‘The Power of Meaning: Crafting a Life that Matters’ by Emily Esfahani Smith #TuesdayBookBlog #bookreview

An excellent example of an honest review but which has constructive elements that offers readers a chance to make their own decision to buy or not.

Alison Williams Writing

cover

Amazon.co.uk   Amazon.com

There is a myth in our culture that to find meaning you have to travel to a distant monastery or wade through dusty volumes to figure out life’s great secret. The truth is, there are untapped sources of meaning all around us: right here, right now. Drawing on the latest research in positive psychology; on insights from George Eliot, Viktor Frankl, Aristotle, the Buddha and other great minds, Emily Esfahani Smith identifies four pillars upon which meaning rests: Belonging, Purpose, Storytelling and Transcendence. 

She also explores how we can begin to build a culture of meaning into our families, our workplaces and our communities.

Inspiring and full of contemporary examples, The Power of Meaning will strike a profound chord in anyone seeking a richer, more satisfying life.

I have to admit that I’m not really a great fan of the whole idea of ‘self-help’, mainly because I feel it…

View original post 289 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

5 thoughts on “‘The Power of Meaning: Crafting a Life that Matters’ by Emily Esfahani Smith #TuesdayBookBlog #bookreview

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

