Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 13th April 2017 – The Story Reading Ape, Jean Cogdell, D.G. Kaye, Opinionated Man and Rowena of Beyond the Flow

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Welcome to the last Blogger Daily this week and I am going to be taking a small break over the weekend. I will be around to respond to comments and boost the usual weekend posts but I am also combining some fun, chocolate and finishing off my next book over the three days.

In the meantime here is my short selection of interesting posts I have encountered that I hope you will head over and finish reading on the original blogs.

This post was highlighted this morning by The Story Reading Ape… Thanks Chris.. (https://thestoryreadingapeblog.com/) and on the very unlikely chance that you are not following the Ape.. trust me there are some wonderful promotional opportunities awaiting you.

This post is from author Jean Cogdell who regularly posts about writing processes and guidance.  She has found 18 very useful links for you.

Do you need help with your latest writing project?  Search no further!

I’ve found a site that might have just what you’re looking for.

Check out the following website that contains 18 tips, and PDF documents on topics related to writing fiction.

Write a Novel, a resource created by Crawford Kilian starts off with hard truths for writers but don’t be discouraged, there is something for every writer. He even touches on understanding contracts.

My favorites:

#4. Storyboarding.
Storyboarding is something I struggle with. Putting my scenes onto small cards is a big challenge.

Read the rest of the tips and this very useful post: https://jeanswriting.com/2017/04/12/do-you-need-help-with-your-latest-writing-project/

Lovely to see and hear so many bloggers sharing their musical memories and one of my nominees Debby Gies has brought us two songs with deep meaning for her.

I’m a romantic at heart and since I was a child, always loved all the ‘mushy’ love songs. When I was in my twenties I fell in love with the beautiful, voice of Luther Vandross. I had many favorite songs sung by him, but one in particular always resonated with me, So Amazing, because not only his smooth, romantic, passionate voice moved me, but the lyrics are about a love song that speaks about finally finding a true love. At that time in my life, I had yet to find my true love but the song had me dreaming of that one day that I might.

 Find out the two songs the Debby has chosen: https://dgkayewriter.com/ive-been-musically-challenged-songs-bringing-back-memories/

I love reblogging and I also like to share blogs in my daily round up – I love it when my posts are reblogged to. I write for other people and the more that get to see it the better. Only part of your post is shared and then people have to come over to you to read the rest.. usually they stay and become part of your blogging community.. Help us share your work and read what Opinionated Man has to say on the subject.

Why is reblogging so important?

Think of WordPress like a river and from that river come smaller streams that are each individual’s personal “reader.” The Reader is that button in the top left corner that takes you to all the active posts being shared publicly by tag or that you follow. The word “active” is important in this sentence because the posts are shown in real time, as they are being posted, unless you are lucky and get placed into these new features they are creating.

Most of us Users use the reader to store and separate the bloggers from the other bloggers we don’t read… like Gary.

Read on and find out what does the reblog button do in this situation? https://aopinionatedman.com/2017/04/13/enable-your-reblog-button/

Rowena of Beyond the Flow is taking an alphabetical tour around Tasmania and today she is exploring the Jail Journal of John Mitchel.  However, that post led me back to a previous post that explained who John Mitchel was.

Tasmania has its secrets and I’m starting to wonder whether it has more secrets than most.

While its brutal convict heritage is much publicized and has even become a tourist draw card, there are so many surprises once you scratch the beneath the surface. As I’ve mentioned before, the brutal conflict between the indigenous Tasmanian Aborigines and settlers known as the Black Wars was largely forgotten and not even covered up.

Another facet of Tasmania’s history I knew very little about before I met Geoff, was its strong pockets of Irish settlement. There were areas with notably high concentrations of Irish settlers, especially around Westbury, Deloraine and Irish Town. These were towns where names like Murphy, Griffin, Lyons, Burke and O’Sullivan flowed from Irish tongues.

In addition to these settlers and emancipated convicts, Irish political prisoners were also exiled to Van Dieman’s Land.

So, today we’re actually not visiting a place. Rather, we’re jumping into our time machine and turning the clock back somewhere around the 1850s and hooking up with these exiles.

Read this post first: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2017/04/11/i-irish-nationalists-in-tasmania/

and then follow up with this one: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2017/04/14/j-jail-journal-a-z-challenge/

This will be it for the Blogger Daily until Monday. Have a wonderful Easter Weekend. I shall be in and out.. chocolate smeared probably!  thanks Sally

19 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 13th April 2017 – The Story Reading Ape, Jean Cogdell, D.G. Kaye, Opinionated Man and Rowena of Beyond the Flow

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 13th April 2017 – The Story Reading Ape, Jean Cogdell, D.G. Kaye, Opinionated Man and Rowena of Beyond the Flow | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 13th April 2017 – The Story Reading Ape, Jean Cogdell, D.G. Kaye, Opinionated Man and Rowena of Beyond the Flow | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  3. Thanks so much Sal for inviting me to the challenge and for sharing here as always. You da best! Rock on with your next book my friend! I finally managed to slug out 3000 words in these past 2 days. Felt great to get back to book writing. Happy Easter again my friend. 🙂 xoxo ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you so much for the shout out and reblog, Sally. Much appreciated and encouraging and I needed a bit of encouraging to keep on my A-Z because the Irish side was threatening to lead me astray. However, that’s a huge project, which needs to be nibbled off in bites.
    Wishing you a Blessed and Happy Easter enjoying your chocolate and writing.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Smorgasbord Round Up – Dame Shirley Bassey, Easter Treats, Music Memories | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

