Weekly Image and Thoughts – The Magnolia – Sally Cronin

My thanks to Paul Andruss for letting me indulge my play with words with another of his beautiful plants from his garden.  Here is what he has to say about it..

The Magnolia is Magnolia Susan, it has a scent of honey, rose and lemon. Magnolias were one of the first flowering plants and come from the time of the dinosaurs (Cretaceous). Flowering plants caused the arrival of bees and so the two have been developing in a symbiotic relationship ever since. Archaeologists opened a 5,000 year tomb in China. Among the grave goods was a jar of magnolia seeds. They planted them and although they had been dormant for 5,000 years some germinated. Because man has been breeding and developing plants for all this time this particular variety was extinct (it is not the one pictured it was a white flowered one)… when it grew the species came back from the dead.

And here is my haiku

Catch up with Paul: http://www.paul-andruss.com/

You can find all my play on words: https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/images-and-thoughts/

This entry was posted in Poetry and Haiku and tagged , by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

26 thoughts on “Weekly Image and Thoughts – The Magnolia – Sally Cronin

  1. Oh, I had no idea this lovely flower dates back to dinosaurs time! Thank you for the info and I loved the “prehistoric honey trap” definition he gives it.
    Have a peaceful weekend!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Weekly Image and Thoughts – The Magnolia – Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

