St. Patrick’s Day Special – Irish Weather – The Musical – Narrated by renowned author – I.V.E. Mildew

Welcome to the St. Patrick’s Day Special and my name is I.V.E. Mildew, a raconteur, author, graffiti artist and bon vivant. I have lived all my life amongst the warm hearted and generous people’s of this Isle and delight in sharing its bounteous beauty.

Ireland is renowned for its lush emerald green scenery, ancient history, singing, dancing and an abundance of the wet stuff. No, not the dark stuff served up around the world, but the reason why Guinness tastes so much better when drunk here in Ireland, and what makes our clover so bright and green.

That would be the rain my friends.

In the space of a couple of hours you can experience all of the moods and variations that the Irish weather has to offer. For over 200 days of the year that usually involves a drop of the grand soft drizzle to tumultuous downpours that flood the rivers and gullies.

When I decided to pen – Irish Weather – The Musical, little did I know that artists from around the world would claim Irish ancestory and offer their services to showcase its multiplicity with song, music and dance.

Alas two hours is not sufficient time to feature all aspects and faces of our climate, but I hope that the following renditions will give you a flavour of what can happen in just one day in the Emerald Isle.  I have puntuated the said performances with quotes on the Irish Weather from prominent wordsmiths (bigger eejits than me).

If you enjoy the excerpt from the 24 hour stage show I hope you will consider buying tickets. It is an outside performance at the RDS showgrounds for a week in August. (Weather dependent).

Your humble servant – I.V.E Mildew (Ivor to my friends)

There are many days when the raindrops come and go throughout the day for a few minutes at a time. This gentle blessing from the sky is not a problem and in fact can be turned into a magical and romantic bike ride for two….

Visitors to our beautiful country from all around the world are also inspired by our unique weather and have been heard to spontaneously burst into song in honour of the rain and the second best asset Ireland has to offer.. It’s men!

Of course we cannot forget that Ireland has some of the most beautiful women in the world.. they are like the wind….

Ireland has a number of weather satellite dishes circling the earth, but over the centuries we have discovered that if we gather on high points and dance and sing with the aid of imbibables we can summon the odd day of sunshine.

Our darling children are taught in school how to make the best use of any odd day of sunshine they may enjoy during the summer holidays (six weeks of optimism each year). Learning how to walk on sunshine is part of the syllabus.  Try this at home three times a week and it will lift your spirits too.

However rainy our Mondays (and every other day of the week) are… we are blessed to have our loved ones to turn to. And every good musical should always end up with a slow dance with the one who loves you.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day and remember whatever the weather you will always get a warm sunny welcome here in Ireland.

Dedicated to my newly discovered great, great grandmother Mary Carey of Ballinacurra, Co.Cork. Another notch in the Walsh family tree…

This entry was posted in humour and tagged by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

49 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Day Special – Irish Weather – The Musical – Narrated by renowned author – I.V.E. Mildew

  1. What a lovely celebration Sal. Great music choice and love the funny memes. I also couldn’t help but notice #81 in the ‘Walking on Sunshine’ video was the only one smiling, lol. I hope you’re celebrating today in true Irish style! Happy St. Paddy’s Day. xoxo ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: St. Patrick’s Day Special – Irish Weather – The Musical – Narrated by renowned author – I.V.E. Mildew | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  3. Pingback: St. Patrick’s Day Special – Irish Weather – The Musical – Narrated by renowned author – I.V.E. Mildew | Annette Rochelle Aben

  4. Well, here I am. I said I would drop by from across the pond and I am a woman of my word. Enjoyed your post no matter what the weather. When we visited Ireland it was in January, not a drop of rain and every day we were blessed with the sunshine. It was a bit chilly but not too cold. I did get to play the Bodhran at a local pub. It was great fun. Happy St. Patrick’s Day! I did make Cornbeef and cabbage for dinner. We will also be eating Irish Soda Bread. And there you go♣♣♣.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  6. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Bruce Springsteen, Books and Blogs and A Musical | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

