Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 9th May 2017 – Sue Vincent, Kevin Morris, Texas Wine, J. A. Allen, Michelle Proulx

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

There is one event in our lives that is hard to avoid and that is death. But it has provided writers across the board with a wonderful subject to explore.  Poet Kevin Morris is the guest of Sue Vincent and discusses this exploration of death by sharing some poetry including his own on the topic.

It is frequently remarked that “the only things certain in life are death and taxes”. While this old adage contains much truth, one may, perhaps rephrase it to read thus, “the only thing certain in life is that poets will write about death”.

One of the finest poems concerning mortality is, in my opinion Ernest Dowson’s “Vitae Summa Brevis Spem Nos Vetat Incohare Longam”:

“They are not long, the weeping and the laughter,

Love and desire and hate:

I think they have no portion in us after

We pass the gate.

Read the poetry and the rest of the post: https://scvincent.com/2017/05/08/guest-author-kevin-morris-death-and-the-poet/

For those who are interested in Amazon Marketing Services author Michelle Proulx shares her recent experiences.. She would welcome your views if you have tried this promotion.

In my continued desperate attempts to get people to read my books, I decided to try out Amazon Marketing Services. For anyone who doesn’t know what that means, it’s basically a marketing service run by Amazon where you create an ad that will show up when people browse related products. You set a CPC bid (i.e. how much you pay when someone clicks the ad), along with a max budget. Then you sit back and hope the people who click your ad are willing to take the next step and purchase your book!

My marketing adventure …

I set up the ad for my first book, Imminent Danger And How to Fly Straight into It, back in January of 2017. The CPC bid I chose was $0.35 — as in, every time someone clicks the ad, I pay Amazon 35 cents. I tried a cheaper CPC bid (25 cents) but it wasn’t getting any views, so I had to up it a bit to make it worth Amazon’s time to actually show my ad.

Find out how Michelle did with the promotion: https://michelleproulx.com/2017/05/09/my-experience-with-amazon-marketing-services/

I don’t recall any vinyards in Texas when we lived there in the mid-80s but perhaps we were too focused on Tequila.. anyway apparently they do indeed produce excellent wine as shared by the Wine Wankers blog.. they make some great recommendations.

If you thought Texas couldn’t make decent wine – you need to read this

The USA is the full of surprises, and that’s not just reserved for politics, it’s also evident in its wines. If you’re an everyday wine lover living outside the US bubble, you’ll be forgiven for thinking American wine is like its fast food; mass produced and overloaded with too much flavour. You see, that’s basically what’s exported, the uninteresting wines that are produced in massive quantities – they are the only wines that can be sold at ‘normal’ prices once heavy export taxes are added. The good stuff treacles in – but trust me when I tell you it’s very rare and freakin expensive!

Find out more about Texas wine: https://winewankers.com/2017/05/10/if-you-thought-texas-couldnt-make-decent-wine-you-need-to-read-this/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Finally what is a very poignant and reflective posts by J.A. Allen beautifully written and will make us all remember that last time we said goodbye to someone we loved.

Where I Came From

Once when I was young we drove to the farm to show my grandpa our new camper. He jumped from the combine, waving when we turned onto the long driveway. As we came closer my sister, brother, and I noticed something was wrong. He wasn’t waving anymore. He was stooped over, groaning.

Dad’s truck skidded to a stop on the gravel, sending up a swirl of dust. He told us to wait in the camper and ran across the field. Pain sounded in Grandpa’s voice through the screened windows. The men staggered to the truck and Grandpa sat across the table, rocking, clutching a paper towel to soak up the blood. He’d cut a chunk from his hand when climbing down from the tractor.

It was the only time I recall seeing him hurt. And for some reason, it was all I could think of the moment I hung up the phone with my dad, taking the time to allow the word “tumor” solidify in my mind.

Read the rest of this tribute to a wonderful grandfather: https://jaallenauthor.com/2017/05/04/where-i-came-from/

Thanks for dropping by and I hope you enjoy today’s selection.. Sally.

10 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 9th May 2017 – Sue Vincent, Kevin Morris, Texas Wine, J. A. Allen, Michelle Proulx

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 9th May 2017 – Sue Vincent, Kevin Morris, Texas Wine, J. A. Allen, Michelle Proulx | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up… Music, Poetry, Book Promotions, Health and Humour | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

