Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – New on the Shelves – A Minger’s Tale by R.B.N. Bookmark

The new author for the bookstore today is R.B.N. Bookmark who has written a memoir that shares his childhood growing up in Manchester in the 1960s. A path that was not always easy but clearly from the reviews, humour also played an important role. A Minger’s Tale: Beginnings  was released in March 2016 in print and Kindle.

About the book

If only he knew where God lived, he would urinate in his letterbox! Growing up is a difficult time in the life of Ribban Bookmark, this book traces his journey down a Minger Highway, signposted with humour and littered with roadkill oneliners.

Two of the most recent reviews

Hilarious! ByAmazon Customeron April 5, 2017

“Hilarious! I was pulled into this book right from the beginning by the funny prose and the stripped-down style of writing. It paints a picture of growing up in the mid-20th century in England that reminds me of a classic sitcom or something. But one of those that you had to sneak downstairs and watch after your parents went to bed.

Ribban Bookmark ( a pseudonym that was so hilarious that I chuckled every time I read it, honestly) had a hard life. The son of two Irish immigrants, Ribban grew up in Manchester, England in the 1950’s and 60s. He had a very hard scrabble childhood but the stories don’t come across as grim since he brings out the more comedic moments of them wonderfully. Being American and much younger than the author, I was worried going into this book that I wouldn’t understand a lot of the lingo but he brings the reader along for the ride, explaining things when they might be more confusing and HELPFULLY explaining a lot of the language that would have been impossible for me to understand otherwise. I had heard the word, ‘Minger’, however, before reading this and the title was what actually made me pick it up in the first place (or download it, as it were).

I did not know, as Ribban illustrates, that the word apparently means: “Someone who fell out of the ugly tree at birth and hit every branch on the way down.” Like I said, that kind of self-flagellating humor that had me dying laughing throughout the book. I loved all of the characters, (especially his mother. She was a riot) but the witty, gritty prose was what sold this as 5 stars to me. Like Bookmark says in the beginning, “If only I knew where God lived, I’d show my dissatisfaction by pissing in his letterbox.”

Well written, full of humor, and tragic By Teddy on April 7, 2017

Wow, I thought I had a rough time as a kid. What I endured was not much compared to what R.B.N. Bookmark (Ribban) endured. First, it’s important to know the definition of a “Minger”. “A minger is a male or female who fell out of the ugly tree at birth and hit every branch on the way down.” When I read that, I envisioned the old ‘Road Runner’ cartoons. That poor Coyote always got hurt in the end. He hit every rock, fell off cliffs, exploded, etc. It was funny! The different was that Coyote got what he deserved for going after Roadrunner. Ribban did not usually go looking for trouble but it found him. He was born into it.

With humor, Ribban tells his story of growing up in one of the poorest parts of England, Manchester. Life was hard and the people in it did not make it any easier. The entire neighborhood seemed like one big dysfunction from the way Ribban describes it. I laughed so much at his expense and antics, he wants the reader to. He lightens the load while still telling his truth. Sure, there were times he got to laugh as a kid but not as much as I laughed reading his story. I felt sad for what he had to go through.

It takes a lot of talent to make comedy out of tragedy but that is just what Ribban has achieved. I admire his courage and his ability to make a better life as an adult. ‘A Minger’s Tale’ is well written, full of humor, and tragic. It reminds me somewhat of ‘Running With Scissors’ by Augusten Burroughs. I highly recommend ‘A Minger’s Tale’!

Read all the reviews and buy the book: https://www.amazon.com/R.B.N.-Bookmark/e/B01IPV2RIS

About R.B.N Bookmark

“Do greener pastures exist for the colour blind – and how would they ever know?”

I grew up in the city of Manchester in north west England.

The eldest of 3 siblings to Irish immigrants, my story has at times resembled that of a blind man piecing a jigsaw puzzle together….. with bits missing!

It has taken me many years to find those missing pieces, and it is only now in my late 50`s I`m finally able to write an account of that turbulent period in english history I unwittingly found myself a part of.

The story of Ribban Bookmark begins in the 1960s in post war Manchester, he fails brilliantly at school…..top of the class even – depending ofcourse on which way you are looking up.

His approach to life is haphazard and unfocussed…..he is a dyslexic in denial.
Like a dog looking for a lamp post in a blackout, his search for paradise results in damp feet and foot fungus.

A Minger´s Tale-Beginnings is the first part in this tale of meandering mayhem, misery and mirth.

# In 2016 I had my first short story published in an anthology by Bridge House publishers – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Salford-Stories-Gill-James/dp/1907335447

 Connect to R.B.N. Bookmark

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/R.B.N.-Bookmark/e/B01IPV2RIS
Blog: https://rbnbookmark.wordpress.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/rbnbookmark

I am sure you will join me in welcoming RBN to the bookstore and it would be great if you could share please.. thanks Sally

If you wish to join the other authors in the bookstore then please check this out.

https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/sallys-cafe-and-bookstore/

25 thoughts on “Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – New on the Shelves – A Minger’s Tale by R.B.N. Bookmark

  1. Pingback: Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – New on the Shelves – A Minger’s Tale by R.B.N. Bookmark – Grass never grows on a busy street

  2. Pingback: Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – New on the Shelves – A Minger’s Tale by R.B.N. Bookmark | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  3. RBN was one of my first writer friends on Twitter. He is always friendly, supportive, and encouraging. The Minger’s Tale is one of the best coming-of-age books I have read. Although as a Mom, I worried about the guy! But, he turned out fine. All the best to you RBN. And thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Jena, it is always a pleasure talking to you……indeed you hold pride of place as one of my very first reviewers 🙂

      All the best and continued good luck to you with The Golden Age of Charlie series which I think is knockout.

      bookmark.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. If only he knew where God lived, he would urinate in his letterbox! This is so funny, Sally. I read this review with great interest as I love books about people growing in England. This one sounds great, light hearted but with a solid message.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  6. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Evolution, Rebellion and The Colour of Life | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

