Irene Lawford – My Mother, my Inspiration

I had the pleasure of meeting Julie Lawford on Saturday at the Bloggers Bash and on Friday I will be featuring her book in the New on the Shelves post. However, I wanted to share this moving tribute to her mother Irene who sadly died a few weeks ago.. Her mother was an author as well and Julie shares her story that began pre-war in Germany as her parents prepared to leave for England and safety from the Jewish persecution. 17 members of her immediate family were not to survive the concentration camps. I recommend that you head over and read the post and appreciate that despite the environment that we are currently living in we are a great deal more fortunate. #Recommended

Julie Lawford

Yes, it happened. My mother died earlier this month following a short but intense period of illness.  In late February a series of minor falls had resulted in a trip to A&E and a scan, which revealed a large and rapidly growing brain tumour.  Called a glioblastoma multiforme, this is a Grade IV malignant tumour. No treatment plan was offered, as it was deemed inappropriate for a woman in her 80’s, and in any case, the tumour was too far advanced and in too inaccessible a part of her brain. She was given steroids to bring down the swelling which had brought about the falls, and once she had temporarily recovered some of the lost capacity that had given rise to those early falls, and had a little speech and mobility therapy, she was sent home. To die.

We, my brother and I, knew this from that first day…

View original post 2,529 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

7 thoughts on “Irene Lawford – My Mother, my Inspiration

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

