Lemon custard slices

I am enjoying Robbie Cheadle’s project to create the perfect birthday cake as it means we get treated to some recipes along the way.. This is one that I could dive into right away… but it is breakfast time.. oh well why not!

Robbie's inspiration

Some of your readers will know that I am making my husband a meringue tower for his birthday day next week. The meringue tower requires six meringues of various sizes from plate size to donut size. That is a lot of meringue and as they take between three and four hours in the oven on a setting of 130 degrees Celcius, I started making them this week. Meringues keep really well so it is not a problem to start making them early. Meringues use egg whites only which left me with ten left over egg yolks. I don’t like to waste food so I looked for a recipe that used egg yolks and I decided to make lemon custard slices.

Ingredients:

For the biscuit base:

625 ml cake flour;

1/2 teaspoon salt;

180 grams melted butter;

125 ml castor sugar;

15 ml lemon zest;

1 egg;

7.5 ml vanilla essence

For the filling:

7…

View original post 247 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

2 thoughts on “Lemon custard slices

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

