Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – Book Reading and Interview with Angie Dokos

Sally's Cafe and Bookstore

Welcome to the first book reading this week and my guest is YA author Angie Dokos who has recently published her second book Roadside. Angie is a terrific supporter on social media and we bump into each other daily on Twitter.

Just a reminder that this is an interactive interview and it is great when you participate with your own questions.. Please leave them in the comments section and Angie will answer them over the next couple of days.

Before we get into the interview let’s take a look at Angie’s official biography.

About Angie Dokos.

I was born a reader and grew to be a writer. Okay, so the reading took a few years, but in the meantime, I was having someone else read to me. I enjoy hiking and love to travel. I currently live in Woodstock, GA with my husband and children. I love to read and write to escape reality and to live more than one life. You can find me on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, WordPress, and other sites if you are interested. If you are entertained by my work, chances are your friends will be too, so spread the word, please. Thank you. Remember, live life one chapter at a time!

Books by Angie Dokos

One of the many postive reviews for Mackenzie’s Distraction.

on February 10, 2017

A tragic family accident suddenly turns Mackenzie’s world upside down. But then a long-held family secret is exposed, ripping open old wounds with heart wrenching results. Fighting her own demons from an uncertain past, Mackenzie, with the help of her family, desperately fights to turn a negative past into a positive future. But that emotional roller coaster has its own challenges, ending up with her pushing away and hurting some people that love her and want to help her, especially Trevor, an unexpected love interest she wasn’t prepared to deal with. Emotions run deep as a family struggling to deal, not only with a tragic accident, but must handle a highly charged secret that threatens the very fabric of their family.

Will old wounds heal? Can Mackenzie let her past dictate her future, or can she come to terms with the past and accept it? This story conveys a positive message regarding the importance of family, accepting the past, healing, turning your life around, and looking forward to a future Mackenzie dared not to hope for: a promising future with those she loves.

Read all the reviews an buy Mackenzie’s Distraction: https://www.amazon.com/Mackenzies-Distraction-Angie-Dokos/dp/1523378328

The latest review for Roadside published in May 2017.

on June 8, 2017

After Zayne and his father happen upon an injured young woman left for dead on a deserted roadside, her recovery and protection become central to Zayne’s life. The story revolves around the victim, Serena, and her relationship with Zayne and other young adults as her body and spirit gradually heal. The search for Serena’s attacker is suspenseful. The ebbing and flowing relationships between the young people surrounding Zayne and Serena provide various insights into the human condition in general and Serena’s damaged psyche in particular.

Author Angie Dokos has called Roadside a “New Adult Romance,” but it might also be considered YA Contemporary Romance or YA Mystery. The main characters are students or college-age adults, and their story is told in an ingenuous style reflective of a young person’s natural lack of sophistication.

Roadside is a sweet story that will appeal especially to high school and college age readers but is suitable for readers of any age.

This is a G-rated story, free of steamy sex, foul language, or gory violence. Characters show kindness, acceptance, and forgiveness, and, though no one is perfect, the protagonists attend church. The novel is secular enough to appeal to a wide audience, but it treats people of faith respectfully.

Read the reviews and buy Roadside: https://www.amazon.com/ROADSIDE-Angie-Dokos/dp/1542570581

Read more reviews and follow Angie on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14905574.Angie_Dokos

Now it is time to meet Angie in person.. and please do ask your own questions and place them in the comments section. Thank you

Welcome Angie and perhaps we could start with a question about our modern lifestyle. Is there any invention that is a major part of our lives that you wish had not been invented?

Tanning beds. They have caused so many problems, but people want to be tan and beautiful so badly that they’ll take the risk. I regret ever getting into one. Let me just clarify that I do not judge the people that do use them. I have plenty of friends that use them. I’m just stating my opinion, not trying to start any arguments over the issue.

Where would you like to be in 5 year’s time?

This one is going to sound crazy to some, but I would like to be free and clear of all credit card debt. I hope to make that a reality in three years, but I’d settle for five.

What would you tell your 16-year-old self that might benefit them?

I would tell my 16-year-old self to not be in a rush to grow up. Adulting isn’t near as much fun as we think it is when we’re young. Enjoy the teen years, focus on a career and getting your priorities straight, and prepare for your future. Don’t rush to get married and have babies. I did everything backward. I had a baby, got an education, got married, and then started my career. I’m not saying I’d change anything now, but my advice to a younger me definitely wouldn’t be to start your life in reverse order from how it should be. But if things do get turned around and don’t go as planned, it’s still okay. Make the best of it and do the best you can.

In your bio you mention that you love to travel. Which is the one place you have visited that you feel you could happily spend the rest of your life in and why?

Hmm, that’s a good question. I’m not sure I would want to spend the rest of my life in any one specific place that I have visited. I absolutely loved St. Lucia, Niagara Falls, and Yosemite National Park, but I’m not sure I would want to live in any of those places. I love visiting different places in Utah and Florida, but I can think of reasons I wouldn’t want to live in those places too. I think I need to travel more before I could answer that question.

What was the inspiration behind Mackenzie’s Distraction and how long did it take you to write?

My daughter was the main inspiration behind Mackenzie’s Distraction. My sister’s past played a part in some ideas for the story also. It took two years to write it. I have a full-time day job and a family to take care of, so I don’t get to write as much as I’d like.

As a mother and a writer do you feel that children in schools are given enough encouragement to develop their creative writing? Do you have any suggestions for developing this to ensure the next generation of writers?

I don’t feel they are encouraged to be themselves enough. They are expected to all learn the same way and test the same way. We are all different and I think every child needs to know that it’s okay to be different, to think differently, to perform differently. You and I can read the same book and get totally different messages from it. If we were given a test about it, chances are one of us would fail the test because our answers aren’t what the teachers expect, or aren’t what the authorities consider to be correct answers. I think students need to abide by the grammar rules, but when it comes to creative writing, or comprehending what we read, there really aren’t right or wrong answers. For suggestions on how to fix the problem, I really don’t know. For suggestions or advice for the next generation of writers, don’t quit; keep writing, even if it’s considered horrible.

Angie has chosen an excerpt from her recently published novel Roadside for her book reading.

Saturday night Zayne, Dawson, his girlfriend, Sydney, and their friend, Missy went to the theater. After the movie, they were walking across the parking lot toward Dawson’s car when Zayne heard someone call his name.” He turned to see Destiny and Serena headed their way. Destiny yelled, “I told her it was you.”

Serena said, “Well, forgive me for not recognizing him from the rear.”

They laughed. As they approached, Zayne said, “Wow! You are healing fast.” Her dark brown hair was straight and flawless.

Destiny smirked and peered over Zayne’s shoulder. “Thought you said you didn’t have a girlfriend.”

Zayne turned to his friends and introduced them as he pointed, “Dawson, Sydney, Missy meet Destiny and Serena.”

Serena said, “Nice to meet you all and please ignore my friend Destiny, she means no harm, her hormones take over her mouth when she’s near testosterone.”

Everyone laughed.

Missy spoke up, “For the record, he didn’t lie. He doesn’t have a girlfriend. I’m a friend to all of them.” She motioned to the other three.

Destiny swiped her hand across her forehead as if she’s wiping sweat away and sighed, “Whew.” They laughed again. Destiny was about the same height as Serena, but curvier. Her hair was the same dark brown, but shorter.

Missy said, “Looks like Zayne has a fan.”

Destiny rolled her eyes.

Serena laughed. “I’m a fan of his shirt. I love that.”

Zayne smiled. “Thanks, my sister bought this for me.” His shirt was blue with white letters that read, “I’m a law student, what’s your superpower?”

Dawson stated. “Serena, I don’t know the entire story, but from what I understand you’ve been through hell. It’s good to see you out having fun. Most people I know would stay at home either scared, or feeling sorry for themselves.”

Sydney cut in. “I can’t imagine what you’re going through, but I assume you’re trying to enjoy life, and prefer not to talk about what happened.”

Dawson said, “She’s probably right. I’m sorry.”

Serena nodded. “It’s fine. I’m thankful to be alive and refuse to let him affect the rest of my life.”

Sydney said, “That is the best revenge.”

You can connect to Angie on her blog and social media.

Blog: https://angiedokos.wordpress.com/
Website: http://www.angiedokos.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/AngieDokos
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/angiedokosauthor
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14905574.Angie_Dokos

My thanks to Angie for joining us today and she is looking forward to your questions so please put them in the comments section of the post.

If you are an author in the Cafe and Bookstore and would like to be interviewed then contact me on sally.cronin@moyhill.com as I am getting ready for the next phase of interviews.. Thanks Sally

17 thoughts on “Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – Book Reading and Interview with Angie Dokos

  1. So lovely to see Angie featured here, Sally. I understand what Angie is saying about an “all size fits all” approach with schooling. I have two children on opposite sides of the spectrum. One is a very advanced reader and thinks a bit differently from his peer group and teachers so sometimes gets marked down. The other has a learning barrier and, while very creative and smart, needs extra time and attention. How would you suggest that schools cater for the different needs of children in the area of creative writing? In other words, what do you think could practically be done differently to make it better for round children in a square peg hole in this area of learning?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hi Sally,
    would you be interested to post my new reviews for each book? they are from the same person, but they are great. The couldn’t stop reading, she read them all 5 in one go, over 2 days. Amazing. And she loves Matica
    Let me know. thank you ❤

    Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

