The Three Tenors

Jessica Norrie has been off on an adventure to Vienna and despite being full of Sacher Torte (see the size of the piece of cake at the end) she managed to put together a literary feast for us all. Whilst you and I might research the hotels, restaurants, historical sites and best Sacher Torte… Jessica embarked on a quest to find three books that were set in Vienna and she has laid their various pros and cons out for us. If you have never been to the city you will enjoy both the descriptions and the photographs and as readers, the book descriptions too. #recommended

jessicanorrie

So you thought the three tenors were Placido Domingo, Jose Carreras and and Luigi Vienna 3Pavarotti? Not so – they’re sausages, a frankfurter, some other darker variety and a veal sausage and they’re available in the Café of the Vienna Staatsoper. In this pretty room you may if such is your pleasure order “Three Tenors” or a “Rigoletto” (which is a sausage salad). My photo of this disconcerting dish is very small, for minimal offence to my vegetarian readers. (I chose the spinach strudel, with lettuce.)

51wntwjpdalSince in Vienna the three tenors can be anything, I’ve chosen a third variation: books: during a recent trip I read or reread three novels set in Vienna (with thanks as ever to the wonderful TripFiction site which you can consult for reading matter to match any destination you can think of). They give five stars to the first I chose, but I’m afraid I’d remove at least two of those. A Woman…

View original post 1,104 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

2 thoughts on “The Three Tenors

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

