Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 10th April 2017 – Shallow Reflections, Effrosyni Moschoudi, Marlena Smith and The Travel Blog

Smorgasbord Blogger DailyIt is Easter this week and I thought that I would begin today with this post from Molly of Shallow Reflections on her deeper appreciation for the full Easter package. Whatever religious beliefs we hold, there are certain times of the year that hold more significance than others. I am sure that Molly would love to hear from you about your thoughts on Easter.

I’ve observed over 60 Easter seasons in my life, and my appreciation for this most important event in the Christian calendar has grown over the years.

As a young child, I was excited about Easter because it meant a new outfit, complete with a hat and patent leather shoes. If I was lucky, growing up in Northern Maine, I got to wear it without a snowsuit.

The Easter Bunny didn’t play any role in my childhood and there were no Easter egg hunts or presents. When I was in grade school I do remember poking a hole in the bottom of eggs, blowing out the insides, dying them pastel colors, and eating scrambled eggs for breakfast for what seemed like an eternity.

I had a stretch in my life when I didn’t attend church regularly. I was not even a Christmas and Easter Christian but lost in the world of not needing any spiritual discipline or guidance to live my life. That didn’t work out too well but I’ll save those details for my future memoir.

Anyway, now I attend a United Methodist Church and next week is Holy week. I procrastinated about giving something up for lent this year and alas I’ve missed that stained glass window of opportunity. Note to self: Next year, give up procrastination.

Read the rest of Molly’s reflections on Easter: http://www.shallowreflections.com/deeper-appreciation-full-easter-package/

It is also this time of year that we think about where we might be going in the summer. I have great hopes for ours this year as last summer was pretty awful. I know the rain will be warmer! Effrosyni Moschoudi has a wonderful post about a place that she highly recommends. Moraitika, Corfu and she has provided details of where to stay, eat plus all the places to visit and links for local tourist services.  As the song goes… My bags are packed and I’m ready to go…..Not only that but in the post you will find a link to download a free copy of Effrosyni’s book The Ebb.. The Lady of the Pier Trilogy Book 1

THE INSIDER’s GUIDE TO MORAITIKA, CORFU!

Looking for a Greek holiday of sea, sun, relaxation and fun? You can’t do better than Moraitika. Here you will find everything you need to know: where to stay, where to eat, what to see and lots more! Make sure to scroll all the way down.

A FREE, award-winning novel set in Moraitika awaits you there. My gift to you for visiting my guide today!

Welcome to Moraitika, Corfu – my favorite corner of the world! This is the place where I spent many summers of my early life with family and friends. Nowadays, I return every summer to revisit old fond memories, but mostly to enjoy the serenity of the setting, and to swim in Corfu’s crystal, sparkling waters. I love Moraitika so much, that I had to write a book or two about it! Forget your worries for a while. Sit back, relax and check out this short (yet comprehensive!) guide. I hope the pictures delight you and give you a good idea as to why I call this place a paradise on earth.

Find out all about this glorious place: http://effrosyniwrites.com/your-guide-to-moraitika-corfu/

Now for an author interview. Janice Spina was the guest of Marlena Smith this weekend and talks about how she began writing and her award winning children’s books, short stories and novels.

I am honored, Marlena, to be here today to do a guest post on your blog. Thank you for having me.

Let me introduce myself. I am a wife, mother, grandmother, sister, aunt, cousin, friend, author, reader, book reviewer, copy editor, and blogger. I write under Janice Spina for children and YA and under J.E. Spina for novels for 18+.

As long as I can remember I loved to write. I began this love at the age of nine in the form of poetry and greeting cards. My mother enjoyed receiving my homemade cards for her birthday and Mother’s Day. Her encouragement was all I needed as my poem collection grew. Unfortunately, I don’t have any of these original poems. They were lost when we moved.

Read the rest of the always interesting interview with Janice: https://mylife428.wordpress.com/2017/04/09/meet-author-janice-spina/

Image from Pinterest

I thought we would finish with another Easter themed blog post but this one on the various traditions around the world from Craig Makepeace of Travel Blog.

Can you believe Easter is almost upon us? Where has the beginning of 2017 gone, didn’t we just have Christmas?!

With less than two weeks until Easter Sunday, our kids certainly don’t hold back in reminding us, and I can hear chants of, “What do we want? Chocolate! When do we want it, now!

All around Australia kids are getting excited about Easter Egg hunts, participating in their schools Easter bonnet parade or attending the Sydney Royal Easter Show.

For us Aussies, Easter is also the first school holidays since the Christmas break and a time we like to travel and getaway over the long weekend with our families and enjoy the last warm days before winter arrives.

While this may be the norm in Australia, Easter is celebrated around the world in a surprising variety of ways, with traditions differing from country to country according to their ethnic and cultural origins.

Check out these 13 Easter traditions from around the globe and the history behind them : https://www.ytravelblog.com/easter-celebrations/

Hope you have enjoyed today’s selection and if you have an Easter related post then please put a link in the comments. Thanks Sally

19 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 10th April 2017 – Shallow Reflections, Effrosyni Moschoudi, Marlena Smith and The Travel Blog

  1. Thank you so much for including me today in your Blogger Daily post. Ironically my post is on the serious side and I write mostly humor. But I do like to dabble in a serous topic on occasion to flex my writing muscles. Once again, Sally, I’m delighted to be a visitor on your blog!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It is so kind of you to include my free book offer and travel guide to Corfu in your post, Sally. Thank you so much. I was also delighted to see Corfu was included in the travel blog post by Shallow Reflections . Highly recommended to sample Corfu Easter even once, though it can be addictive, beware 😉 My English husband is Methodist but here in Greece he is happy to follow the wonderful Easter festivities that take place all over the country. Easter here is the brightest holiday, even more than Christmas. Have a great Easter 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: Smorgasbord Round Up – Dame Shirley Bassey, Easter Treats, Music Memories | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

