Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – Poetry Reading and Interview – Judy E. Martin

Sally's Cafe and Bookstore

Delighted to welcome Judy E. Martin to the Cafe today for her poetry reading and interview. It has been a bitter sweet week for Judy as she has left her community nursing teams behind as she begins her three year nursing university course. Very exciting and all of us in her other community of writers wish her every success.

Time to introduce Judy to those of you who might not have met her before. From my experience Judy spreads light and sunshine with her witty and very funny Poetry and then draws you in with some pathos that makes you relate to issues in your own life. As you will see her heroines had the same ability and we all hope that despite this new and important project ahead, she will still have time to entertain us.

Don’t forget that this is an interactive interview and Judy would love to have your questions about her work and new venture.. Please leave in the comments.. thanks.

The official version

Judy E Martin is in her (very) early fifties and has just entered a new phase in her life. She has recently worked as an Associate Practitioner (Nursing) in the both hospital and community settings and loves it, finally finding her niche. She has just started on a new adventure as a ‘mature student’ deciding to take that final step and study for her Nursing Degree.

She has in the past, done everything from serving as a soldier in the Women’s Royal Army Corps, to helping manage a kebab shop!

Judy has been writing humorous poems since she was a little girl. She has always had a love of words and finds expressing herself through rhyme is so appealing. She enjoys the rhythm of the words as they dance to her tune.

She draws her inspiration from everyday events that most of us can relate to and puts her unique spin on it. Her large family is often her inspiration, as is the weather, the seasons, housework, even sex. No subject is safe from manipulation into verse!

Judy lives in the beautiful county of Kent with her long-suffering husband Bob, (Mr Grump), daughter Lucinda (Miss Hap), and not forgetting Roxy, the beautiful Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, all of whom have found their way into her poems.

About Rhymes of the Times

Are you one of those people that barge through life, trying to get through it as best as you can, swimming against the everyday worries and stresses of life? Well, I have found a way to make it much more enjoyable. Don’t you think everything sounds better when it rhymes? I certainly do. In fact, I have found that everything from doing the housework to growing older, can sound more positive and less daunting when made into a little ditty. This book is about finding the humour, or raising a smile from the everyday things that we can all relate to in life, and looking at them from a different perspective. Nothing escapes versification; there is even a subject on sex! After all, that is one subject where there is plenty of room for laughter, even if it may not be the right moment!

One of the reviews for the collection which sums up the tone of the book very well.

If you love rhyming poetry, and a bloody good laugh, this book is for you. Short at just 61 pages, you could get through it during a cuppa and I promise you will laugh the whole way through. Martin is a master at rhyme, and also with twists, there were a few poems with unexpected endings, one particular line caught my eye for its clever analogy:

“Then autumn comes a-calling
And it starts a slow striptease”

GENIUS!

The book has a variety of themed sections, my favourite being the women’s section which had some outrageous and utterly brilliant poems. My other fave was called Sexting, which made me spit my cuppa everywhere!  Brilliant, a must read for any poetry fan.

Read all the reviews and buy the book: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01CLXLPMU

Time to meet Judy in person and enjoy her poetry reading.

Thanks so much Sally for having me over to be interviewed for your ‘Book reading at the Café’ feature. I feel very privileged to be a part of this new and exciting venture.

Firstly, here is a poem from my book that I wrote on reaching the milestone of being 50 years old.

Today is the day I turn fifty
And I am not going to get all depressed
There are plenty of things to look forward to
And these are the ones I like best!
You are handy to have in a pub quiz
You know all the old movies and songs
Your trivia knowledge is awesome
Because you’ve been around for so long!
You are allowed to be quite eccentric
Nobody minds if you’re odd
They just think you are a bit quirky
Or perhaps just a silly old sod!
You don’t have to always look glamorous
Because nobody looks anymore
You don’t have to spend hours getting ready
Before you can step out the door.
So although I’ve reach that half century
I’ve see no need to be sad
For I still feel life is for living
And there’s lots more fun to be had!

I have selected the following questions to answer to give you more of an insight about who inspires me, and why I enjoy writing poetry.

If you are a poet, please tell us about others who have inspired you to write and give an example of their work.

Both of my biggest influences are from my childhood. Growing up in the 1970s, there were two women who were utterly outstanding, and every time I saw them on TV I would be riveted by their performance. The whole family would be laughing and that is something that I learned from an early age. Laughter brings everyone together, and it has stayed with me ever since.

The first of these women is Pam Ayres. What I love about her is the silliness of her poetry. She talks about anything and everything, but her delivery in a broad West Country accent brings a whole lot more to the poem. The fact that she often laughs whilst reciting her poems gets me laughing even more!

Here is an example of her work.  Oh I wish I’d looked after my teeth!

The other woman is the late Victoria Wood. This multi-talented woman is a comic, actress, poet and writer amongst many other things. I could name numerous things that she has done that I admire, but one of my favourites has to be this song. Whenever I hear it, I laugh from start to finish. Victoria also has the knack of making fun out of anything no matter what the subject.

What appeals to you about writing short stories?

I am not a very good storyteller in the conventional sense as I lack the imagination to be able to grip a reader in order for them to engage with the story. However, I find that truth is often stranger than fiction, and most people like to have a laugh. This is where I can combine my love of rhyme with my sense of the ridiculous, and recount anecdotes or observations in a verse or ditty. These are short and enable the reader to dip in and out of them at will.

I have rabbited on a bit (as usual) so will now move on to answering the personal questions that Sally has asked me.

You were an associate nurse in the community and from your posts clearly enjoyed the role. What gave you the most satisfaction about the job?

There were many rewards associated with my job. One of the things that gave me satisfaction was seeing someone get better. We had a patient whose legs we had been dressing almost daily for the past year. A couple of weeks ago the left leg had finally healed and the right one was almost there. I was part of a wonderful team that worked together to do the very best for our patients.

Your poems take a slice of life and wrap it in humour. How important do you think laughter is to us from a health perspective?

We have all heard of the old saying that laughter is the best medicine, but in my opinion, there is a lot of truth there. Whenever I go to see a patient, I always try to be cheerful and jolly, and if appropriate, make little jokes with them. To see them smile or laugh makes me happy as well, so everyone benefits. It helps to lift their mood, and makes them feel included and valued as well.

We obviously enjoy your poetry on your blog and you no doubt have another collection in the works. Do you have any other writing plans, such as a novel in mind for the future?

I took part in NaNoWriMo(National Novel Writing Month) some time ago, and did actually finish it and write a novelette. It was based on truth so the story rather poured out of me as I remembered it, plus I embellished it a little. I have never done anything like that before so it was very rough and unpolished. I did edit it quite a bit but didn’t really know what I was doing! I had some very useful advice and tips from some very talented authors though, and maybe one day, it might end up published!

I will of course, still be bashing out my poems on a regular basis as they are something that I enjoy doing immensely.

Links to connect with Judy on social media.

Twitter https://twitter.com/Edwinasepisodes
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/judy.martin.35110
Pinterest: https://uk.pinterest.com/judym1966/

My thanks to Judy for sharing her work and story and I am sure you join me in wishing her every success in her training to be a qualified nurse.

This is an interactive interview so please leave your questions in the comments section and Judy will answer over the next few days.  Thank you for joining us.  Sally

 

89 thoughts on “Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – Poetry Reading and Interview – Judy E. Martin

  1. Judy is a wonderful poet!!!! I love that she can write a story in rhyme!!! My blog sis is extremely talented!!!!
    So my question… will you put out another volume of poetry? And how are you keeping your writing up with your new uni work schedule?? Xxxx

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Judy- thanks for starring my morning with a smile! I liked your poem about turning 50. When Inturned 50 my younger son wrote on my card “50 years to 100”. So there you go! What amazing things do you dream of doing in these next 50-plus years?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Jena, I am glad that you enjoyed my poem.
      It seems that there are many more things for us fifty-somethings to look forward to. What a great idea from your son putting in things from 50-100
      I am hoping to become a registered nurse finally, and continuing with my rewarding career. (At the rate we are going over here, it will be quite some time before I get to retire)!
      I can’t wait to be a gramdma too (not for a while yet though). I am looking forward to seeing my daughter grow up and becoming everything she dreams to be!

      Liked by 3 people

  3. Wonderful interview with Judy. I’m sure patients are lucky to have her as their nurse, not only for her compassion, but a little humor goes a long way to make someone’s day. Wishing Judy good luck on her new course. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Oh Judy… I do believe you are an Angel of Laughter! So, to that end, any thoughts about considering doing some stand-up at clubs in your area? After all, you’ve such grand role models in Pam and Victoria. You could do a whole routine about nursing not being a joke… Ladies and Gentlemen, heeeeeeeeeere’s Judy!

    Liked by 4 people

  5. So lovely to learn more about you Judy. I really enjoy the humour in your poetry. Is it quite difficult to market a book of poetry? I ask because a lot of publishers say on their sites that they don’t publish poetry, not even verse books for children.

    Liked by 4 people

    • Hi Robbie, I woould just like to say how much I enjoy the fact that you mix verse and food, which are two key ingredients for success if ever there were some!
      I really did not have any idea about pubishing a book, let alone marketing one, and I know that there are many publishers that are not interested in poetry. However, many people had mentioned to me that maybe I should publish a book of my own as I had written so many poems
      I took that step and self-published, and it was such a delight seeing my words in a book, my own book!
      I am afraid, I am not a natural when it comes to marketing or self-promotion and if I were to publsih another book I would seek more advice on that side of things. We are lucky that in our commmunity we have a few peoople who are knowledgable in these areas!

      Liked by 3 people

  6. Hi Judy. Brilliant poem- laugh out loud and a very intimate interview that really showed a lot of you as a person- which made for an enjoyable read. I want to ask do you think your choice of nursing for a profession and your wit and humour are in any way related?

    Liked by 3 people

  7. I love your sense of humor, Judy. Have you considered writing a book of humorous anecdotes from your nursing practice? I have many funny stories from my years of nursing and have often thought about writing them; though I should have done it when I was still able to recall all of them! Best of luck to you in obtaining your degree 🙂 ❤

    Thank you for this wonderful series, Sally ❤

    Liked by 3 people

  8. Hi Tina.
    Thanks so much for your question. It is a shame you have forgotten some of your funny nursing stories, as they are a fantastic idea for a book. I might start writing some of them down actually as I have a couple I thought of straight away, and maybe one day I might have enough for a book…. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  9. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round up – Let’s walk a marathon, Shirley Bassey, Marc Bolan and magical writers | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  10. Lovely to see Judy in the book reading cafe, Sally. Poetry is something I find very difficult to write, so I always enjoy reading Judy’s poetry, especially when I end up laughing at the humour she mixes into her words. My question for you, Judy, is how long does it take you to write a poem when somebody gives you a subject or object to write about?

    BTW – Love, love, both Pam and Victoria. I was lucky enough to see Victoria Wood in concert several times. I’ve not stopped laughing since. 😀

    Liked by 3 people

  11. I couldn’t find a reply link to reply to your comment, Judy (probably because I’ve been talking too much to Sally about Social Media) so this may show as a new comment.
    Thanks for answering my question. 10-20 minutes is amazing. Just shows how very talented you are with writing poetry. As you know, it’s one of my weak points when it comes to my writing, but I’ll occasionally have a go and I do enjoy writing the odd haiku. I hope we do see the second volume of poetry from you.
    What’s your Flipboard username, as I’d like to follow you over there?

    Liked by 3 people

  12. I’m late to finding this page but I love this book of poems. I have copied a couple inside birthday cards… full credit given of course. The recipients found them very apt and I believe one went on to buy the book. Best wishes with the studying, Judy. X

    Like

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

