Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 2nd May 2017 – Lost Hearts and Souls, Jennie Fitzkee, Coach Muller and Sarah Brentyn

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Welcome to my selection of blog posts that I think you might find interesting.. the first is from the Lost Hearts and Souls Blog. It is not just a stunning piece of writing but it is a post that any daughter or son with elderly parents should read. There comes a time very often when roles reverse and a child becomes the person who has to make decisions and ensure the safety of their parent. This post relates an incident from childhood that reflects on that role of parent and child and then fast forwards to the end of life decisions that sometimes have to be made in the face of both medical and family efforts to prolong a life that is now unsustainable and filled with pain.  Not an easy topic but one that is dealt here with compassion, written by a nurse who has witnessed both sides of this very difficult situation.

The wind had picked up and the pathway was receding in defeat to the sea water that swept in and out of the bay in an unrelenting rage. My jeans soaked to the knees, my mother walking beside me, her arm wrapped in mine, fingers and knuckles clenched white. She was slowing, panic visible in her dark eyes. Fear made her tighten her grip on my arm and she paused in her passage. She spoke, her voice barely audible above the thrashing waves that seemed to crash then retreat, then surge once more in a defiant rage, hoping to sweep us away from the path and into its cold grasp. I muttered words,

“Come on mum, we can make it, just keep moving.”

Read the rest of this poignant and thought provoking post: https://lostheartsandsoulsblog.wordpress.com/2017/05/01/the-short-cut

On a lighter note… teacher Jennie Fitzkee shares a post that will resonate with all of us who are storytellers. Jennie talks about sharing her stories with her pre-schoolers and how they too love discovering their own storytelling voices.. Also Jennie reminds us that everyone that we meet has a story to tell and she met a Cambodian shop keeper recently who had a very heartfelt story that he shared with her.

I tell stories. It began many years ago during lunchtime in my classroom with my preschoolers. I told a story about my childhood, The Peanut Man, which has become a classic story that children beg for, along with at least fourteen other stories. Yes, my stories actually have names. Imagine that!

My storytelling grew. They were all true, and every time I told a story I began with, “It happened like this”. That phrase has now become a magnet. When children hear those words, they are glued to my story.

Storytelling was also the start of my writing. I began writing newsletters to the parents and families of my preschoolers. I realized that telling children about my childhood adventures was as important as telling parents about the meaningful things that happened in my classroom. Both mattered. Both made a difference. My writing grew tremendously because parents needed to know not only what was happening in the classroom, but why it was important. I became a storyteller of sorts, in writing, for parents and families.

Read the rest of the post and find out about Theany Tor’s storyhttps://jenniefitzkee.com/2017/04/28/beyond-telling-a-story/

This story caught my attention and I just had to share it with you. You need to go over to Coach Muller’s Good Time Story blog to read the whole post and you will find other stories that will make you stay I am sure.

I love to find and read all kinds of stories. I like tales that warm the heart, stir the soul, fire up the imagination, explore history, and discover lessons that I can apply throughout my lifetime. Well, today’s true story is one that is a fascinating account of…what some people refer as…the “Luck of the Irish.”

I hope that you enjoy it as much as I did!

In the Young Irish disorders, in Ireland in 1848, the following nine men were captured, tried and convicted of treason against their majesty, the Queeen, and were sentenced to death: John Mitchell, Morris Lyene, Pat Donahue, Thomas McGee, Charles Duffy, Thomas Meagher, Richard O’Gorman, Terrance McManus, and Michael Ireland.

You have to go over and read the astonishing end to this post.. you won’t regret it: https://goodtimestories.wordpress.com/2017/05/01/the-amazing-luck-of-the-irish/

Finally Sarah Brentyn asks when does a victim become the villain.. we have all met them haven’t we. Those who feel that their victimisation real or perceived entitles them to behave badly. What about when we are writing.. is it black and white or is there some grey mixed in there.. Why not share you opinion with Sarah.

As she says…

When does a victim become a villain?

What is it that turns someone we would love to protect into someone we love to hate?

Is it the first act of violence against another living thing? Does it have to be human? When does the child who has been brutalized at home become the bully? Is there a magical age when we stop feeling sorry for the child or is it simply a response to the child’s actions?

When I read a book or see a film, I want to know about the villain’s history. He did that?! What on earth happened to him?

That’s just me. Others might not care. Good guy vs bad guy. The end.

I want more. I want to know why the bad guy is so bad. Is he pure evil? Did he make a mistake? Is he mentally unstable? Is he out for revenge? 

 Head over and read the rest of the post and offer your opinion on the subject: https://sarahbrentyn.wordpress.com/2017/04/26/when-does-a-victim-become-a-villain/

That’s all folks for today… thanks for dropping by and hope you enjoy checking these posts out.  Sally

This entry was posted in blogging, It is a Wonderful Life. and tagged by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

10 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 2nd May 2017 – Lost Hearts and Souls, Jennie Fitzkee, Coach Muller and Sarah Brentyn

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Evolution, Rebellion and The Colour of Life | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

