The Colour of Life – Work on a Timber Gang – 1942 by Geoff Cronin

Work on a Timber Gang – 1942In September 1942 I had just left school and had decided I was going into the National Forestry Service. I made an application and found that I would not be admitted to the forestry college at Avondale, Co. Wicklow, unless (a) I was a farmer’s son, or (b) I had experience in forestry. I could not meet either of these criteria, and so I decided to join a timber gang and gain the necessary experience.The war was at its height and at the time timber was at a premium both for firewood and for commercial purposes. Consequently there was a lot of activity on farms and estates, which had saleable timber and so there were many timber gangs active in my area.

Source: The Colour of Life – Work on a Timber Gang – 1942 by Geoff Cronin

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

15 thoughts on “The Colour of Life – Work on a Timber Gang – 1942 by Geoff Cronin

  1. My father worked timber gangs as a teen in the late 30’s in the CCC (Civilian Conservation Corps). He earned $24 a month. They lived in military barracks in military routine and were given uniforms. I wonder if this was a pre WW 2 preparation in the mind of FDR to at least have some men with army like experience in the approaching war period.

    Liked by 2 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

