Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore Book Reading and Interview – Lord David M. Prosser

Sally's Cafe and Bookstore

Today my guest is not only a wonderful author but a well loved blogger and friend to most of us in this community. Lord David Prosser was one of the first people to reach out a hand, and a hug to me, when I began blogging nearly four years ago, and his philosophy on spreading hugs around the world is very contagious. The reason that I end most of my comments on my blog and social media with an embrace, is a direct result of David’s example.

Don’t forget that this is your interview too and you are very welcome to put your questions to David in the comments.

David chronicles life in his much loved Wales weekly, and as an early bird you will often find he has visited your blog about 4.30 in the morning which is always a lovely surprise. Before we begin David’s interrogation interview…. let’s find out more about him officially.

About Lord David Prosser

David Prosser born 1951 worked for many years as a Local Government Officer before taking early retirement due to health problems.

Finding it difficult to talk to people as a result of the illness he found himself in the situation of being housebound most of the time.In an effort to prove to himself he still had a value he started The Buthidars which is an all denomination, all colour, all creed group determined to better the world by Hugging.There is a site dedicated to this that welcomes all people who feel the World is better by forgetting our differences whilst celebrating the individuality of all peoples.

The next step was to remind the world of Edwardian style and beg the designers to recreate it in exchange for clothing that displays too much of next weeks washing. Let’s dress with some dignity !

Often heard are the words, life begins at 40. David is trying to show that life can get a kick-start at 60 too. He chose this age to sit and write his first novel, My Barchester Diary, a fictional look at the life of the gentry.

Book 2,  which is also in diary form is a prequel telling of the days between gaining his title and now, when he performed the duties of an unofficial envoy to Her Majesty.There are times when confronted by women when it’s not sure if his stiff upper lip is enough to help him get by. !

The third book, More Barsetshire Diary is a continuation of the first book. Lord David was volunteered to help the Dreaded Edna achieve an ambition. I this book he starts the job of making her more popular when Lady J volunteers his services to help Diana The Dowager Duchess of Cheam raise enough money to save her childhood home. Maybe he can do it with the help of the Toastie Tenors and the mysterious Eileen Dover.

Lord Prosser has also penned books suitable for the younger members of his constituency.

Let’s take a look at David’s books, beginning with his first My Barsetshire Dairies

A fictitious look at Lord David’s day as a member of the Gentry living in a small village. Come and meet the villagers like Mellors the gardener with a past and Grizelda the housekeeper. Join us at the village fete where Edna is determined to win the jam making competition at any price. See how the formidable Lady J intends to knock Lord David into shape.

Is the famous stiff upper lip his only protection? Is anyone really this naive? The answer is a resounding YES !

One of the excellent reviews for the book

I love this quirky little book! Its gentle, understated humour had me chuckling and chortling like one of those horrible laughing toys we used to give our kids. As I do a lot of my reading on the loo I’m sure the neighbours must be totally mystified by the sounds coming from my house. But I care not! I’m still in Barsetshire and I’m still smiling.

Now, for some facts. ‘My Barsetshire Diary’ is written by Lord David Prosser [yes he is a real lord] and is set somewhere in England or Wales. All of the characters are based on real people living ordinary lives. Nothing terrible or scurrilous happens. There is no gossip. There are no shocking scandals. In fact all the events in the book are so ordinary that you would think the book must be boring, yet it is anything but boring because Lord Prosser finds the comic in the everyday and carries us along for the ride.

The style of this book reminds me of those stand-up comedians who make us laugh because they show us the funny side of our own lives. Of course Lord Prosser lives the life of those to the manor born but his humour shows us that ‘they’ are no different to ‘us’. We all have the same sorts of problems and we all have the same sorts of foibles. This is human scale humour at its best.

Read all the reviews and buy the book: https://www.amazon.com/My-Barsetshire-Diary-Diaries-Book-ebook/dp/B0054JI824

Also by Lord David Prosser

Read all the reviews and by the books: https://www.amazon.com/Lord-David-Prosser/e/B004I7CFT

Read other reviews and follow David Prosser on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4788217.David_Prosser

Now it is time to place Lord David Prosser under the spotlight.

Welcome David and perhaps you could tell us which author would you have to dinner, why and what questions would you ask them?

If I’m allowed to choose an author who’s dead I’d have to choose Terry Pratchett. I’d want to know how he was able to dream up the Disc World and Ankh Morpork. Are his characters based on people he knew and since this is a private conversation could he share how he knew them. I’d want to know what gave him the courage to give up his job and concentrate on writing full time..

If one of your books was selected to be made into a film; who would you like to play your main character and why?

Ioan Gruffudd would be the actor to play me since I’m the main character in the books even though it seems as a bit player sometimes. Why shouldn’t I take the opportunity to be good looking ? As he’s ageing I swear his hairline is receding like mine. He’d obviously be able to cope with a Welsh accent and have no problem pronouncing any Welsh place names properly.

Here you go David.. a dead ringer.. I could listen all day.

If you were offered three wishes to change the world, what would they be?

That anything going to be used as a weapon disintegrates in the hands of the user.

That the world becomes accepting of colour differences between us and maybe we intermarry until the results are all coffee coloured.

That poverty across the world is banished. I was going to use the last one to ask for three more so that I could ask for honest politicians in the world but I decided to go for the easy things first.

Your grandson Reuben is now a toddler and it is clear from your posts how dear he is to you. As a grandfather how has your view of the world changed and what are your hopes for his future?

Reuben will be four this year and frankly I’m scared for his future. I was a teenager in the 60’s with high hopes for the world to come and the people that would be politicians eventually who were my age then. It seems people who are going to be politicians are generally born that way so while I look for my next Cambric shirt they’re developing their forked tongues.

I’ve seen big companies declare their love for communities and the environment then cut down the equivalent of a new forest in the name of profit. They’ve lost their souls and bought the politcians. The new President of the US says he wants to renege on the Paris accords and start mining for coal again as well as allowing mining for gas and oil in some of the public parks. We should be looking at ways to lessen pollution if we want to give our children and their children a chance.

I can understand that some people don’t believe the global warming theories but not that they can’t see that conservation won’t hurt them so why no do it for their family’s sake rather than chance being wrong.

There has been a great deal of political turmoil in the last 12 months at home and abroad, which has not engendered good relations between the alleged super powers. As a keen observer of diplomacy and an advocate for harmony, what do you feel the outcome of Brexit will be as far as our relations with both Europe and the rest of the world?

Brexit is a poke in the eye to the French and the Germans but I’m sure once the posturing is over and a hefty fine has been paid they’ll get over it. It has to look like it’s really going to hurt us at this stage or others might get the same idea about leaving and putting the Euro in jeopardy.

From a personal point of view, I feel that we joined the Common Market which had nothing to do with writing laws for Britain to follow, dictating how many immigrants we would take or trying to persuade us to share a common currency. With the latter we’ve seen the difficult times Ireland, Spain, Greece and Portugal have had with the currency which has almost broken the Euro’s back. We were taken into this new Europe without our agreement.

Once we’re out of Europe I think there will be the trade in cars to the UK so necessary to Germany and some reciprocal agreements but the UK will be able to seek trading partners in the rest of the world. Some countries have already shown an interest. There will be the usual co-operation with Interpol and NATO so we will have a commitment of troops. NATO itself may be different if the US pull out as Trump has suggested.

You began writing at age 60 and more and more of us in retirement are putting pen to paper. If you were starting the process again is there anything you would do differently?

The how and why of the writing couldn’t be changed. If there’s anyone out there who doesn’t know, a friend asked about my day and I replied in the manner of a diary entry. My wife loved it so I started doing more to entertain her. In the meantime, my friend said they we’re good enough to publish so others could laugh. It took a while to persuade me and the thought of putting a physical book in my wife’s hands finally did.

The one thing I’d change if I was starting again would be to have all the covers created by a professional instead of just the first. Actually, maybe I’d write a bit quicker too so I could finish the trilogy while my Julia was alive.

Thanks so much for reading everyone. I wish you Hugs in your days.

Now it is time for David’s reading.

The last book I did was a set of animal based poems for my grandson. I’m trying to create one for my granddaughter next.

Barney the Bulldog growled and said,
“All of the stories you’ve heard
are true I’m afraid- I’m awfully fast
and can move at only a word.”

“When my owner shouts ‘sic’em’ I’m off like a
flash;
there are times I don’t even wait.
Like the postman in uniform that comes every day
has to run and jump over the gate.”

“But the truth of the matter you never must tell-
I’m really as sweet as can be.
If you tickle my tummy, I roll over and die.
For a dog I’m a little pussy.

Bernie the Bat was as blind as they come
and followed his friends to dinner.
He feasted on berries and flies as he flew,
and counted himself as a winner.

His pals finished eating and flew back to the cave,
but Bernie forgot he should follow.
Now utterly lost, he sent out his squeaks
that showed he was stuck in a hollow.

He flew a bit higher and uttered a squeak
that showed him a gap in the grasses.
He followed the line, which led him right home,
to all the bat lads and bat lasses.

He hung upside down and settled to sleep,
and dreamed of the day and the cost,
and of banqueting tables set by the door
to eat at without getting lost.

Connect to David via his blogs and social media.

Blogs –     http://barsetshirediaries.wordpress.com/
The Buthidarshttp://lorddavidprosser1.wordpress.com/
Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Lord-David-Prosser/181206641934100
Twitter: https://twitter.com/davidmfprosser

My thanks to David for an entertaining and informative interview and now it is your turn to put him on the spot. Please leave your questions in the comments.

64 thoughts on “Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore Book Reading and Interview – Lord David M. Prosser

  1. Thanks for this interview Sally. I’m only recently new to the community, but even I already know that David is the sweetest most lovely soul! Probably one of the top ten souls in the world. Generous, gentle and so supportive. I’m so thankful people like David exist in this world to bring a little light and warmth. Hugs back to you both 🤗

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great interview, both of you.

    Loved the three wishes! [lol “easy ones first”] I would have to strongly consider “ending illness and suffering with the assistance of ALL of the doctors (who each keep up-to-date on the advance of medical science)” — and something about forward-thinking politicians who allocate sufficient funding to health concerns. But those are probably among the hard ones too.

    My questions are about your pets, especially those clever little rats:
    ~~~~~~
    1- In a cat household, it strikes me as an unusual choice. What inspired it?
    2- Do you ever worry about how Oscar will respond to their presence (especially now that the devoured his birthday treats)?
    3- As pets, how do they compare to hamsters or gerbils?
    4-Have you ever welcomed a dog into your household – or considered it? Why or why not – and/or why not now?
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD/EFD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hello Madelyn, thank you. Your first wish appealed to me too but that still left people fighting wars and losing lives that way. I figured no wars equals more doctors free to treat illnesses and to work on eradicating them….especially cancer.
      1. My fault in a way. Oscar was Ju’s baby and he let me know it. At the petshop were some baby rats needing rehoming, I made sure Ju saw them as she was nutty about animals. They came home with us a week later after I’d bought a cage.We were prepared to keep Oscar out of that room but after he had a really good look at them feet up on the cage and spoke to them he was fine. Almost a hiccup when he tried for one when we had them out for breakfast but Penny bopped him one so no trouble.
      2.Sorry I jumped the gun. Answer in previous answer.
      3.I don’t know a lot about hamsters and gerbils but rats are very intelligent and can be very affectionate.
      4. It wouldn’t have been fair to have a dog as we were both working full time when we started on pets. Where I live now I can’t have a dog so that’s ruled out. Plus, I’d worry about the budgie beating a dog up.
      xxx Gargantuan Hugs xxx

      Liked by 2 people

      • Great answers – thanks. After my last Shih Tzu died (at 19!), I had to live without a pet until I left my last digs, since the landlady only allowed cats and I am too highly allergic to live with one.

        She made a single exception to get me to sign the lease because Tabi was smaller than most cats and I was clear that I would never abandon a 16 year old, dearly loved, pup – but I don’t think either one of us expected she’d hang around for another 3 years. (Only one of us was thrilled about that – lol.)

        A good friend engages in continued “rat-love” (as she refers to it), despite her grief when they pass after such short lives. She built them a rat-condo out of an old bedside cabinet, and has to go looking for missing items regularly – usually finding them hidden in the condo. The term “pack rat” is certainly apt!

        She watched as one of the rats tried to make off with her boyfriend’s wallet – too heavy to transport, but that didn’t stop the attempt. She would have video’d but was afraid to run for her phone lest she disturb the fun.

        Hugs back – and a big WOOF! from TinkerToy. btw- that must be one fierce budgie. 🙂
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 2 people

    • Wow, that’s a biggie to drop on me John. I think one of the biggest threats is the third world. Because we haven’t done enough to combat the starvation and endemic illnesses from things like drinking dirty water there’s a chance they may revolt. Plus I worry that enough won’t be done about alternative energy so we keep relying on oil. Somewhere it will run out and somewhere else will be able to raise prices considerably.That probably means another war in someone else’s country losing more civilians and creating even more terrorists.
      Hugs

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh my gosh, what a fantastic interview Sal and David. What a treat getting to learn more about your background David. You are a gentle soul and a gentle man. I’m very much with you on your 3 wishes and if I had a 4th one it would be to get the orange tyrant out of office immediately. Wishing you peace and love. And ginormous hugs for you (((((((((((((((((xxxxx)))))))))))))))) ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Outstanding interview, Sally and David. When the EU was formed, I remember thinking it was the beginning of The New World Order Bush, Sr. unabashedly referenced in public. What is your vision of a perfect world, David? Big hugs to both of you 💕💕

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hello my friend lovely Tina. A hard question, Hmmmm a perfect world would have me in charge as a benevolent dictator. There would be no wars and if anyone tried they’d be sent to bed sans supper. I would buy any food surplus to give to the starving countries but I’d also try to cultivate places for them to grow their own. There would be no corruption, so any money coming in to the governments would pay for training doctors and nurses and buying medicines.
      Tolerance and love would be taught in all schools, but not religion unless it’s comparative. Religion should be something people have a choice of at age 18 so they’re not indoctrinated and can decide which , if any. they want to follow. My Buthidars would be the obvious choice.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs Tina xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Your world sounds lovely, David. Egalitarian with a hefty dose of humor tossed in. Can’t get any better than that. Count me in 🙂 Gigantic hugs back to you, my friend 💕💕💕
        P.S. May I serve as Critter Comptroller? 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  5. What a sweet man you are, David! Love this interview! Your children’s rhyme is so cute! Which book out of your collection is your favorite and why? What is your next project?
    I wish you well and many more enjoyable years of writing. We need your gentle and kind ways in this world. God bless you! Gargantuan Hugs xx

    Liked by 2 people

    • You’re very kind to me Janice, thank you.The book of poems was written specifically with Reuben in mind but I was persuaded to share t.
      My favourite book is The Queen’ Envoy. It allowed me to broaden my horizons abroad and let me pretend to be a James Bond type for a while.
      The next project is more difficult as I seemed to hit a block when my wife died. I’m trying to do something for my granddaughter but it’s very slow and painful work. Maybe one day I’ll feel the urge to play James Bond again.
      Thank you so much for your very kind and undeserved words.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

      Liked by 2 people

      • Oh, David, I am so sorry. I didn’t realize you lost your wife. My deepest condolences to you. I look forward to looking at your books. Blessings and hugs! Xo

        Liked by 1 person

  6. This is a wonderful interview, Sally and David. It is so nice to learn more about you, David. I have to agree with your wishes. Our world is in a sad place right now, both politically and socioeconomically. I loved your poem and hopped right over to Amazon to get it to share with my granddaughters. I will be checking out your other books as well.
    My deepest sympathy in your loss.
    Love and hugs. ❤ ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ha, you know enough to steer clear of me now Michelle. Thanks for sharing my wishes. Maybe enough of us can pull he world back from the brink of this sad place it’s in.
      Thanks also for saying such a nice thing about my poems, I hope your grandies won’t be disappointed. I promise the other books are for a slightly older age group…….I think.
      Thanks so much. I’ve had 4 years to adjust and some days I think I will.
      xxx Stupendous Hugs xxx

      Liked by 2 people

      • Oh, David, I don’t know what it is like to lose a spouse, but it’s been nearly 13 years since we lost our middle son. There are some things we never get over, we just learn to live with the loss. Love and hugs, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Wonderful interview, David and Sally! I got to learn about all of David’s books, why he started writing (it came from an emailed diary-style entry!), and his thoughts on current events like Brexit. So much here and I loved it all ❤ May Lord David continue to prosper. In addition to his witty writing style, he is such a kind person. Hugs to you both 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  8. David is a wit and a wise gentle man who hugs away frowns and worries. He also supported me when I first jumped into the blogging world, and I’ve happily read his blogs every week. Music, cats, grand babies and hugs in every one.
    I so enjoyed reading this sweet full post about our dear Lord David! xoxohugsgalorexoxo

    Liked by 2 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

