Guest author – Paul Andruss: The Story of Thomas the Rhymer

Paul Andruss is the guest post of Sue Vincent today and if you have wondered about the origins of his book Thomas the Rhymer,Paul explains all in this post. A fascinating story of a time when believing in other worldly creatures was perfectly normal. We have become cynical…but I still believe. #recommended

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

I was recently lucky enough to be interviewed by Sally Cronin.

https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/2017/04/12/sallys-cafe-and-bookstore-author-book-reading-and-interview-paul-andruss/

At the end of the interview, my good friend Sue asked a thought provoking question: what drew me to the ideas behind Thomas the Rhymer?

To be honest Sue’s incisive question left me realising I have forgotten a lot about why I wrote the book in the first place. I was long overdue a trip down memory lane.

Sue certainly deserved a much better answer than I provided at the time. And what better place to post it!

The Legend of Thomas the Rhymer

Thomas the Rhymer is a 17th century Scottish ballad collected by folklorist Francis Child in 1883 as part of his exhaustive compendium of English and Scottish Ballads. The ballad comes from a first person account written in the 1400s. It is allegedly by Scotland’s greatest prophet; Thomas of Erceldoune, also known as True Thomas…

View original post 1,667 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

2 thoughts on “Guest author – Paul Andruss: The Story of Thomas the Rhymer

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

