Smorgasbord Poetry – Holidays by Sally Cronin

Holidays By Sally Cronin

Time between holidays was very slow
Anticipation growing by the day
Kept asking the question ‘When do we go?’
On and on from the beginning of May.

Food filled memories remain on my lips
Of scones on a plate, warm, laden with jam
And plates of piping hot and crispy chips
Served with thick slices of crumb crusted ham.

Other summer treats are fresh in my mind
Crisp battered fish, served with peppery peas.
Soft whirling ice-creams of every kind
That made you forget the cold icy seas.

The days at the beach with sand in your pants
And in the hard boiled egg sandwiches too.
Left over crumbs that attracted the ants
And painful wasp stings that turned the air blue.

Far too quickly the summer was over
And the long wait for the next festive break
Weeks before Christmas went even slower
Looking forward to that marzipanned cake.

Now I am older the time goes so fast
I don’t have to wait so long for the fun
I know how to make the holidays last
Despite the fact there is too little sun.

I fill up my trolley with scones and jam
And a pot of the finest clotted cream.
Cornish icecream, battered cod and crumbed ham
I am now finally living the dream.

©sallycronin 2017

If you would like to share your poetry here then please contact me directly on sally.cronin@moyhill.com  Next week a poem from Mary Smith.

This entry was posted in Poetry and Haiku and tagged , , by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

38 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Poetry – Holidays by Sally Cronin

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Poetry – Holidays by Sally Cronin – Defining Ways

  2. Brilliant capture of all those memories peppered with a ting of sadess for the speed at which the years are now flying past. It’s a lovely poem Sally

    Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

