgasbord Health – Stress – Drama, drama, drama – how is your body coping? | Annette Rochelle Aben

  6. Pingback: Saturday Round Up – 1997 – Jazz – Stress and a woopsie at Crufts! | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  7. A terrific post, Sally. Ritu’s comment about deep breathing is helpful anytime one feel’s stressed or having difficultly going to sleep. And music is the magic soother, but for me, it has to be quiet music and something like classical or even the sound of waterfalls or ocean waves. Sometimes the best destresser is to take the phone off the hook, unplug, and close the door. Yoga poses can help or just meditating.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I like to listen to classical music rather than with vocals when I am relaxing.. rock is great for chopping the veg.. I find swimming is great too as I write my stories in my head whilst I am ploughing back and forth.. The difficulty for some people is finding that one thing that is their ‘thing’. I reckon lunch with you and some of the other guys would do well too.. XXS

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Smorgasbord Health – Middle-Age Spread..Not always down to what you eat! | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  9. Pingback: Middle Aged Spread – Stress busting with Status Quo.. or any music you love. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  10. Terrific post, Sally. Many recent studies have resulted in the same conclusion, pointing to stress as the major cause of most disease. What interests me is how stress induces inflammation, causing the immune system to release chemicals that throw it into overdrive and negatively impact all major organs. Looking forward to your post on strategies, an area in which I fall short and need encouragement 💚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Smorgasbord Health 2017 – Top to Toe – The Heart and the Stress link | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  12. This was the year I was going to work smarter to lower my levels of stress. I began by opting to get all the blogs weekly, I then wrote a month’s blog in a batch and scheduled it – that’s working well. Then, I found out how to stop every single FB post dropping into my email box – that was a major change, I would panic every morning to open my email and see 500 waiting for me that had sneaked in while I was asleep. Now the next hurdle is to conquer these computer programmes, that will take considerably longer. I still set deadlines for myself – stupid really after retirement, but I can’t get out of the habit. It’s quite stressful trying to get rid of the stress!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is Lucinda..I was never a 9-5 sort of person and loved work.. I cannot imagine not still doing this in my 90s if I am still around but like you I now work smarter and cutting out all my email notifications has made a huge difference as has scheduling posts except for the daily blogger in advance. hugs xx

      Like

  13. I enjoyed reading this post again, Sally. It’s a great reminder that we need to work on not just our own stress levels, but the stress levels of those around us. Nothing is worse than feeling stressed out because of someone else. I can own my stress and do something about it, but it’s difficult to handle someone else’s. Hugs, my dear friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  15. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Bruce Springsteen, Books and Blogs and A Musical | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  16. Pingback: Are You Dealing With Stress or Burnout? What’s the Difference? | Lemon Shark

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

