Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 23rd March 2017 – New Series, Book People, The Drunken Cyclist and Joan Frankham

Smorgasbord Blogger DailyWelcome to my selection of blog posts that I have enjoyed today and I would like to take this opportunity to reshare my post earlier from today on the new series for authors and book reviewers.

I know that reviews are so important and whilst I do share recent reviews for the authors on the Cafe and Bookstore shelves I have noticed that there are a great many bloggers reviewing books prior to putting on Amazon etc.  I have been putting those I see into the Blogger Daily but have now provided a specific post for them.  Also this is open to all authors who might have just received a rave review and want to share in an additional spotlight.

Check out the first post in the series and then get in touch at the email address in the post. Featuring brand new reviews for Kevin Morris, D.G. Kaye and Tina Frisco..

Read the rest of the post:https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/2017/03/23/new-series-smorgasbord-book-promotion-air-your-reviews-kevin-morris-d-g-kaye-and-tina-frisco/

This next post brought back memories.. We lived in Houston in the 1980s and spent a lot of time exploring the state including Austin and San Antonio as favourite destinations. This is the wonderful story of the bookstore started in 1970 and still thriving today having grown and expanded over 40 years.  I still hope to get my Cafe and Bookstore off the ground in reality and take inspiration from the fact that an independent bookstore can still be a driving force in the community.

Every March, we in Texas celebrate the history of our state: the Texas declaration of independence (1836), birth of Sam Houston (1793), and Alamo Heroes Day (1836) all occur this month. After over 40 years serving Austin’s bookish community, we’d like to reintroduce you to our own Texas history. In this series, we take a look at our unique relationship with our community.

On November 11, 1970, two couples opened a small bookstore on the ground floor of a duplex on West 17th street near the University of Texas campus. With a meager budget of only $5,000, they hand-picked their inventory from small presses and focused on alternative politics, political theory, metaphysics, and eastern religions. They named their store Grok Books, from Robert Heinlein’s A Stranger in a Strange Land to promote the idea that engaged reading can foster change and growth in the individual and society.

Read the rest of the story of the Book People: https://bookpeopleblog.wordpress.com/2017/03/23/a-history-of-bookpeople-checking-your-bags-at-the-door-for-over-40-years/

Now onto the subject of Champagne and Sparkling wine.. Mary Smith and I were talking only this afternoon about enjoying some Cava when we meet at the Bloggers Bash in June and I must admit to enjoying the odd glass of bubbly.. Some of the best sparkling wine I have drunk in previous years is top of the range Cava which I could buy very reasonably for around 15Euro in the supermarket. Prior to that however it has to be Korbel sparkling wine that we used to enjoy when living in the States.  Here is a post by The Drunken Cyclist on the subject of American Sparkling wine and whether it is as good as Champagne especially when retailed at a similar price.

I have been around the wine industry for many years now and I hear a common refrain:

“Those who spend more than $25 on an American sparkling wine need to have their head examined.”

Never heard that? Well, you need to hang around me more often because I say it all the time. And I am not the only one. There are many in the wine world that apparently agree with me (I will not cite them here, but check the scores on champagne vs. American sparkling and you will see that I am right….).

Why do I feel that way? Simple. Champagne has marketed themselves very well. Quite simply, most people associate champagne with luxury, quality, opulence, and, well, “the good life.” While some might argue that it is all marketing, I would disagree. There is a reason that champagne has ascended to its rather lofty status: it is good. Very good. Outstanding, even.

For a long time, I have pontificated that American sparklers must compete not only on quality but also on price. In other words: Why buy a bottle of domestic wine unless it is both better and less expensive than its counterpart from the more prestigious region?

For me, that is the question when it comes to domestic sparkling wines.

Find out if American Sparkling wine can compete on taste and price: https://thedrunkencyclist.com/2017/03/23/my-biggest-bias-bubbles/

As we start planning some trips for the better weather (haha…) I am keeping my open for posts on Ireland and recommended places to visit. Here is a post by Joan Frankham as part of the Thursday Doors series.. Waterford is David’s home town and his family history goes back several hundred years and we are looking forward to returning to explore more especially as only a couple of hours away from us here in Wexford.

This photo is of one of the doors into Lismore Castle in County Waterford, of course it’s not the main door of the castle, that door was open and I didn’t manage to get a good shot as there were many people milling around. This castle is one of the residences of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire,and has been in their family since 1753.

Read the rest of the history about Lismore Castle: https://joanfrankham.wordpress.com/2017/03/23/thursday-doors-march-23-2017/

I hope you have enjoyed today’s selection and please feel free to share a link to your latest post in the comments.

9 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 23rd March 2017 – New Series, Book People, The Drunken Cyclist and Joan Frankham

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 23rd March 2017 – New Series, Book People, The Drunken Cyclist and Joan Frankham | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Thanks for the double promo, Sally. Bookpeople caught my eye. My friends owned a bookstore for over 35 years, and the distributor we brought from the most was named Bookpeople. My friends’ store also was deeply rooted in the community and survived long after Amazon and Borders came through. I have great hope for your cafe and bookstore 🙂 ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Smorgasbord Round Up – Bruce Springsteen, The Borgias, Illustrations and New Review series | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

