TIME – A Poetic Guest Post by Kevin Morris…

Kevin Morris is the guest of The Story Reading Ape today and shares some poetry on the subject of clocks and time, including a reading from his upcoming new collection My Old Clock I Wind and other Poems. #recommended

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

As far back as I can remember, clocks and the passing of time have held a fascination for me. The steady tick tock of a pendulum clock both soothes and hypnotises. As in a dream, I imagine Old Father Time, with his sickle chopping up seconds which, once gone will never return. Ultimately time catches up with us all.

As I put it in my poem “Time”

The sickle chops

And the heart will, one day stop”.

One of the first poems I recollect reading, is Sir Walter Raleigh’s “Even Such is Time”, which runs thus:

Even such is time, which takes in trust

Our youth, our joys, and all we have,

And pays us but with age and dust,

Who in the dark and silent grave

When we have wandered all our ways

Shuts up the story of our days,

And from which earth, and grave…

View original post 511 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

2 thoughts on “TIME – A Poetic Guest Post by Kevin Morris…

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

