Order, order! Ideas for a cross party parliamentary book group

It was wonderful to meet Jessica Norrie in person on Saturday at the #BloggersBash and of course because I was travelling I missed Jessica’s normal Friday post. I have caught up now on my blog and I have been visiting my regular haunts. This is brilliant and I would love it if anyone who has MP contacts to forward the link to them and suggest that they read. So many decisions are made by our politicians without thought of the long term effects or the impact on people’s lives in the here and now. The basic human needs of millions are not being met. Those books that were set in Victorian times or the depression are still relevant today .. and they should not be. We may well make enormous advances in technology, including in medical care, but are the people really getting the care and support they need to be taken out of the poverty trap. Or protected from the warmongering that brings us loss and harm. Head over and read Jessica’s post and share this terrific concept.

jessicanorrie

I’ve put together these titles and questions for my imaginary cross-party MPs’ book group, meeting at the House of Commons once a month. Since participation will help all MPs do their job in an empathetic, efficient, positive way, I’ll let them claim the books on expenses (also there are so few local libraries left they’d be lucky to get them there). I’ve allowed 48 books, one per month for four years, sorted into themes, plus a year to digest. So there can’t be another election until they’ve read them all, ok?

On poverty and deprivation, and the effect they have on the lives of potentially healthy human beings:

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens (1838)

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell (1854)

Germinal by Emil Zola (1885)

The Ragged Trousered Philanthropists by Robert Tressell (1914)

Love on the Dole by Walter Greenwood (1933)

The Road to Wigan Pier (1937) by George Orwell

View original post 1,004 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

2 thoughts on “Order, order! Ideas for a cross party parliamentary book group

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

