Easter Eggheads – a literary quiz

Jessica Norrie has a terrific literary quiz for you this week.. there is more than a few that have me stumped… will have to hit Google.. If you find that you have run out of chocolate and have time on your hands this weekend.. this will reactivate your brain cells.. #recommended.

jessicanorrie

Eggs 7It’s Easter Bank Holiday so what better time for a quiz – questions are in rough chronological order of publication. I hope you’ll recognise our sacrifice here at Blogger Towers, where although our waistlines had decided against Easter eggs and Simnel cake we’ve now bought them purely for illustration purposes. I’ll post the answers next week, if anyone cares:

  1. Who printed a story in which a “good wyf” from Southern England thought a merchant from the North was speaking French, because he asked for eggys which she knew as eyren?
  2. Who shouts: “What, you egg! […] Young fry of treachery!” and what is he doing to whom as he shouts it?
  3. Which Shakespearean hero shares his name with a famous egg dish?
  4. Who rode westward on Good Friday 1613?
  5. Who met Mephistopheles when on an Easter walk with Wagner?
  6. At the beginning of which children’s story from 1854 is the King…

View original post 316 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

5 thoughts on “Easter Eggheads – a literary quiz

  1. Well I got the second one there cos in another life I once played Lady Macduff and the guy who had that line used to mix it up every night. I can still see him standing at the foot of the spiral staircase with that,, ‘shit I just corpsed this again,’ look on his face as, he said ‘What, you fry. Young egg of treachery,’ and I tried to look terrified…..

    Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

