Welcome Blithe Spirit. Hamstahs too.

How would you cope if you woke up and found yourself in 1765.. Shehanne Moore’s heroine Brittany does.. my immediate thought is that I hope I have flea powder, nosepeg and some clean underwear… not to mention my Ipod, laptop and mobile… oh and my…….see I would be useless! Ghosts do you believe in them or not? Tell Shey before she heads up the mountains.  Oh and you had better talk to the Hamstah Dudes too before they put you on the dartboard.

shehanne moore

 

https://t.co/lfBIBofFeU

Welcome Blithe Spirit by Shehanne Moore

 Do ghosts wander the face of the earth?

And if they do, would they be welcomed?

I guess that depends on the writer. Noel Coward certainly turned the idea into a farce in Blithe Spirit, when the dead wife turns up. 

 Daphne du Maurier did something quite different with Rebecca.  Rebecca may not appear as a ghost but her presence clings to every scene. And there is no doubt she casts a huge shadow over her husband, Max. 

And yes, I welcome both these ‘spirited’ ladies because I find them much more interesting than the wives currently in situ, although I might not say that if they came to tea.

Ghosts are said to be restless spirits and the interesting thing is that they exist in every culture, ancient ones especially. Look at the idea of Halloween being the Day of the…

View original post 1,144 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

20 thoughts on “Welcome Blithe Spirit. Hamstahs too.

  1. Sally, thank you so, so much. I am having my mid morning so touched moment here. This is lovely of you. Brittany of course, mainly misses her booze, her fags, her comfy boots, her toothpaste. yeah you name it. When she realises she is not dead, the joy is but momentary…. xxxxxx

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Omg, I love these little dudes! Fantastic post, Shey. Every time I see them decked out in their little duds, I want to pick them up and kiss their little faces. That might not go over well, but it probably wouldn’t stop my trying. I guess they met their match with Brittany 🙂 💚

    Sally, I’d be lost without my guitar (the model hadn’t been made yet) and much of the music I’d surely die without (hadn’t been written yet). I could live without most technology ~ except refrigeration, flush toilets, and showers. I’ll sing you a song if you lend me some clean underwear 🙂 💚

    Liked by 4 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

