The Colour of Life – Salad and Omelets in Kritsa 1975 by Geoff Cronin

Salad And Omelets In Kritsa 1975In 1975 my wife and I had our first continental holiday – two weeks in Crete, self-catering, cost £105. The resort was Aghios Nicholas, one of the island’s showpieces situated a short 30 miles from the airport in Heraklion.It was the month of May and the sea was still cold, so we spent a lot of our time sightseeing. The accommodation was basic – Spartan I suppose – and in a private house.When I enquired why there was no light switch in the bedroom, the landlord smiled indulgently and explained that all I had to do was to move the wardrobe out from the wall, and I would find the switch behind it! The bathroom was down the hall and was shared by all and sundry, but then, what could one expect for the price?So, the people were very friendly and the weather was warm, apart from the steady gale which blew for two hours every day! Of course that was siesta time, two to four, as we soon realized.

Source: The Colour of Life – Salad and Omelets in Kritsa 1975 by Geoff Cronin

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

One thought on “The Colour of Life – Salad and Omelets in Kritsa 1975 by Geoff Cronin

  1. Pingback: The Colour of Life – Salad and Omelets in Kritsa 1975 by Geoff Cronin — Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life – JohnsonExpress

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

