Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – New on the Shelves – Singled Out by Julie Lawford

Please welcome a new author to the shelves of the Cafe and Bookstore. Julie Lawford is author of Singled Out set on an idyllic slice of Turkish coastline, but all is not as it seems.

About the book

There’s something delicious about not being known, don’t you think?’

Brenda Bouverie has come on a singles holiday to Turkey to escape. Intent on indulgence, she’s looking for sun, sea and … distraction from a past she would give anything to change.

But on this singles holiday no one is quite who they seem. First impressions are unreliable and when the sun goes down, danger lies in wait. As someone targets the unwary group of strangers, one guest is alone in sensing the threat.

But who would get involved, when getting involved only ever leads to trouble?

Singled Out subverts the sunshine holiday romance, taking readers to a darker place where horrific exploits come to light, past mistakes must be accounted for and there are few happily-ever-afters.

A simmering psychological suspense laced with moral ambiguities, for fans of Louise Doughty, Sabine Durrant, Gillian Flynn, Elizabeth Haynes, S.J. Watson and Lucie Whitehouse.

Two of the reviews for the book

Singled Out explores the relationships that develop between a group of people on a singles’ vacation in Turkey. Brenda, a fantastic character and my new favorite heroine (such a cool lady!), forays out on her own for the trip while dealing with a personal issue she must come to terms with. But her life soon becomes intertwined with the others at the vacation resort, and she finds herself caught up in something she’d rather not be. What follows is a great combination of who-dunit and psychological suspense.

The writing in this debut novel is impressive with descriptions so rich, you’ll feel like you’re touring, sunbathing, and feasting on delicious meals in Turkey yourself. Mystery cloaks every page, and answers are doled out in a page-turning manner. But a caution to sensitive readers–the subject matter deals with sexual assault (that’s not a spoiler as the opening scene depicts this) and misogyny, sometimes in quite graphic detail. Normally I would shy away from material like that, but I felt comfortable in the author’s hands given the strong female lead who carries the novel, and the important message that’s unveiled.

An impressive debut novel for fans of psychological suspense. I look forward to more of this author’s work.

Don’t let the fact that this is Julie Lawford’s debut fiction novel fool you… this lady truly knows how to write! Not only does she demonstrate a brilliant grasp of the English language but the entire book is beautifully written with fantastic descriptive passages that will transport you to the sights, sounds, tastes and fragrances of Turkey, where this story takes place.

I had other stuff to take care of today, but did it get done? Not a chance. I was locked away with ‘Singled Out’ until I finally finished it, wishing there was already a sequel. The way she writes her characters throughout the book is nothing short of masterful and I have a new favourite heroine in Brenda Bouverie; the twists in her personal tale made my jaw drop. I seriously can hardly wait for Lawford’s next book.

Read the reviews and buy the book: https://www.amazon.com/Singled-Out-Julie-Lawford/dp/1505207517

Read more reviews and follow Julie Lawford on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13411991.Julie_Lawford

About Julie Lawford

Always engaged with the written word, Julie Lawford came to fiction late in the day. Following a career in technology marketing she has been freelance since 2002 and has written copy for just about every kind of business collateral you can imagine. By 2010, she was on the hunt for a new writing challenge and Singled Out – her debut psychological suspense novel – is the result.

Julie is based in London in the UK. Whilst penning her second novel, she still writes – and blogs – for marketing clients.

Connect to Julie Lawford at her website and on social media.

Website: https://julielawford.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/JulieLawford
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/julie.lawford.1
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/julielawford/

Thank you for dropping in and please feel free to comment and share thanks Sally

Advertisements

33 thoughts on “Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – New on the Shelves – Singled Out by Julie Lawford

  1. A quick word of thanks, Sally. I’m so proud to be featured on your Bookstore shelves. Singled Out is a gritty psychological story, but being set on a singles holiday in Turkey, it makes a great summer holiday read. Thanks indeed for the feature.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wrote it originally as a little bit of a ‘homage’ to Turkey, which was my all-time favourite place for sunshine/beach holidays. I was, I confess, firmly in “write what you know” territory with the geographic setting, and the singles holiday format. The story though is wholly of my imagination!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – New on the Shelves – Singled Out by Julie Lawford | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s