What Food Expiry Dates Really Mean? [Infographic]

Ravenhawks Magazine with the frightening facts behind Food Expiry Dates. Whilst there is every reason with some foods to respect the best used by dates for health reasons.. such as for shellfish and chicken.. most foods thrown away because of that date are part of the marketing cycle not food cycle. Basics that you buy every week are the bread and butter for the food industry and they have no inherent interest in you keeping them in your fridge for too long! I buy most of my meat in the Must Sell by Today sections in the supermarket and then freeze. Also nothing irritates me more than dramas on television and in films when actors elaborately prepare a meal like breakfast.. they have two bites, a bit of dialogue and then everyone dashes off set leaving full plates on the table. Thanks for sharing Ravenhawks.. an important message.

ravenhawks' magazine

Every year, people throw away millions of tonnes of food they deem not safe to eat. They often check the expiration date, and if the date has passed, the food ends up in the bin. Is our lack of understanding of food labels contributing to food waste?

what-food-expiry-dates-really-mean

via What Food Expiry Dates Really Mean? [Infographic] — ecogreenlove

View original post

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

19 thoughts on “What Food Expiry Dates Really Mean? [Infographic]

  1. I’m with you Sal on buying meat (given the price of it these days) on sale almost expired and freezing! The old sniffer works well too and I have a bunch of shopping tricks of my sleeve like I can tell by feel if frozen vegetables are probably freezer burned too. Those I take a pass on, lol. 🙂 xo

    Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

