Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – Book Reading and Interview – Fantasy Author D. Wallace Peach

Sally's Cafe and Bookstore

Welcome to the weekend edition of the Cafe Author Book Reading and Interview and my guest this week is prolific fantasy writer D. Wallace Peach. Yesterday I featured her latest release Oathbreaker’s Guild – The Rose Shield Book II and before we get into the interview here is a little more about Diana.

D. Wallace Peach was a kid with books in her blood, though she didn’t know it until the day she opened a book titled The Hobbit. Tolkien … literally changed her life.

Diana loves writing and has the privilege to pursue her passion full time. She’s still exploring the fantasy genre, trying out new points of view, playing with tense, creating optimistic works with light-hearted endings, and delving into the grim and gritty what-ifs of a post-apocalyptic world. She wonders if one day she’ll settle into something more predictable. Probably not. It’s simply an uncharted journey, and she hopes you’ll enjoy the adventure as much as she.

In addition to writing books, Diana’s a volunteer, activist, gardener, animal lover, and grandmother to the Overlord. She lives with her husband, two mutts, and Pinky the cat in a log cabin among the giant firs of Oregon’s Coastal Mountains. She loves to laugh and enjoys the worldwide connections fostered by writing and blogging. There’s never a dull moment in the pursuit of peace.

About the new series – The Rose Shield

The Rose Shield Tetralogy – a blend of science fiction and fantasy.

Welcome to a world of three moons, a sentient landscape, rivers of light, and tier cities that rise from the swamps like otherworld flowers. A planet of waterdragons, where humans are the aliens living among three-fingered natives with spotted skin. Where a half-blood converses with the fog and the goddess plans her final reckoning.

Follow Catling’s journey as she grows from childhood into the deadly force that shapes the future. She is the realm’s shield, an influencer, assassin, healer, mother, and avenger. And all she wants is to go home.

Books I and II are now available with Book III on pre-order for April  12th and Book IV for May 12th 2017.

The latest review for Catling’s Bane – Book I of the serial

Catling’s Bane is a highly enjoyable read by D. Wallace Peach. In chapter one, we’re introduced to the protagonist, Catling, on Hanging Day, and event where the onlookers emotions are manipulated until they react to the display with nothing but joy—even those being hanged don’t express regret. Not long afterward, Catling is sold by her mother to man named Scruff, which seemed terrible on the surface, but Catling learns to love her new home.

But it turns out that Catling can block the artificial emotions being broadcast to the populace, and that makes her extremely dangerous to some, and incredibly valuable to others.

This book has solid, creative world-building, and reminds me of the work of Brandon Sanderson. It’s a high fantasy, set in a world built by colonists, and the speculative elements are logical and consistent, but never take up the story. In the end, they showcase the characters and plot, rather than the latter being a vehicle to convey the magic.

The arc merely comes to an end at the finish, but more story is promised, and in Peach’s capable hands is likely to reach a satisfying conclusion. Should appeal to readers who enjoy Sanderson and McCaffrey. I give it four stars.

 Diana has chosen an excerpt from Catling’s Bane for her book reading after the interview.

You can buy and pre-order the Rose Shield Serial via Diana’s author page: https://www.amazon.com/D.-Wallace-Peach/e/B00CLKLXP8

Other books by D.Wallace Peach available through her author page above.

Welcome Diana and lovely to have you here in what must be a very busy time with four books being released over just a couple of months.

Tell us about your chosen genre of books that you write and why?

When I was a kid, my family spent summers in a rustic one-room cabin in Vermont. The place didn’t have running water or electricity but was loaded with used books, most of them science fiction and fantasy, ranging from Tolkien to Asimov. My father purchased them from the local church attic for a nickel each, a bagful at a time. When we weren’t fishing, hiking, and playing board games, we were reading. The genres were natural choices when it came time to write.

What adventures have you had publishing your work?

I started off with a traditional publisher, and I was completely clueless about the entire process. It was a great experience, but after 6 books, I’d learned a few things about the industry, and it became clear to me that I would be happier and more successful as an indie author. Over a year’s time, I cancelled all my contracts and re-released my books. I love being an indie author and have never looked back.

Do you have a favourite quote? What does it means to you as an individual?

I love the J.R.R. Martin quote, “A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.” To me it speaks to the magic of great books, those that make us cry or fall in love. The ones that change our lives, make us experience the world through new eyes, or teach us something about the human condition. My goal is to live a thousand lives plus. How awesome is that!

You state in your bio that Tolkien and The Hobbit literally changed your life. Can you elaborate on that?

I was NOT a reader as a young kid. Books were boring homework assignments. I preferred watching television and back then we only got 3 channels. When I was about 12, a friend suggested that I read The Hobbit. After much eye-rolling, I grudgingly agreed. Well, I devoured that book and the Lord of the Rings trilogy and had my first serious book hangover. Almost overnight, I became an avid reader. None of my adventure in writing would have happened if I hadn’t cracked that book.

What are the key issues when writing a series to keep the readers coming back for more?

I actually don’t write series, in that I don’t write stand-alone stories tied together by a shared “world.” My multi-book events are more accurately described as serials, one massive mega-story spread over 4 books with only partial conclusions at the end of each. For me, writing a serial isn’t that different from writing a stand-alone book except bigger means more complex.

I write the entire story at once to ensure consistency in storyline and character. There are more characters to keep track of and the main ones will have incremental sub-arcs in addition to overall arcs. Alongside the main plot, there are multiple subplots, and the stakes in the overall story escalate over the entire 1000+ pages (think of each book as a mountain to climb, each one taller than the last). To make sure the whole mountain range works, I lay Dan Wells’ 7-Point Story Structure over each book’s outline and over the entire story as a whole. Needless to say, outlining is essential!

Do you feel that your writing style has changed since you wrote your first novel to the present day and in what way?

Absolutely. Like anything we do, we get better with practice. My personal style hasn’t changed much, but my craft is better. I attribute most of the progress to two factors. The first was participating in an active critique group for 5 years. Line-by-line critiques of my work by other authors provided an intense learning experience. The second is working with an outline. Yes, those outlines. An outline keeps me from wandering off on tangents (and, wow, can I do that!). My writing is much tighter and the pace stronger as a result.

Here is the excerpt from Catling’s Bane that Diana has chosen for her book reading.

Smile lines creased Farrow’s cheeks, and she poked a finger at Catling’s chest. “I used to dream of being an influencer, you know. Not to hang people or rob them. If I could bring pleasure or love with a mere thought, imagine that power. I’d be living a life of riches up there with the high ward and his stringed puppets. But I don’t, do I?”

Catling shook her head, uncertain of the woman’s point.

“Now you, Catling.” The fire in Farrow’s eyes flared. “You have a gift. You have power beyond your imagination, and it’s going to lay a claim on your life. People will pull you apart if they can. They’ll all want to use you, even Gannon. I got extra silver in my pocket, don’t I? So you can drop me in there with the lot. Now, here’s my advice as a woman who knows how the world works. Don’t trust anyone. We’re all influencers one way or another, aren’t we? Make up your own mind, Catling, and mind yourself.”

You can buy Books I and II and pre-order the other Rose Shield Serial books via Diana’s author page: https://www.amazon.com/D.-Wallace-Peach/e/B00CLKLXP8

Thanks again, Sally, for the opportunity!

I am sure that you will have your own questions for Diana and please leave these in the comments section of the post for her to respond to.

Connect to Diana on social Media

Website/Blog: http://www.mythsofthemirror.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Myths-of-the-Mirror/187264861398982
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Dwallacepeach
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7068749.D_Wallace_Peach
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/dianapeach33/pins/
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/activities/d-wallace-peach+0_2F1UmSg–qRIqYJlk2W1Q_?trk=nav_responsive_sub_nav_yourupdates
Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/101899993447765818692/posts

Thank you for taking the time to drop in today and it would be great if you could share. Thanks Sally

132 thoughts on “Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – Book Reading and Interview – Fantasy Author D. Wallace Peach

  1. Pingback: Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – Book Reading and Interview – Fantasy Author D. Wallace Peach | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. I have been daunted by Diana’s productivity for three years! Now feel even more so, with this alpine outlined multi dimensional mountain range! Now I know why I write short stories! Great interview. Did I miss the link to a reading? Wanted to hear her voice?

    Liked by 5 people

  3. Fabulous interview with Diana. I have to agree with you Diana, on the way that the books that surrounded us have influence on our preferences as readers as we grow, and in our case, as writers. You were blessed to be surrounded by books that filled your imagination. There were no books in my home, I lived vicariously through my imagination and observations, thus leading to nonfiction writing.
    Thanks for sharing your book writing process here too. I found it interesting how you create your storylines as serials as opposed to standalones or sequels. ❤ 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

    • Your observation is so interesting, Debby, and it makes sense. When I used to work with little kids, it was incredibly clear to me how our early experiences set us on certain paths and established much about who we are and who we will become (with a dose of individuality, of course). I do write stand-alone books and I like those, but for some reason, series are just beyond me! :-). Thanks so much for stopping by, and have a great weekend, my friend. ❤

      Liked by 3 people

  4. Hey Diana! Stories of your cabin in the woods youth, bring back so many memories. Have you ever read Beyond the Farthest Star, by Edgar Rice Burroughs? Most people only associate him with Tarzan, so his sci-fi story is often over looked. To that thought… is there or might there be a genre you would choose to pen, perhaps a single book, where people wouldn’t suspect you would venture?

    Liked by 4 people

    • Thanks for the book recommendation, Annette. You’re right! I only think of Tarzan when I think of Burroughs. Oh, and great question. Ummm… (10 minutes go by staring at the ceiling… ha ha) Well, my writing is kind of violent, but at heart, I’m a true believer in the power of love. So, maybe an epic love story about ordinary people. That would be a shocker! Thanks for the great question. Hugs!

      Liked by 3 people

    • Oh, yay! and oh, yeah! I always wanted to create a sentient planet, Jacqui. I think our own Earth is a wise old gal and wanted to imagine a planet that actually has a voice, which speaks and acts with greater presence as the books progress. Hope you enjoy it! Thanks so much for the great comment. Have a great weekend 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  5. That is a wonderful introduction Sally… “a kid with books in her blood” and now we know how Diana grew up with fantasy and science fiction all around her…thanks to her father who must be a great book-lover himself! Whatever you read in those impressionable years of growing up, goes into your blood.
    I love that J.R.R. Martin’s quote and it has always inspired me to live more lives. Congratulations and wishing you more success Diana. I admire you all the more after reading more about you.

    Liked by 4 people

  6. Great weekend interview with such a talented author (and kind friend), Sally! I’m anxiously awaiting book 1 in the mail. Diana, I adore you even more now that I know you went from traditionally published to indie, just as I did. Sister spirits! I think this interview is a great way to kick off the weekend 🙂

    Liked by 5 people

  7. A lovely author interview with Diana, Sally. I think I must be most unusual as I loved The Hobbit but found Lord of the Rings quite long-winded and the last book a bit boring [I hid my head in shame but this is the truth]. My son, however, loves Lord of the Rings and has also read all of Tolkien’s other books about his fantasy worlds. I wonder, are Diana’s books suitable for a young teenager (14 years old) – I think Greg might really love these books?

    Liked by 4 people

  8. Hello Diana. I wish I could have popped round the cafe, it would have been nice to meet. Maybe one day, who knows. Well I hope it the sun is shining at your end and that Spring is looking beautiful in your garden. It was a pleasure to read from you. It was very interesting!

    Liked by 4 people

  9. Fantastic interview. 🙂 Diana, I’m interested in your process and how you separate “series” from “serial”. Had never thought of it that way. Now I understand how you are able to release these so quickly.

    And I love this: “My personal style hasn’t changed much, but my craft is better.” I feel the same about my writing (hopefully it will carry over into books). Also love your J.R.R. Martin quote. Nice to learn a bit more about you. ❤

    Liked by 4 people

    • I still call the books a series as that’s the term that most people recognize, but “technically” it’s all one story. I started this one two years ago and just hold back until they’re all in the polishing stage. And because it one story, all intimately entwined, I do jump back to book one while working on book four. It’s a pain, but I can’t seem to do it any other way.

      And yes, my craft is better than it was six years ago, and I hope it continues to improve. In this business, there is no such thing as perfect, but there is always something to learn. Thanks for stopping by, Sarah. I hope you’re finding some time to relax. Have a great Sunday. 🙂

      Liked by 4 people

      • Let’s not get into perfection. Agreed. No such thing. But I do love your writing.

        I get the “series” as opposed to your serial story. Like, say, LOTR would be serial and Chronicles of Narnia would be a series. Or, maybe younger books like Magic Tree House would be a series where they are all set in the same place with the same characters but have complete stories in each book. ? I think I’ve got it. 😉 Happy Sunday to you, as well.

        Liked by 4 people

  10. Thanks for highlighting Diana, Sally. I hope some new readers will become aware of her work and check it out. I just posted a review (and reflection) on her recent work, and have known her in the blogosphere for a good while. I’ve read an awful lot in the genre, and she is tops, for sure.

    Diana, funny thing: I know that Vermont home library! Beyond seeing it, I can actually smell it if I try!

    And I hope you’ve thanked your childhood friend profusely for turning you on to books. I can’t imagine you as a couch potato.

    Liked by 3 people

  11. Pingback: Smorgasbord Round Up – Irish History 1930s, Marmalade, The Boss and Brilliant Writers | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  12. Hi, Sally & Diana. Thanks for a marvellous interview both and for asking the questions, Sally.

    Here are my questions for you Diana (I hope you don’t mind two questions). I read a lot of author interviews where the author tells us certain books and authors that have influenced their writing. Are there any TV shows or TV writer’s that have influenced the way you write and what you write about? Do you have a couple of favourite TV shows you can share and recommend to us and tell us what it is about them that make them stand out from other TV shows?

    Thanks so much, both.
    Enjoy the rest of the weekend.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thanks so much for visiting, Hugh. Great question! Well, I’m not much of a tv watcher but there are some shows that I don’t miss a single episode: The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones, Outlander, and Vikings. Do they influence my writing? Probably. They’re all fairly gritty and my books all are on the violent side. I also like the epic and human elements of these stories. They show the best and worst in people, depravity and heroism, the strength of the human will subject to the whims of fate. 🙂 Thanks again for the visit and have a wonderful Sunday!

      Liked by 3 people

      • Thanks for answering those questions, Diana. I ask them because I’ve been reading a lot lately about TV writers who go uncredited. I’ve watched some great TV shows such as The Living & The Dead, The Replacement and Prime Suspect 1973, and I’ve been taken aback by the writing of these programmes. Of course, if it wasn’t for the writer’s of these TV shows, then some of those actors would not have had a job. We get so used to seeing actors and actresses walking down the red carpet but seldom see the writers taking that same walk.

        Happy Sunday. 😎

        Liked by 3 people

  13. Lovely interview, ladies! I could never get into ‘Lord of the Rings’ or ‘The Hobbit’ despite trying several times!
    Diana, you mention that sometimes your writing might be a litte dark and/or violent, do you find that the fantasy genre you enjoy writing, has room for humour too?

    Liked by 3 people

  14. Sally, you are the hostess with the “mostest!”
    You ask great questions! The one about whether an author feels they have changed in their writing was one I particularly liked. 🙂

    Diana, I will always want to follow you into your worlds of magic, intrigue and some terrifying situations or adventures.
    I have never been a big fan of fantasy except Arthurian legends (I love, T. H. White’s “The Once and Future King!” Who knew Lancelot looked like a toad and Guinevere fell for him not because of handsome countenance but due to his kindness and ability to breathe life into a wounded jouster?) The juvenile lit classic, Madeline Engel’s “A Wrinkle in Time,” just mesmerized me. Hope you both have wonderful Easters! 💐🌼🐰 Smiles, Robin

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thanks for visiting, Robin! Lovely to see you as always. Sally is an amazing hostess and it’s been a thrill to spend a day+ over here. I loved reading the Arthurian legends too – it’s a story that never gets old. Would you believe I haven’t read A Wrinkle in Time? I didn’t start reading until I was in my mid-teens so I missed out on a lot of “younger” books. I’ll catch up with the Overlord. 🙂 Happy Easter, my friend. ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  15. Sally and Diana thank you for this very entertaining and enlightening interview. I thoroughly enjoyed hearing about your influences as a youngster, methodology of moving back and forth through a continuous storyscape and your success as an indie author. One of the things I never know how to approach is attracting readers. How do you let them know about your work? As someone who has successfully gone through the process Diana any tips or thoughts you can share?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Well, I’m glad I give the impression that I know what I’m doing. Ha ha. I’m still learning, Paul, and there are certainly people who are better at this than I am. I try to connect genuinely and have fun and that builds relationships which lead to loyalty. But what I’ve noticed more than anything else, is that writing more books leads to more sales. For one, there are more ways for readers to find me. Also, every time I do a promotion and give away downloads, there are a bunch of readers who will keep reading through my list. So, in a nutshell, keep writing and putting your best work out there. It’s slow, but nothing in this business happens quickly. That’s my inexpert opinion. Happy Writing!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Diana that is very sage advice… it is good to know there is no quick fix and that strong work will find its own audience

        Liked by 2 people

  16. Nice to see you, Diana! Your books are beautiful. I must check them out soon. Do you ever feel the need to go back to your earlier books, since your writing evolves after each book, and re-edit them?
    Best of luck with all your books! 😃

    Liked by 2 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

