Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 29th March 2017 – Nicholas Rossis, The Story Reading Ape, Patricia Salamone and C.S. Boyack

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Welcome to today’s look at some of the blog posts I have enjoyed. I tend to have a wide taste in subject matter with books and writing obviously high on the list. But I would love it if you would share either one of your own posts or one that you have enjoyed by another blogger by leaving a link in the comments section of the post.

First is an opportunity to feature two bloggers author Nicholas Rossis with a post on the subject of Endbooks which make opening a print copy unexpected and a great way to segway into the writing. His post was inspired by the blog post by Sarah Laskow’s blog http://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/best-endpapers-design-history

In the endless eBook vs. print debate, one aspect is rarely mentioned: the art of endbooks. And yet, as Sarah Laskow—my favorite Atlas Obscura blogger—points out, these can deliver a small jolt of wonder that perfectly complements a lovely book. An over-eager reader can breeze by even the most striking endbooks, yet they’re an art form with a history all their own.

An ENDuring Hostory

For centuries, designers have taken the formal necessity of joining a book’s pages to its cover and turned it into an opportunity for creativity. When a book is made, one side of an endpaper (sometimes also called an endpage or endleaf) is pasted into the inside of the book’s cover; the other side is the first page of the book.

Read the rest of the post and see more examples of this wonderful way to embellish your books: http://nicholasrossis.me/2017/03/28/the-overlooked-charm-of-endbooks/

The next post is from The Story Reading Ape who invites a wide selection of guests onto his blog to promote their work.  Today he welcomed guests Al and Sunny Lockwood who have turned their travels into a series of fascinating books.

As I gingerly step into my seventh decade on planet Earth, I’m filled with dreams and ready for adventure.

When I was younger, I was eager to do it all — earn college degrees, travel widely, run a business, write books, try all sorts of exciting things. I felt a type of urgency, like if I didn’t do all this stuff right now, I’d never do it and I’d end up old and full of regrets.

Is that do-it-now urgency a typical aspect of youth? I think it may simply be part of a full and fulfilling life no matter what your age. We live in the now, don’t we. While we carry our past with us, and we look forward to tomorrow, the only time we really have is right now to do the things we long for.

In any event, I did all that I’d dreamed of doing. And more. I developed publications for universities, wrote for magazines and even worked as a newspaper editor for a while. I did some skydiving, produced a TV show called “Women Working” at Gill Cable in San Jose, California, and enjoyed interesting friends from California to Main.

Read more about Al and Sunny’s travels that have become fascinating travel books: https://thestoryreadingapeblog.com/2017/03/29/meet-guest-author-sunny-lockwood/

Next Patricia Salamone shares the story of her honeymoon over 40 years ago and some of the unexpected experiences encountered.  I am sure Patricia would love to hear your honeymoon adventures (within reason) so please head over and share.

A HONEYMOON OVER FORTY YEARS AGO

I know many, many people that love to watch horror. I can’t, I have nightmares if I do. However, I can read a scary book without having nightmares but it sort of hangs with me for a while. Many years before I married I read a book called ‘Harvest Home’ by Thomas Tryon. Talk about scary. I’m posting this first for a reason.

When I got married years later and we were on our honeymoon it was January with over twenty inches of snow on the ground. We stayed in a Pocono, Pa. Resort. When we arrived we were taken to our cabin.

Read the rest of this entertaining post and share your own misadventures: https://the-italian-thing.com/2017/03/27/a-honeymoon-over-forty-years-ago/

Author C.S. Boyack welcomed crime thriller writer Sue Coletta to his blog yesterday. Sue talks about The Mystery Surrounding Antlers. Sue is also about to release her latest book and antlers feature so great opportunity to find out more about them and her new book.

Fans of the TV show Hannibal know the cannibal psychiatrist and gourmet chef—although his ingredients are quite questionable—often uses deer antlers to create macabre crime scenes. Some may think the creators of the show stole the idea from HBO’s True Detective, but that isn’t the case. The original idea stemmed from Stephen King. In his 1979 hit Salem’s Lot, King impaled one of the characters with antlers. They say it takes three repetitions to create a trend, and perhaps there’s some truth to that.

Antlers intrigued me enough to write them into my new novel, CLEAVED.

Read more about the mystery of antlers and Sue’s new book: https://coldhandboyack.wordpress.com/2017/03/28/cleaved-by-sue-coletta/

Thanks for dropping by and hope you enjoy reading the posts in the selection.. Don’t forget to leave your link to your most recent post or one that you have enjoyed in the comments section.

17 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 29th March 2017 – Nicholas Rossis, The Story Reading Ape, Patricia Salamone and C.S. Boyack

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 29th March 2017 – Nicholas Rossis, The Story Reading Ape, Patricia Salamone and C.S. Boyack | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Waterford 1930s, Rock Legends 1990s, Authors 2017 | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

