Let’s Walk a Marathon Update and methods to Burn Extra Fat.

I finished my second marathon last week in 9 hours 40 minutes which knocked 20 minutes off my first marathon. I was also fit enough to do a couple of hours of gardening a day which has helped with the inches.  I am now well into my third marathon in 40 days with a target of 9 hours 20 minutes.  If you have been measuring your distances I would love to hear how you are doing and if you have completed 26 miles then let’s celebrate.

At the beginning of this series I gave you some breathing exercises for morning and night which were designed to increase the amount of oxygen that you were taking in and also to get the most benefit from correct breathing techniques.

https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/2017/04/25/lets-walk-a-marathon-internal-fitness-programme-day-two-getting-enough-oxygen-to-walk/

The first method I am going to share with you that will help you burn more fat is to maximise the exhale of every breath.

If you have been walking every day and toning your muscles they now need more fuel in the form of oxygen to enable you to increase your speed and distance. This requires you to inhale as deeply as possible and fill you lungs when you walk and then to exhale as long as you can. This bellows effect with flood your system with oxygen and make your muscles more efficient. When they are working efficiently they use up more energy which equates to more calories burned. And more fat turned to muscle.

The second method is to bring short intervals of higher intensity of 2 minutes at a time into your walk however long that might be. Ideally 40/45 minutes.

I have to watch my knee which is standing up nicely to the training and is improved with better muscle strength to compensate for the ligament damage. But it does mean that I walk at a slightly lower speed between 2.5 miles per hour up to 4.5 miles an hour.

You can adapt this for your own use.

I spend five minutes at 2.5 miles an hour getting into my stride (not too long as that puts pressure on the joints) Also to get my breathing into a pattern of long inhale and exhale.

I then take it up to 3 miles an hour for ten minutes.

Then at 15 minutes total I do 2 minutes at 4.5 miles an hour then drop it back to 3 miles an hour for 10 minutes.

At the 27 minute time mark I do another 2 minutes at 4.5 miles and then drop to 3 miles an hour for another 10.

At 39 minutes I do another 2 minutes at 4.5 miles per hour and then drop back to 2.5 miles an hour to finish at 45 minutes.

You can do this in the street or park. It is obviously useful to have a watch that you can keep an eye on.

These interval training sessions where you alternate moderate speed with a two minute high intensity burst have been shown to burn more fat and get you fitter faster.

To summarise

  • 0-5 – low
  • 5-15 – moderate
  • 15-17 -high
  • 17-27- moderate
  • 27-29 – high
  • 29-39 – moderate
  • 39-41 – high
  • 41-45 – low.

I would love to hear if you have some news about your progress and if you have not got started on this programme yet you can find all the previous posts here.

https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/lets-walk-a-marathon/

Any questions about this programme or nutrition please drop me a line. sally.cronin@moyhill.com

 

28 thoughts on “Let’s Walk a Marathon Update and methods to Burn Extra Fat.

  1. Pingback: Let’s Walk a Marathon Update and methods to Burn Extra Fat. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. HIIT is definitely a great way to increase resistance and burn more calories, and of course it can be adapted to different levels of fitness and flexibility. I also like Tabata that combines 20 seconds of high intensity with 10 seconds rest in whatever type of exercise you’re doing. I’m at my mother’s at the moment and she has an exercise byke so I do pedal along every so often and carry on with my You Tube videos. Thanks for the advice and good luck with the next marathon!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I do a program on my treadmill that goes up and down from 2.0 to 3.5 and also increases the height like hills. I don’t know if I could do up to 4.5 with these short legs. I would be running like a banshee! Lol! 🤗😘❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Well done to you Sally, you are doing so well. I am still going with my steps but need to step it up a bit at weekends, although I don’t always remember to take my phone with me to recordthe steps! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow Sal, you’re rockin’ it! Due to the chaos I’ve been experiencing, the gym hasn’t seen me, but my resistance training has resumed at home for 20 mins a day, plus I’ve ordered a new piece of equipment for legs and hips and cardio combined (yes I forget the name, lol). But that baby should arrive next week, then I’ll keep you posted. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Stevie Wonder, Justice ‘East End’ Style, Skin and Bones | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

