Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – Book Reading and Interview – John W. Howell

Sally's Cafe and BookstoreDelighted to welcome John W. Howell all the way from the coast of Texas for the book reading today. John is looking forward to your questions so please leave in the comments section for him to respond to over the weekend.

A little about John W. Howell.

John’s main interests are reading and writing. He turned to writing as a full-time occupation after an extensive career in business. John writes thriller fiction novels and has a number of short stories published in various on-line magazines. One of his short stories has been recognized by Writers Digest in the Popular Fiction Writing contest.

His novel, My GRL published by Martin Sisters Publishing and is the first of many exciting adventures of the book’s central character John J. Cannon. The second, His Revenge published by Keewaydin Lane Books is now available in Paperback and Kindle formats. He has recently published the third book in the series, Our Justice.

John has a wonderful blog where he entertains with short stories and also shares the changing face of his world along the coast of Texas.  He also the master of the Ten Things Not to Do.. including his latest wisdom… What not to do in your spouses new car……https://johnwhowell.com/2017/05/08/top-ten-things-not-to-do-in-your-spouses-new-car/

About the John J. Cannon books

My GRL

John J. Cannon, a successful San Francisco lawyer, takes a leave of absence from the firm and buys a boat he names My GRL. John is unaware his boat has been targeted by a terrorist group to be used to blow up the Annapolis Midshipmen on their summer cruise. John’s first inkling of trouble is when he wakes up in the hospital and learns he was found unconscious next to the body of the young woman who sold him the boat in the first place. John now is the only one standing between the terrorists and the success of their mission.

His Revenge

America loves John Cannon, its newest hero, and the President wants to present him with the highest civilian medal for bravery for saving the Annapolis midshipman from a terrorist plot to destroy them. While in Washington for the award ceremony, John unwillingly becomes an accomplice in another plan by the same group to attack the credibility of the US President and the stability of the worldwide oil market. There is no way out as John either becomes a traitor to America or causes thousands of innocent people to die if he refuses.
The second John J Cannon Thriller moves from a barrier Island off the coast of Texas to Washington DC, then to Northern California, and finally to Ecuador. John is on the receiving end of an offer he cannot, refuse. His avowed enemy Matt Jacobs now wants John to help him shake the reputation of the US in the world political arena. If John refuses, Matt plans to murder innocent Americans including John’s latest relationship. John’s only way out is to pretend to go along with the plan and hope for a miracle.

Our Justice

The terrorist leader and financier Matt Jacobs figured out a plan to eliminate the President. He is relying on John Cannon’s stature as a hero to help him carry it off. John finds himself walking the fine line of pretending to help Matt while trying to figure out a countermeasure to the plan.

The third book in the John J. Cannon Trilogy brings together two strong wills for a showdown. The question to be answered is who will feel the satisfaction that the achievement of justice delivers? John, Matt or neither?

What one of the readers had to say about Our Justice and the series on Goodreads

Mae Clair rated it 5 stars

The conclusion of this trilogy had me on pins and needles, especially the ending chapters when the cat-and-mouse game between everyday hero John Cannon and billionaire terrorist Matt Jacobs reaches climatic proportions. As always, Howell packs his pages with action, intrigue and characters you love to cheer for, or (boo-hiss!) despise. I didn’t think I could dislike Jacobs more than I did already, but Howell created a truly despicable villain which makes the game between him and Cannon all the more nerve-wracking. Toss in some scary science/new technology and the stakes are astronomical.

Once again, the author had me doing mental cartwheels trying to figure out how he was going to finagle Cannon free of impossible situations. Many secondary characters also get a chance to shine, and the rollercoaster ending brings satisfying closure to a thrilling series. Howell has an easy style of writing that places the reader in the center of each scene and keeps the pace surging forward. Action, intrigue, even a small smattering of romancewhat a combination! And I couldn’t have asked for a better tie up of events at the end.

  Read all the reviews and buy the books: https://www.amazon.com/John-W.-Howell/e/B00HMRWO6C

Read more reviews on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7751796.John_W_Howell

Now it is time to put John into the hot seat to answer some of my questions.. And he is looking forward to yours too so please put in the comments section of the post..

Welcome John and as a fan of your tales that you write, can you tell us what appeals to you about writing short stories?

Short stories allow me to relax my writing brain. My primary interest is writing full-length novels, but there are times when I need a break. A short story allows me to continue to write but in a different universe. There is no pressure to maintain a plot line or frustration with getting stuck on a point. I just sit down and write the thing from start to finish. I imagine it is somewhat like a bartender who spends his day off in a bar. I enjoy writing and like the bartender who wants to enjoy a night out don’t want to have any responsibility for what occurs on the job (so to speak)

If one of your books was selected to be made into a film; who would you like to play your main character and why?

If John Cannon were to find himself in a movie, I would hope he would be played by Bradly Cooper. I see Bradly as the embodiment of John given his calm demeanor and sense of self-assuredness. This calmness is exactly how I have written John Cannon’s personality. Bradly seems to carry those traits into each role he has played. I was particularly impressed with his performance in The American Sniper as he played the role of Kris Kyle.

What do you believe is the most important event to have affected our lives in the last 100 years?

I believe the advent of the internet has been the most important event. It started as a way for academics to communicate information to each other but quickly was adapted for general use. I don’t believe any other event be it a war or catastrophe has had such a world-wide effect on humanity. The internet allows for communication and sharing of information across country and continent boundaries. Information that was once available to the privileged few is now open for anyone to access.

Having read your three John Cannon books there is some fast paced action both at sea and in the air. Have you had any personal adventures that inspired them?

I wish I could say I have lived the life of John Cannon and was simply recording my own experiences. Sadly, the events in all my books have come from my imagination. I have sailed boats and piloted airplanes but did not experience the harrowing, experiences that John has had to endure.

You seem to have a great affinity with the part of the Texas coastline where you live. What are the three most key elements to living there that you feel you could not find anywhere else?

The first element would be that of the Gulf of Mexico itself. Each day brings a different view of the beach and the creatures that inhabit it. There is always something new and different in the way the water comes to shore or how the beach has changed overnight.

The second would be the people. I live on an island, and there is a certain pirate-like mentality of doing so. It is hard to explain, but the residents of our island have a certain camaraderie that is reminiscent of being on a boat. It is hard to explain, but I guess I could say there is a disregard for normal rules and a “just do it,” mentality.

The third element would be the tranquillity and peace that is found during the off-season months. The island relies on the tourist season for survival but does breathe a collective sigh of relief when all the visitors finally go home. It is then that one can fully appreciate what God has formed and appreciate the rejuvenating effect of sun and sea.

Can you tell us about your latest project and when we can expect to read it?

I have sent my latest to the editor, and it is titled Circumstances of Childhood. It is a story of two friends who have a life log dream of becoming football stars. Unfortunately, only one fulfills his dream, and the other is left as a bystander. The story then raises a question of friendship. When the one who is famous gets into trouble is the other able to come to his aid? The book will be released in September.

John has chosen an extract from the third book in the series Our Justice for his bookreading.

I open my back door, and pick up my watch from the table. A nice shower and a nap before Ned picks me up sounds in order. Then, seeing (or maybe just sensing) movement in the front of the house, I say, “Who’s there?” Right after I said it, I wish I hadn’t. For definite, someone is in my house, and they may have a gun. How many movies are there where the dope walking into a trap yells “who’s there?” and the audience groans at the stupidity?

I crouch down and look around for something to use as protection. The floor creaks, and whoever is in the house is moving toward the rear where I’m hidden. With a need to move quickly, I shoot to my feet and grab the back-door knob, throwing the door open, and then run outside. I’m not sure where I’m going, but it’s a damn sight better to be away from whoever is trespassing in my home.

After I run over the boardwalk, I turn onto the beach and move into a jog, hoping I’ll run into someone who will help me. About a hundred yards further on, I hear a snap like a twig on my right side toward the Gulf. Before I can look over, I hear the shot of a gun behind me. The snap was the bullet missing me by a fraction. Finally, the shot sound catches up to the speed of flight of the bullet. I turn, and a guy stands on the beach with his arms extended, holding a gun and aiming for another shot.

My thanks to John for joining me today and you can connect with him in all these places.

Connect with John.

Blog Fiction Favorites, http://www.johnhowell.com
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/john.howell.98229241
Twitter – https://www.twitter.com/HowellWave
Authors db – http://www.authorsdb.com/authors-directory/6604-john-w-howell
LinkedIn – http://www.linkedin.com/pub/john-w-howell/48/b59/462/
Google + https://plus.google.com/+JohnHowellAuthor/
Goodreads – http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7751796.John_W_Howell
Shelfari – http://www.shelfari.com/johnwhowell
Amazon Author’s page – https://www.amazon.com/author/johnwhowell
Martin Sisters Publishing – Http://www.martinsisterspublishing.com

John is looking forward to your questions and will be popping in over the next couple of days to respond to them. Thanks for stopping by.. Sally

 

96 thoughts on “Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – Book Reading and Interview – John W. Howell

  1. Pingback: Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – Book Reading and Interview – John W. Howell | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. A lovely book reading, review and author interview, Sally and John! This is such a great idea as it covers absolutely everything anyone could want to know about your books and leaves the door open for questions too. I am going to get My Grl for my husband for Fathers Day – I am glad to see this as it has reminded me to get that done right away considering the delivery lead time for South Africa is about a month. I wonder, John, could a teenager read your new book about the footballers? I though Greg might like it.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Loved the interview and can’t wait to read Circumstances of Childhood, John. I suspect it will be a 5-star read, just like your John Cannon series!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. It’s always great to get to know a bit more about John. Thanks for showcasing him on your blog, Sally. I agree the most important event in the last 100 years to impact our lives is the internet.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up… Music, Poetry, Book Promotions, Health and Humour | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  6. Thanks Sally, and John. Great interview and questions. I know that readers tend to ask if there is anything of the author in the protagonist, but I always enjoy a good baddie. Where do you get your inspiration for Matt Jacobs?

    Liked by 2 people

  7. You picked the perfect excerpt, John. If that doesn’t hook the readers, I don’t know what will!! I agree, writing short stories is a nice break from writing a novel. Would you consider publishing an anthology of your short stories?

    Liked by 2 people

  8. So nice to see John featured here today Sal. I love the premise of John’s new book, raising interesting questions in testing friendships. Wishing him much success and congrats! 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

