The Keukenhof Gardens#1

Tulips from Amsterdam courtesy of Brigid Gallagher who just spent a glorious break there with her sister. Stunning photographs. #recommended

Watching the Daisies

IMG_6350

Tulips amidst a Sea of Muscari outside the Juliana Pavilion

The Keukenhof Gardens are described as “the most beautiful spring garden in the world.” I would have to agree after visiting them for the first time two weeks ago.

The gardens are located amongst the Dutch bulb fields, less than an hour away from Amsterdam. My sister and I took a train to Schiphol Airport, followed by a short bus journey. It is a good idea to buy a travel ticket that is valid for several days if you are visiting the region. A two day Amsterdam Region Travel Ticket cost just 26 euros and permitted transport on trains, metro, tram and bus lines within the region – great value for money.

The theme for 2017 was Dutch Design, and included gardens inspired by famous artists past and present, including Mondriaan and Rietveld. The gardens are HUGE, covering more than 32 hectares, filled with more…

View original post 438 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

7 thoughts on “The Keukenhof Gardens#1

  1. Beautiful photograph- like a stream running through a meadow. I have heard of these gardens & And I think Brigid might have posted some tulips earlier this year. Definitely a must go place when in Holland

    Liked by 2 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

