Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 22nd March 2017 – Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, Diary Of a Nineteen Year Old, Marilyn Armstrong and Jane Risdon

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Welcome to the day’s round up of posts I have enjoyed.. As I keep mentioning it is only a small selection but I hope you will head over and read them for yourself and follow the bloggers in question.

The first post is about Empathy and the strength of friendship. There have been times in my life when I felt adrift and isolated but was brought back into the fold by one or two special people who troubled themselves to forget their own lives and help me get mine back. Madelyn Griffith-Haynie suffered a serious accident and required round the clock care for a year.. in this post she shares those who made her recovery much easier and possible.

Tough Love Lessons from an Empathy Deficit Society

“There, but for the grace of God, go I”

Not my problem, not my business?

Our society seems to be rapidly moving to a state where it is empathy-averse. The next few posts are my attempt at trying to change that sad reality in some small fashion by telling my personal story. It is time.

Many who are still able to care what happens to others take the “wait and see” approach, hoping perhaps that some of the problems will resolve without their involvement.

I have noticed it most overtly in response to current political actions of late, but I have always seen it most pervasively in the continuing lack of Mental Health Awareness.
That attitude troubles me greatly. We need each other, and the quote at the top of this page has never been more apt.

I always planned to speak out about it, once I put my life back together after a horrendous event that all but took it away from me entirely. But there was so much to do in the aftermath that time got away from me.

The attitude I observe, that seems to be increasing since the start of the most recent election cycle, has emboldened me. I think it’s time to put polish a few drafts and publish them.

Read about Madelyn’s experience and about those who showed their true friendship: https://addandsomuchmore.com/2017/03/22/do-you-have-a-minute-sorry-for-the-inconvenience/

Now a post Diary Of a Nineteen Year Old about stereotyping. I am blonde, curvy and a pensioner!  And there are still stereotypical comparisons made at any age. They are however particularly hard on the the younger generation who are still finding their place in the world and where when we were young it was isolated to our home town and our work place it is now universal. It is a lot of pressure. A very interesting and thought provoking post to read.

I bet that you all know what stereotyping is, Ey? Honestly, I couldn’t cover even an eighth of all the instances of stereotyping that exist today, even if I tried (you can google them though), so, I’m just gonna highlight a few negative examples that I could think of (it’s lengthy so please get comfortable).

1. All blondes are dumb.

😂😂have you read all the blonde jokes? They’re like a million. It’s sad but I’m sure you all can think of a movie or a cartoon where the blonde girl is the dumb one.

Read the rest of the post: https://unknown5544.wordpress.com/2017/03/21/stereotyping-but-why/

I do resonate with this next post. I only noticed yesterday that I should do some dusting. I then sat down and did some writing. I am still at the should stage… when I get to the MUST do some dusting because we have visitors coming I will get round to it….I have a sense of adventure but I have to make a couple of allowances now before setting off.. I accept that there are terrains I can no longer walk on because of my lack of ligaments in my right knee and that a six hour trek up and down a mountain without facilities is a double whammy!

Marilyn Armstrong explores this very effectively in her post and I am sure that you can add your views to the post as well..

ACCEPTING, ACCEPTANCE, AND MOVING ON

It’s one of the things you learn getting older. You really can’t fight all the battles because there are too many battles and too few of you. So you accept that the plow driver knocked down half a wall and dug up a big chunk of garden … which someone is going to have to fix because it’s like hideous mud and rock central on the driveway.

You look at the door, realize it’s begun to rot a bit under the sill. You shrug. It’ll get dealt with, eventually. Not by me, of course. I don’t do sills.

What have you accepted and moved on from: https://teepee12.com/2017/03/22/accepting-whatever-it-may-be/

Jane Risdon welcomes guest author Sheryl Browne to her blog who talks about her new thrillers After She’s Gone and Sins of the Father.

I’m often asked what prompted me to SWITCH TO THE ‘DARK SIDE’.

In all honesty, I’m not sure I have switched. Even in my contemporary romance, I tend to write about people and the gamut of emotion that comes with them, gravitating towards family and family dynamics and just how strong a family unit can be. I find there is usually a bad guy or girl in all of my books. Sometimes the hero will start out as seemingly bad, which gives him room to grow. I think in writing psychological thriller, I’m exploring the darker psyche of some of my characters, looking at the nature vs nurture conundrum. Is badness in the genes? Is it brain function or childhood experience that creates a monster? A combination of all three?

Read the rest of Sheryl’s interview: https://janerisdon.wordpress.com/2017/03/21/sheryl-browne-my-guest-author-exploring-the-darker-psyche-in-her-psychological-thrillers/

Thank you for dropping by today and if you would like to feature here in this blogger promotion then just leave a link to your most recent post in the comments. thanks Sally

22 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 22nd March 2017 – Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, Diary Of a Nineteen Year Old, Marilyn Armstrong and Jane Risdon

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 22nd March 2017 – Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, Diary Of a Nineteen Year Old, Marilyn Armstrong and Jane Risdon | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Pingback: Do you have a minute? Sorry for the Inconvenience. | ADD . . . and-so-much-more

  3. Thank you so much for including my post in this round-up. I am especially grateful for how you chose to present it.

    So far I have only read the wonderful post immediately following my own (Diary Of a Nineteen Year Old), but after reading Marilyn’s blurb it seems like you have a serious empathy and acceptance vibe going on this week. Although I follow tepee already, I either missed this one or was barely awake when I read it, so once I hit send on this comment I’m on my way over for another visit. Then I’ll be back once more to see what Jane and Sheryl have to add to the party.

    Hoping to lead a few new readers to you and the bloggers featured today, I just added a link back here to the bottom of my post with the following words:
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    MANY thanks to Sally G. Cronin for featuring Part I of this article among the others on her Smorgasbord Blogger Daily roundup for the week of March 22nd, 2017. Hop over to learn about a few other posts from bloggers you might enjoy reading – and, whatever your interest, if you aren’t already following Sally you are missing a lot!
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on Jane Risdon and commented:
    Sally Cronin and her fabulous Smorgasbord Blogger Daily supports so many of us every day, as she is sharing my guest Sheryl Browne’s guest spot on my blog today. Thanks to her once more and I do hope you will visit her blog and support her too. Appreciated Sally, as ever.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Smorgasbord Round Up – Bruce Springsteen, The Borgias, Illustrations and New Review series | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

