Hummer’s Mean Home: Part II (Flying)~

I don’t even know how you go about capturing humming birds in flight. But if anyone can it is Cindy Knoke back in the Holler and catching up with the inhabitants. Beautiful photos as always.


If you read Part I, you know about the greedy little capitalist. Above is one of his victims with a feather askew from a direct hit!

Here is another escaping his wrath.

The good news is, moving one of the greedy guy’s feeders into the bushes worked, and he is now under control.

Birds are feeding and flying freely once again at The Holler.


We now have three feeders up and about twenty birds actively feeding. This is less than prior years, probably because the persistent drought has ended, and The Holler and all the surrounding orchards are abloom with flowers, giving the hummers lots of dining options.

The orioles and Grosbeaks are here at the feeders too, also in smaller numbers for the same reason.

So once again, peace and harmony reigns at The Holler!


Cheers to you from The Holler’s Harmonious Hummers~

View original post

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

7 thoughts on “Hummer’s Mean Home: Part II (Flying)~

  1. It’s always a thrill to see Cindy’s gorgeous photos gracing someone’s blog. I did a lot of research on hummers when writing Plateau and thought you might enjoy some of what I learned…
    Vibrating primary feathers in their wings create the humming sound. A few of the more than 300 species also make a loud “chirp” with their tail feathers, called a sonation. Their wings beat anywhere from 10 – 80 times/second. Their metabolism is 100 times faster than an elephant’s, and they eat 1.5 – 3 times their body weight in food per day. They vocalize from their throats and are among the few birds able to learn vocalization. If you chirp to hummers when putting out feeders, they might chirp back! Here’s a video I love. The music is perfect. Hope it comes through 💜

    Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

