Remembering

A heart touching poem by Kate McClelland…. the loss of a brother or sister…. even someone you have grown up with is hard to comprehend. #recommended

Kate McClelland

Remembering

A family get together

Or a couple of hours sitting in a coffee shop

Are never spent without a mention of you

Remembering, we laugh over the funny things

You did or said

We grumble about things promised

But never done

Or old arguments played over again

As only siblings can

We talk about the bitterness of our loss

And even after all this time

Still cannot comprehend

That we will not see you again

This firecracker persona

That we had known

From the moment we were born

The person who had memories

Of us before we had memories to share

Gone

You left us all a memento

To remember you by

But it wasn’t necessary

As we could not and will not forget

We share a smile and hugs all round

Make our excuses to leave

With promises of meeting soon

Knowing that there will always be

A…

View original post 18 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

10 thoughts on “Remembering

  1. Thanks for showcasing Kate’s poem, Sally. Gorgeous and evocative – my sister is no longer here and this poem made me miss her anew. I cannot believe I will not see her again either. Bittersweet memories bubbled up as I read.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 4 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

