Again

If you only read one blog post today then this should be the one. It is not a short post but it needed to be the length it is to do justice to the history it covers and the sentiment it carries. Andrew Joyce takes us from 1914 to the present day and highlights how the villification of those whose religion or culture is different from ours just results in the destruction of our entire civilisation. We are on the verge of labelling all those who follow a different god as evil…we need to be very concerned about where that might take us.

Andrew Joyce

I went off to war at the tender age of sixteen. My mother cried and begged me to stay, but my country needed me. I would not see my mother again for four very long years.

Due to my age, I was assigned to field headquarters as a dispatch courier for the first two years of the war. However, by the beginning of the third year, I had grown a foot taller and was shaving. And because men were dying at an alarming rate, I was sent into the trenches.

They say that war is hell. I say hell is peaceful compared to living in a muddy trench with bombs exploding around you at all hours of the day and night. Though there were periods of respite from the shelling. Those were the hours when the enemy had to let their big guns cool or else the heat of firing…

View original post 7,834 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

14 thoughts on “Again

  1. So glad you reblogged this, Sally. The message needs to go far and wide. Some of those with their heads in the sand might take notice when reading historical fiction, where they would not otherwise be inclined to do so ♥♥

    Liked by 2 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

