Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Tuesday 6th June 2017 – Darlene Foster, Vashti Quiroz-Vega with Olga Nunez Miret, Geoff Le Pard and Luanne Castle

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Welcome to todays quick look at some entertaining and informative blog posts. I would love you to share the link to your latest post so that I can share.. I would love to get around to everyone every day but sadly I do miss some.

Darlene Foster

Children’s author Darlene Foster has been to Malta and her posts have brought back some memories of my time there as a child. Today a trip to the Island of Gozo and the uninhabited Camino with some wonderful photography.. Anyone take a bet that Amanda will be heading there at some point with a swim in the Blue Lagoon.

Fort Chambray and the neo-gothic chapel of our Lady of Lourdes greeted us as we approached Gozo’s Mgarr harbour. We disembarked and piled into a packed minibus that took us on a rapid trip to Dwejra on the other side of the island. This is the site of the famous Azure Window often seen on postcards and calendars of Malta and featured in a number of movies and TV shows such as The Game of Thrones. Just two weeks earlier this important landmark fell into the sea. An example of how nothing lasts forever.

©imageDarleneFoster 2017

Read the rest of this travel piece: https://darlenefoster.wordpress.com/2017/06/04/the-islands-of-gozo-and-comino-and-a-window-that-is-no-more/

The next post is from Vashti Quiroz- Vega who has devoted one of her spotlight features to Olga Nunez Miret who is a huge supporter of bloggers and authors. Lovely to see her books and blog showcased.

I introduce to you today Hurricane Olga Nuñez Miret. Author, Psychiatrist, translator, blogger––these titles do not begin to describe the woman. It is difficult to keep tract of all of Olga’s accomplishments, believe me, there are a plethora of deeds. I am certain that you will take pleasure in getting to know Olga Nuñez Miret as much as I have because apart from being a talented author and fascinating woman, she’s also a lovely human being.

Olga is a great supporter of fellow authors, writers and bloggers. On her blog you’ll find many book reviews and author spotlights, so please be sure to check it out.

Read all about Olga and her books: https://vashtiqvega.wordpress.com/2017/06/05/spotlight-author-olga-nunez-miret/

The tragic events of the last two weeks have been devastating to hundreds of those who were caught up in the violence and their family and friends. There are certainly many fears and concerns for the future but one thing is certain and that is the British people are very resilient and brave. Geoff Le Pard writes a moving post on London Bridge which still stands as a symbol of our strength.

It’s nothing special, London Bridge. Not as iconic as Tower Bridge; not as twee as Albert or as sharply modern as the Millennium. Its popularity stems as much from the ability to take pictures of other parts of London. Functional, really.
How many times have I crossed it? Stood on it? Dad used to tell of the London smogs of the 1950s when he feared walking into the parapet and falling into the river.

How many ways have I crossed it? I’ve walked, I’ve run, I’ve cycled. I’ve driven and been driven. I’ve caught buses, shared cabs. I’ve been sober and drunk. I’ve tripped and fallen and I’ve smiled and cried.
©imageGeoffLe Pard 2017

Read the rest of this inspiring post: https://geofflepard.com/2017/06/05/london-bridge-is-not-falling-down-it-never-will-londonbridge-ilovelondon/

Now time to meet a remarkable woman who has written a memoir of her life that is both inspiring and empowering. After facing devastating loss and life-changing illness, Rebecca Faye Smith Galli has written Rethinking Possible. She is interviewed by Luanne Castle for the Writer Site.

Meet Rebecca Faye Smith Galli, the author of Rethinking Possible (She Writes Press, June 2017), a memoir that is Galli’s response to living in the wake of extraordinary losses.

Becky (I need to call her by the name I know her by) and I met a few years ago in writing workshops in the Stanford University online writing certificate program where we were cohorts in the creative nonfiction track. In class and in her column and blog, Becky inspires. Although I have read parts of Becky’s story, I am eager to read Rethinking Possible and to learn more about Becky’s unique life and her strength and determination.

Read the rest of this fascinating interview: https://writersite.org/2017/06/05/introducing-rebecca-faye-smith-galli-author-of-rethinking-possible-a-memoir-of-resilience/

Thank you for dropping by and please do leave a link to your most recent post in the comments section or you can email me on sally.cronin@moyhill.com

28 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Tuesday 6th June 2017 – Darlene Foster, Vashti Quiroz-Vega with Olga Nunez Miret, Geoff Le Pard and Luanne Castle

    • Thanks Mary.. I have left a comment on the post. It is very difficult and I have worked with male clients in the past that have a need to lose weight, lower BP or achieve a better cholesterol balance and after having a couple of wives arrive in high dudgeon about how their food had been good enough for 30 years and who was I to tell him he needed fancy food!!! I would make the wives come to the second consultation as well.. in fact it ended up with me doing weight loss for couples. xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I can imagine some of the reactions from the wives.
        What really upset me was that she ate a very health diet with lots of vegetables and didn’t eat the cheap fatty sausages she gave dad. Oddly, she didn’t eat fruit or give it to dad, apart from the occasional half banana. He was astonished when I took over his nutritional requirements to discover he could have a whole banana sliced on his cereal!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Tuesday 6th June 2017 – Darlene Foster, Vashti Quiroz-Vega with Olga Nunez Miret, Geoff Le Pard and Luanne Castle | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Sally, thank you so much for posting about my interview of Rebecca Faye Smith Galli’s new memoir about her life of catastrophic losses including paralysis and the loss of a child. You are a treasure!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read books by two of these authors, Geoff and Olga, and enjoyed them. Lovely post and group of books. I will be checking them out for future reads. Best wishes to all these fellow authors. Hugs xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks so much, Sally and of course, Vashti (what a wonderful post), Debby (she also ended up in my spam folder… you’re right, Sally..), Janice, and especially for allowing me to share such great company. You rock!

    Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

